We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop before our cruise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this hotel and all the staff. Everyone went above and beyond here. The room was clean and comfortable. My boys were even excited to have pizza with the staff this evening. It was complementary the evening we stayed and were told they do it once a week for guest. I would stay here again if I was to come to the area. Alyssa made the stay so enjoyable and we ♥ the lady who served pizza and breakfast. It's so hard to find friendly caring people. These girls top it off!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Ms. Nicole,

Thank you so much for your recent review of the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham in Meriden, CT. It was really nice to host your family during your visit to Meriden. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was really nice to meet your family and I hope you had a great vacation. I was jealous of the tan for sure!

We look forward to hosting you and your family again during your next visit to Meriden, CT.

Warm regards,

Amit Arora
General Manager
Aarora@wyndham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 595 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

The beds were firm but comfortable. I loved all the pillows and the fluffy duvet! The linens were crisp and clean white while not scratchy and there was a comfortable chair to lounge in as well as a desk. While not 'white glove' clean in *all* of the kitchenette cupboards, the counters, fridge and bathroom were spotless and convenient. Anything I asked for was immediately provided and the breakfast was diverse and plentiful for gluten tolerant carnivores. I hope they add more 'gluten free' options soon and lighten up on whatever the eggs were cooked in. The lighting was all modern and, while bright and probably energy efficient, I wished there was at least one reading lamp with the option for incandescence as I can't tolerate only fluorescent for reading.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrienne o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Ms. Adrienne,

Thank you so much for your recent review of the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham. I also want to thank you for choosing us as your preferred lodging destination while visiting Meriden, CT. I appreciate you bringing to our attention the gluten free aspect in our breakfast selection. I will definitely explore what options we have from our current vendors in this regard.

We do have the energy efficient fluorescent lighting in all of our rooms to conserve energy. But it is a good idea for us to keep some incandescent bulbs on hand should a guest require them. Please do reach out to me directly before your next visit so we make sure to install them in your room prior to your arrival.

We look forward to hosting you again with us during your next trip!

Warm regards,

Amit Arora
General Manager
Aarora@wyndham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel has an excellent staff and the rooms feel like a modern beautiful retreat with a kitchen. The best part is the price is unbeliavably low. The amenities include a Hot breakfast, highspeed internet, and a roomy gym. The laundry room has 4 washers and 8 dryers.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Mr. Bryan,

Thank you so much for your recent review of the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham. I am glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. We certainly look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Meriden.

Warm regards,

Amit Arora
General Manager
Aarora@wyndham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Nelida O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Joni C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We found a used condom wrapper under the bed here. I went down to the lobby and asked the employee, Ian, behind the desk that someone be sent up to remove it and was assured that someone would take care of it asap. No one showed up that day to do so. No one came the next day to do so and there was no maid service that day.

The day after that we went down to breakfast. We started to make a waffle and noticed that the container holding maple syrup packages was empty. There was no attendant present so I went to the front desk and reported this. I was told the hotel was out of syrup and they would send someone to the store to get more. That person arrived 20 minutes later. At that point we had noticed that the breakfast room also had no butter so we told her about that. After the butter was refilled we sat down to eat and talked quietly together laughing about a breakfast room serving waffles with no syrup or butter. We then returned to our room.

Minutes later we received a phone call from the front desk. The employee did not identify himself but began shouting that we had insulted the breakfast room attendant and called her names. He refused to identify himself until I asked his name about 5-6 times. He then admitted he was Ian. I told him that we had not insulted the breakfast room attendant and that what he was saying wasn't true. He responded by threatening to call the police and have us ejected from the hotel. I demanded to speak to a manager. He said he would get a manager.

I went down to the front desk and a young woman wearing jeans and a tee-shirt showed up with a toddler in her arms saying she was the manager. She didn't have anything with her that identified her as an employee let alone a manager. She did not give me her name. She rudely dismissed my complaint about Ian's behavior. I told her Ian had failed to have a condom wrapper removed from under the bed and she told me he had sent someone and I had refused to let that person come in the room. This was untrue but there was no reasoning with this person who I am still unsure was actually a manager. She said that since I was asking again she would send someone to remove it immediately. Again no one showed up.

We left the hotel the following morning. This is, hands down, the worst service we've ever experienced at any hotel. Not only were we insulted and threatened with removal from the hotel but the day we left the condom wrapper I had reported 3 days earlier was still under the bed.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Andrew,

I want to start off by apologizing for your recent experience at our hotel. As you can see from all the reviews that we always try our best to give all of our guests a stellar experience. I'm sorry you feel that the service was not up to par with what people have come to expect from us. That being said I did research this incident and having heard what the account from the staff I do hope that people reading this review will take it with a grain of salt.

Despite the "he said she said" I would like to make this right for you so please feel free to contact me at your convenience.

Regards,

Amit Arora
Aarora@wyndham.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden

Address: 1151 E Main St, Meriden, CT 06450-4819
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range: £51 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fitness Room, Pool, Accessible Rooms & Facilities, Business Center, Automated Teller (ATM), Baggage Storage, Bar Area, Beverage Area-Complimentary, Breakfast Area- Complimentary,Laundry/Valet Service, Lounge, Luggage Hold, Room Service, Safety Deposit Box, Snack Shop, Cribs, Family Package offered, High Chairs, Playpen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Meriden Hotel Meriden
Candlewood Meriden
Meriden Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing