We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Looking Place”
Review of Plume of Feathers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plume of Feathers
Ranked #1 of 1 Mitchell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice Looking Place”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stopped here to get some food, the place is very nice inside and outside. The drink prices were reasonable but the food was limited and was too upmarket for my taste and didn't really cater for my wife who has dieting requirements.

But apart from the food everything was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmuggler, Manager at Plume of Feathers, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thankyou RLS Jones for your review particularly as you chose not to dine with us for the reasons you explained. It is always difficult pleasing all of the people all of the time and mnenu selection is always tricky. we do purposefully include items such as steaks, burgers and fishcakes and simple fish dishes in an attempt to tick all the boxes for our customers.
I sincerely hope that you will us again in the future and hope you will find something on the menu that appeals.

Thanks again
Regards

Paul Partridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    36
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
67
97
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here in March after a business meeting. Room was very clean with everything you needed after a long day. Bar area and the prices were very good. Food in the restaurant in the evening was excellent, I had the mussels to start and they were cooked perfectly, the bread was not stale. Homemade fish pie for main with very fresh vegetables. Breakfast was huge, I had the vegetarian option that unfortunately I couldn't finish, just too much. This came with toast, fruit juice and a pot of real tea! All in all a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neecey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmuggler, Manager at Plume of Feathers, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Many thanks for your feedback, it's great to hear that people are loving what we do here at The Plume. Perhaps I should suggest to chef a slightly smaller veggie breakfast may be the order of the day. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing yo again soon.

Paul

Paul Partridge
Manager
The Plume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

How lucky are we to have this pub as our local? At the end of a hectic working day we love walking down to the pub (takes longer walking back!) and enjoying a drink in a warm, friendly atmosphere. Great staff and a wonderful menu full of local produce and great fish dishes. It also has rooms and our extended family has enjoyed each stay here with legendary breakfasts. It is very popular with holiday makers and visitors but is also very involved with the local community and hosts quiz nights, steak nights, ale festivals, fireworks and Christmas celebrations. Eat in the conservatory or in the snug old bar and in summer enjoy a summers evening with good food and wine in the garden.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyBrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmuggler, Manager at Plume of Feathers, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Kind words indeed, so glad you enjoy all The Plume has to offer, long may that continue, and thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This has to be one of the best establishments in Cornwall. The food is second to none. The staff are always polite and helpful. Have visited several times in the last twelve months,both with my wife and on two occasions,for business lunches. Consistantly good

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed here in the middle of a house move and it was a real treat. An oasis of calm to relax in. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff were attentive and efficient. Landlord was friendly. Pub and restaurant are upmarket and stylish but relaxed at the same time, a nice combination. Menu has good choice of standards (steaks, burgers, roasts) as well as more unusual choices and interesting specials - there's something for everyone. The scallop and artichoke risotto was to die for ! We noticed that children were well looked after too and made very welcome rather than tolerated. Our room was lovely, very comfortable and spacious. All in all a very pleasant place to stay and eat. We thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra to stay in one of the superior or executive rooms for a touch of luxury and plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandpaulH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Beautiful pub and restaurant in a picturesque village. We have eaten at this restaurant many times over the past few years however have found the quality isn't as good as it used to be and is sadly very inconsistent.
However despite being local we have also stayed in their rooms and could not praise them high enough. Stylish and immaculately clean, good quality linen and very comfy beds. Breakfast has always been good too. Sadly we feel we probably won't go back because of their lack of consistence.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adollymix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I went to this place recently and found it to be a disaster. The service was poor. The food was as bad and unfortunately,overpriced. The attitude of the landlord was indifferent and the waitress couldn't be bothered to speak or smile. The Cornish scones were in fact Devon and the sandwiches reminded me of the food the local working men's club serve up on a Friday darts night. As an added treat we had a small Cornish pasty which I couldn't eat and had to serve ourselves to cold tea and coffee. The weather was terrible and made worse by the leaking roof in the conservatory.....what a shambles!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mitchell
6.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
874 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
13.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plume of Feathers

Property: Plume of Feathers
Address: Mitchell, Mitchell TR8 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mitchell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Plume of Feathers 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century coaching inn set in the leafy village of Mitchell, The Plume of Feathers is a destination restaurant with AA 4 star rooms. Located just off the A30 we are ideally placed for exploring Newquay, The Eden Project and Truro. Our menu takes inspiration from the great Cornish larder using fresh fish, locally reared meats and small organic suppliers.With its roaring log fires, beamed ceilings and friendly, cosy ambience on one side and a cool, contemporary conservatory space on the other, the Plume of Feathers is the ideal venue for many occasions. Why not take breakfast in the conservatory from 9am? Or pop in for lunch in the beer garden (if the weather allows!) Or how about dinner next to the warm log burner on a cold winter's day? Serving fabulous food all-day everyday of the year, we have a space to suit your every mood.Our seasonal menu and twice daily changing specials use the very best local and organic ingredients. Head chef, Rich Humphries, has long established himself in Cornwall for cooking classic British dishes with a modern influence. Rich and his passionate team love using the freshest fish, traceable/properly reared meats and fine fruit and vegetables - some of which come from Mitchells' own fruit farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Plume of Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plume Of Feathers Hotel Newquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing