We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost a loyal customer”
Review of The Bell Inn

The Bell Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been working all day and decided last minute to go to The Bell as we had stayed there before snd also given it a 5 star rating.

My wife phoned, was told last orders were 2030 but if we rang back with our order and be in as quick as we can they would serve us. At that time we were knee deep in a drainage pit so would have to shower and change and a 20 min drive

When i phoned up, the gentleman on the phone said we had to be there by 2030, pretty much get there or no service. I explained about the earlier call with my wife but was still told last orders 2030.

Won't go back now and wont take visitors either.

Some flexibility or keep consistent messaging.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank mikewS5057IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEBELLCHITTLEHAMPTO, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Mike,

I am sorry that you feel so badly about Thursday night that you have had to leave such a negative review.

We would just like to clarify that when you phoned us at around 8pm, you did not mention that you would be intending to be with us at 9pm, you had said you will be close to last orders.

As we always do we, we tried to be very accommodating, our last order are typically 8:30 with some leeway as anyone who visits us knows. We had been cooking food since 5pm and weren't as busy as we had of been, so the kitchen was ready to close, we only stayed open as we were led to believe you were coming in around 8:30.

Local businesses need to be supported not brought down, we try our hardest with a very small team to make everyone as happy as possible. You have said you have enjoyed our custom before which we really appreciate. We have now made one mistake that isn't to your liking and your attempting to bring us down, which is really disheartening for us.

I do hope you accept our sincerest apologies for what has happened and you may considering coming back in the future.

The Bell Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

Staying in North Devon we have frequented every other day. Always a warm welcome. Great choice of food & drinks. Lovely space indoor & out. Great steak this evening with top class Cider
This pub is a must for everyone

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank joannecE7604KE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2021 via mobile

Lunch with family friends. Sat out in the conservatory which was lovely. With an elderly couple one who is a non drinker. They had been many times before. We had been once before. Cup of tea had been the preference but was told not to waste our money as it had been mentioned before that the machine only gave half a cup and they wasn’t joking literally half a cup about the amount of a strong expresso. Would have complained but our friends found it too embarrassing. A VERY expensive cup of tea. It was the only thing that let them down. The food was excellent

Date of visit: September 2021
2  Thank 590paulineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2021 via mobile

We were 30 mins late but table was saved for us, place was packed with a lovly atmosphere, waitress was very attentive, husband had a build yourself burger i had chilli, it was great

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank bridgetbW6292KP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 September 2021

For a birthday meal, we were recommended to dine here by a local Air BnB host - their recommendation was superb. Lovely friendly staff, a beautiful location overlooking the mid Devon countryside, first class food and a good selection of local ales to choose from.
For our dessert, the staff brought out cheesecake with a candle and sang Happy Birthday - ALL the customers sitting around joined in to create a magical moment. Bravo The Bell Inn, truly wonderful!!

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnwQ5722UG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Bell Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Bell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.