We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again (family wedding weekend)!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Morges, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Never again (family wedding weekend)!!!!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the hotel as part of a wedding group arriving on a Thursday and leaving on a Saturday.
At first glance the hotel seems nice. Then when you walk around and look just a bit closer you see all is really wrong and poorly done.
Before arriving as part of a wedding party the bride was called and asked if she would mind 5 of her rooms moving to another hotel because the hotel had overbooked (they had 4 wedding groups and clearly could not handle them all).
Once there we did not receive the rooms booked (double instead of kings).
Then you notice that two floors where still under construction, which would be ok if those floors where not used.
But we stayed on one of those floors. The room seemed clean but really looked and smelled old, with carpet stains. One member of our group even had what looked like mold in the grout of the shower tiles. You couldn't open the window (all windows have been sealed shut) and the bathroom fan did not work in all the rooms on that floor. Part of the group had a safe that was not working, others had stains or appliances not working. The second floor rooms were musty and humid. Even the renovated rooms were not great (the broken safe, unfinished closet doors, closet doors that did not open easily).
The second day, our beds were made by housekeeping but our coffee was not replaced and we had no washcloths. A member of our group never had his room cleaned although he had asked the front desk for service 2 times. The worst part is that the bridal suite was never cleaned and the bride and groom returned to a dirty room (although a housekeeping supervisor was notified by the bridal party when the room needed to be cleaned and it was noted on his paper).
The group breakfast was okay, but they were not prepared for the amount of people that showed up at the starting time, and there was only one staff member refilling food and drinks for 40 people.
The front desk staff did not seem well-trained and the desk was understaffed at times. When we asked if a late checkout was possible, the front desk agent only replied "You do know that we are still fully booked?"

We, as well as most of the wedding party, will never return to this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SebsGenolier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    59
    64
    46
    33
See reviews for
68
40
15
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel was not clean. There was not enough check-in help. Service was not the best. the hotel is presently going through renovations, and good thing. Guest bags were supposed to be given to each room and they ran out of them because they were given to guest from another wedding. Would not go back there again.

Room Tip: no coment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Meriden, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Barbara B,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for a recent wedding in our area. We apologize for any mix-up with the gift bags and will share your comments with our front office team to ensure that situations like these do not repeat themselves. As you noticed, our hotel is undergoing a renovation and we would be happy to welcome you back for a future visit if your travels once again bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Meriden hotels

1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed one night a month ago. Very happy with the well trained and courteous staff. Everyone top notch and on their toes. Even though the place is doing renovations I was supprised how well everything looked. The hotel room was amazing. Hard wood floors at the entrance, fridge microwave. There was even bottled water(chilled and waiting), and chocolate. COME ON CHOCOLATE!! We went to the pool and later ordered a couple of great sandwiches and salads from room service. What a wonderful relaxing stay. My only regret is that I didn't get a chance to check out the entertainment that was being provided for the night. I look forward to going back to see how the new improvements to the hotel could possibly make this place better. Great job Four Points. p.s. I'm a hotel manager at another hotel so I know quality service when I receive it.

Room Tip: I stayed on the top floor....excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmalaviya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Meriden, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear jmalaviya,

Thank you for the incredible review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience online and we would love to have you back for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

After a nice romantic dinner, my wife and I came back to the hotel room and got ready for bed, she noticed the bed smelled like it had been slept in.
After smelling it, she was right, the sheets smelled horrible. She went down and told the woman at the front desk and the woman said "i can assure you, they have not been slept in". My wife happens to be a housekeeper in a fancier hotel and knows for sure they did not have that fresh linen scent.

We waited for a half an hour for someone to bring fresh sheets and fix the bed, when the guy arrived, he handed us the sheets and said here you go. Guess what....we were given the wrong size sheets!
So we walked down to the lobby with both dirty sheets and wrong sized clean sheets...placed them on the desk and told the woman exactly what happened.
We waited for a few mins for fresh sheets and were handed the right size, clean linen...yet no fitted sheet to go over the mattress.
Being so tired, we've made the bed, left this review on every site possible and can not wait to discuss this at check out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveFat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I had to stay here as it was close to the company I was visiting. One of the worst places I have stayed. The Airconditioner didn't work - I had to shift rooms. It was quite noisy. The room was smelly. The shower controls didn't work well. The first room had a fridge and the second didn't. Avoid this, if you can.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatrajKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Meriden, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear NatrajKumar,
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. We clearly did not meet or exceed your expectations. We hope that you’ll give us another chance and come back to see our new look. Please feel free to contact me at yvonnedeangeli@fourpointsmeriden.com to discuss this further. We sincerely hope that the rest of your visit to Meriden was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The place is under renovation...ok. That being said, the rooms are poorly equipped, have suspicious stains on the carpet and have unsafe electrical wiring above the shower. The restaurant had no air conditioning on 95 degree weather so they blew this huge fan on is and ruined my wife's haircut, they also promised ice cream on the menu but we unable to provide it on request. They also ran out of the beer we were drinking. Next time we will spend a little more and stick with nicer places. Also, the randomly placed lamp in the dingy staircase was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kdk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Meriden, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Kd77,
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. As you mentioned we are undergoing renovations to our guest rooms and public spaces. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and hope you'll give us another chance to make this up to you. We sincerely hope the rest of your stay in Meriden was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Grove, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband work for a company that is contracted by the railroad so he was staying in this hotel. My kids and I drove all the way from MIssouri to spend the week with him and as soon as we stepped in to the hotel i could see problems. The back doors to the hotel did not lock and did not need key card access so anybody could have just walked in, they were doing tons of renovations so we were woke up one morning by the hallway carpet being ripped up, and not even notified by this. There was no mini fridge or microwave in our room so we had to keep a cooler in there and keep adding ice. The only good thing about this hotel was my family and I had a blast in the swimming pool. I will never come to this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa C, Starwood Hotels at Four Points by Sheraton Meriden, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Jessica F,
We are so sorry that you and your family did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. As you mentioned, we are currently undergoing renovations. We hope that you’ll give us another chance and come back to see our new look. Please feel free to contact me at yvonnedeangeli@fourpointsmeriden.com to discuss this further. We sincerely hope that the rest of your visit to Meriden was a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Meriden

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
Address: 275 Research Pkwy, Meriden, CT 06450-8300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Meriden is centrally located at the crossroads of Connecticut; we're in the middle of one of the fastest growing industrial parks in the state. Quinnipiac University, Yale University, Wesleyan University, Gouveia Vineyards, and the Chevrolet (Oakdale) Theater are all a short drive away. Meriden Connecticut is a great place to visit in the summer with Historic Hubbard Park and Mirror Lake close by. Lake Compounce Theme Park is a short drive away offering plenty of family friendly activities including the Anchor Bay Water Park. In the mood for some golf? Check out the nearby TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Connecticut. Talk about cozy. Come and relax in our comfortable guest rooms featuring the Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort Beds, 27" televisions featuring cable, free wireless internet, individual climate control, radio/alarm clock, coffee maker and room service! In addition all guests can enjoy, our Business Center, Free parking, our luxurious, heated indoor pool, exercise room/facilities and our 100% smoke-free environment. Planning a meeting or event? We offer 18 different meeting space venues as well as audio/visual equipment and Technicians! Hang out in our newly-opened Silver City Sports Bar and Grille. Catch the game on one of 14 large or plasma screen TVs. Personal table speakers will make sure you don't miss a minute of the action. Gather your friends and family and join in the fun while enjoying a tasty treat from the family-friendly menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points Meriden
Four Points Meriden Hotel Meriden
Meriden Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing