We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little pool area, room was mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Orlando
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice little pool area, room was mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

My family made reservations to stop here on our way back to Florida. We arrived early, around 3:30 p.m. Check-in was 4, but we thought that since there were only three cars in the lot, we would be able to check-in early. The front desk clerk made us wait 30 min., claiming there were no clean rooms. I thought that was weird considering it was almost 4. Already I was a bit annoyed.

We checked into our room. It was a large room with plenty of space. The carpet hadn't been vacuumed in quite some time. There was dust on the side tables and desk. There were stains on the carpet and walls. The chair that accompanied the desk was all ripped up.

We did use the indoor pool, which was nice and clean. The breakfast area is also nice and big and had a great selection of items. The only thing that I didn't enjoy is that the bananas on the bar were all rotten and open; they should have been thrown out.

Overall, we had a decent stay. The hotel was quiet, which provided us with a good night stay. The hotel itself though is in need of some cleaning. Even just vacuuming the hallways and the room would make a big difference. It was not a horrible stay, but we would not stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bolts3032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Bolts3032,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the pool and breakfast.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and cleanliness which was unacceptable. We will address these concerns. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    44
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
53
16
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gansevoort, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Friendly and congenial staff and service. Room was very clean and comfortable. There was a softball team staying in the room next door making teen aged girl noises. The staff quickly got them to quiet down. They advertise a 'Continental' breakfast. It was more like a country farmhouse breakfast that a lumber jack would have been happy with...a large all you can eat buffet with just about everything you could ever want for breakfast.

If there was anything else I would have liked in the room it would have been a refrigerator. As a diabetic I needed to keep my insulin cold, but there was an ice machine to compensate for the lack of a refrigerator.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockland, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Cons: tiny pool, stained rugs, out-of-service ice machine 2nd floor, no desk in standard room; bathroom fan sounded as if it were powered by a jet engine.
Pros: only rugs were in disrepair: everything else was very clean and well-maintained. The pool was small but clean and OPEN. I have found too many places failing to indicate on their websites that their pools are 'temporarily' out of service. All of the staff were exceedingly friendly; I usually only expect this from check-in staff but here all the staff had a friendly greeting. Breakfast had considerable variety and the breakfast area was spacious and kept as clean as everything else (which was hard to do with all those babies enjoying their breakfast in there.) I would not hesitate to return. One of the better HIEX I have stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen4664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed here for my son's graduation from QU and needed a suite for four adults and a room for three. The entire place was booked between graduation and a children's dance competition, It was quiet; no noise from outside or other rooms. Overall it was a great deal and they did make any problems we had right immediately. That said, here were the issues:
The room was good, but the pull out was very uncomfortable, even for a 19-year-old. There were no sheets, pillows or blankets for the pullout anywhere in the room, but they did bring them quickly when asked.
The suite had a broken refrigerator, no iron, and no towels. Again those problems were immediately alleviated with replacements.
Upon checkout, they discounted both rooms.
Breakfast was good, but the pancake machine was broken the first day and empty the second.
I would stay here again because you don't really spend time in your room. It's a place to sleep and have breakfast before moving on to other things.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LorMcLor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Spent ten days there and this is probably the best hotel in Meriden. It is smoke free but the front entrance and elevator almost always reeked of smoke. There are no malls or shopping areas and few restaurants in the near vicinity of this location. The property is located on the CT-15 Berlin Turnpike (which becomes the Merritt Parkway) and makes getting anywhere in this area a quick trip. Housekeeping skipped us one day. Room and bathroom were clean and working. There are no small refrigerators or small microwaves in the King Bed rooms, which is less than normal for this price hotel. Free internet is slow to moderate speed (both wifi and ethernet). Breakfast is OK to good and the choices (buffet style) varies slightly day to day. Did not use the indoor pool or the exercise center (one treadmill is broken) but those areas were clean and the pool was clear. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmatthew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear tmatthew,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We are pleased you did enjoy our complimentary Express Start Breakfast.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed for 3 days for a family reunion in town. The room was clean and everything worked.
The breakfast was good and the coffee was above average. The room was on the quiet side away from the parking lot, but the bathroom fan was noisy.
Other than that it was very god

Room Tip: Rooms away from parking lot were quiet Don't know about the other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel few days ago for a business trip with a colleague and was highly disappointed that the cleaning service fail to clean the room that was given to me. There were hairs on my pillow that were not mine which I can only determine that the sheets and bedding was not change from the person staying before me. The bathroom had someone's old contacts lens laying around the sink by the dusty coffee set up. I did not feel comfortable at all! When I called to informed them of the issue I sense a cold response (" so what do you want new pillows? And or new pillow case ") at first it was a mere silence like I was annoying the front desk. Sadly would not recommend and I have picture proof the uncleanliness of this room. Me and my colleague were not satisfied and will make future business arrangements elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Csylv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Csylv,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the cleanliness of the room prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
4.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
Address: 2104 N Broad St, Meriden, CT 06450-2412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand-new Holiday Inn Express conveniently located off I-91 and Route 15 in central Connecticut. Our richly appointed spacious state-of-the-art guest suites offer free Wi-Fi, wet bar with microwave and mini-fridge. The separate living area makes our suites perfect for business travelers, families, or long term assignments. Brand new 32 digital flat screen TVs are just another special touch sure to make your stay enjoyable. If traveling on business our hotel is a short drive to numerous businesses like Northeast Utilities, Aetna, Hartford Convention Center, Bristol Meyers Squibb, and other business parks on Research Parkway In Wallingford. Bradley International, Brainard, and Tweed Airports are also close by. We are situated near Wesleyan and convenient to many prestigious schools and colleges including Yale, Rosemary Choate Hall, Wesleyan, Quninnipiac and Central Connecticut State University to name a few. Leisure travelers have numerous and varied attractions to enjoy. You can catch a live concert at the Chevrolet Theatre, take a roller coaster ride at Lake Compounce, enjoy Broadway style performances at The Bushnell, see where Mark Twain lived and stroll around the botanical gardens of Hubbard park. Nearby shopping malls include Westfarms and Westfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Meriden
Holiday Inn Express Meriden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing