We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely location and very smart cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Prospect Cottage

View from the Parish Church
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the Parish Church
Cottage ground Floor Cottage Exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
View from the Parish Church
Cottage ground Floor
Cottage Exterior
Living Area
Dining Area
Kitchen Area
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom
En-suite
En-suite
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Second Bedroom
Bathroom
Church from the Square
Bell Inn from the Square
View from Ground Floor Window
High Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chittlehampton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michele L
wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely location and very smart cottage”
Reviewed 13 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely location on village square next to the Church. Village very nice with shop for supplies and pub.
Cottage was very modern looking, comfortable and stylish.
The only problem we had was that the oven was overheating and although we reported it near the beginning of the week, it was not resolved by the end of our stay which is not very good for self catering accommodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolejoh...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cottage in Chittlehampton is the most perfect base for visiting the many places of interest in North Devon. The Bell pub is just yards away and well worth a visit, with good food and friendly staff . The cottage is very clean,well equipped and really comfortable. This was our third stay and we enjoyed every minute as always. I can recommend staying here to anyone who needs a getaway from the stress and strain of everyday life , a great place to recharge the batteries.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm C
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

First class location, very nice village,and pub really enjoyed a very relaxing break,felt really at home as soon as we walked through the door would definitely recommend to friends and family

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmachapl...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable homely cottage”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our family enjoyed a lovely stay at prospect cottage, it had everything that we needed and we loved the homely touch of milk, tea, coffee, bread and cereals available throughout the stay. Would go back again

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pamelena
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfortable and well equipped”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This property is on the main square of a small friendly village with character cottages and winding streets. If you live in a city or overseas, you would find the location really interesting and quaint! Parking on the square worked out fine and the village isn't far from a main road that takes you quickly into Barnstaple, a large market town. There are plenty of attractions in the area; we enjoyed the coastal views and walks and managed to find dry areas even in a rainy week. The cottage itself is comfortable and well equipped, an ideal size for a couple but room for a couple of children too. Two bathrooms, heated towel rails, a spacious open plan downstairs, excellent wifi, plus butter, milk and bread on arrival and even some cereal, coffee and tea sachets to see you through to breakfast and a shop round the corner for a morning paper!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne H
2 reviews
“Absolutely perfect cottage in a perfect setting”
Reviewed 5 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This was a return visit for our family and we have had an absolutely wonderful holiday again in North Devon. Prospect Cottage is stunning in its decor and feels completely like a home from home. The cottage is spotlessly clean and very well facilitated.Our children love to stay here which is very important for our young family. I wholeheartedly recommended Prospect Cottage for that perfect family holiday or a break for adults too. Thank you .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennie o
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A first class cottage”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Cosy comfortable cottage . Superbly equipped with every thing you could possibly need . Spotlessly clean and furnished to a very high standard . Great beds too .

An ideal location for touring or just exploring the local area .

Great pub with food and village shop/post office - what more could you ask for .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from home
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing