We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic gem of a B&B in a beautiful part of the country” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plume of Feathers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plume of Feathers
Ranked #1 of 1 Mitchell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A fantastic gem of a B&B in a beautiful part of the country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The B&B was absolutely delightful. The rooms are beautifully renovated stables and are decorated to a lovely standard. The staff were attentive and we wanted for nothing. The food was hearty, fresh and locally sourced. It was beautifully cooked and timed to perfection. All in all it is a lovely sanctuary that is superbly managed, with friendly staff and we had fantastic time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taneal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    33
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
58
82
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mitchell,Newquay
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

A really lovely village pub we are very lucky to have it on our doorstep. The food is excellent, someone wrote on about the food being too up market. Just ask and they will try to accommodate your taste.They will even do you something from the children's menu if your diet is very plain( I have to say tho' the chicken goujons are delish, real chicken all homemade).The access for disabled is spot on can't complain on that one at all. Paul the landlord runs a very tight ship the staff all having respect for him and the diners the service being second to none.The food is exemplary often very different but with some good old fashioned favourites. We stayed a while back under a different landlord, but my family and friends have all enjoyed themselves.
Try it you'll like it if you don't tell Paul. You won't go far wrong for breakfast, lunch or Dinner, they serve til' 10pm. Thats pretty late for Cornwall, the only thing I would like to say is it would be nice for breakfast to be served until 12 noon at the weekend. But I can understand why it isn't, on Sundays their lunch is to die for, the Yorkshire Puds are enormous and taste perfect and coming from a Yorkshire lass thats praise indeed!!! Oh and its 2 mins off the A30 if your just passing thro'!

Room Tip: The accommodation is beautiful. Any room you choose as long as its at the Plume is a very good room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireR1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Great atmosphere and good interior, lovely pub. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, very helpful Food was good but the menu was fairly small/limited. Drinks prices were reasonable, food prices were a bit high.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 996lou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmuggler, Manager at Plume of Feathers, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Many thanks for your review, we work hard here at The PLume enhancing the customer's experience and seemingly all our hard work is paying off. We are glad you enjoyed your evening with us and look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards

Paul Partridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We booked a lastminute trip over bank holiday weekend.

As expected the prices were pretty high but not at the Plume Of Feathers for what you get we thought itnwas pretty reasonable.

As everyone says the superior rooms are a touch of class and just make you want to stay a little longer. And the bed was incredibly comfortable. We heard the floorboards from the room above and the owner promised to have a look at it as i think it had recently been re-done so was a little surprised. Not enough to spoil your stay though. Its the only reason i gave a 4/5 and not a 5/5.

The food was outstanding!!!!!!!! We couldn't rave about it enough. Make sure you're hungry the portions are generous and the dessert was even better.

I cant recommend it enough! A must stop even just for a meal.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmuggler, Manager at Plume of Feathers, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Thanks for your review, we are looking into the issue of the creaky floorboards in the newly carpeted Room 3 above the room in which you stayed,
It seems as though overal you enjoyed your stay and that is indeed music to my ears, we hope you will stay with us again and hopefully next time not be disturbed by creaky floorboards and late night wanderings from above.
Thank you for taking the time to review us, it is appreciated.

Many thanks

Paul Partridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

We stopped here to get some food, the place is very nice inside and outside. The drink prices were reasonable but the food was limited and was too upmarket for my taste and didn't really cater for my wife who has dieting requirements.

But apart from the food everything was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmuggler, Manager at Plume of Feathers, responded to this review, 25 May 2013
Thankyou RLS Jones for your review particularly as you chose not to dine with us for the reasons you explained. It is always difficult pleasing all of the people all of the time and mnenu selection is always tricky. we do purposefully include items such as steaks, burgers and fishcakes and simple fish dishes in an attempt to tick all the boxes for our customers.
I sincerely hope that you will us again in the future and hope you will find something on the menu that appeals.

Thanks again
Regards

Paul Partridge
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

Stayed here in March after a business meeting. Room was very clean with everything you needed after a long day. Bar area and the prices were very good. Food in the restaurant in the evening was excellent, I had the mussels to start and they were cooked perfectly, the bread was not stale. Homemade fish pie for main with very fresh vegetables. Breakfast was huge, I had the vegetarian option that unfortunately I couldn't finish, just too much. This came with toast, fruit juice and a pot of real tea! All in all a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neecey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmuggler, Manager at Plume of Feathers, responded to this review, 19 April 2013
Many thanks for your feedback, it's great to hear that people are loving what we do here at The Plume. Perhaps I should suggest to chef a slightly smaller veggie breakfast may be the order of the day. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing yo again soon.

Paul

Paul Partridge
Manager
The Plume
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

How lucky are we to have this pub as our local? At the end of a hectic working day we love walking down to the pub (takes longer walking back!) and enjoying a drink in a warm, friendly atmosphere. Great staff and a wonderful menu full of local produce and great fish dishes. It also has rooms and our extended family has enjoyed each stay here with legendary breakfasts. It is very popular with holiday makers and visitors but is also very involved with the local community and hosts quiz nights, steak nights, ale festivals, fireworks and Christmas celebrations. Eat in the conservatory or in the snug old bar and in summer enjoy a summers evening with good food and wine in the garden.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyBrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulsmuggler, Manager at Plume of Feathers, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Kind words indeed, so glad you enjoy all The Plume has to offer, long may that continue, and thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mitchell
6.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
6.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 6 in Truro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (A30/Fraddon) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newquay (Quintrell Downs) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plume of Feathers

Property: Plume of Feathers
Address: Mitchell, Mitchell TR8 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mitchell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Plume of Feathers 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century coaching inn set in the leafy village of Mitchell, The Plume of Feathers is a destination restaurant with AA 4 star rooms. Located just off the A30 we are ideally placed for exploring Newquay, The Eden Project and Truro. Our menu takes inspiration from the great Cornish larder using fresh fish, locally reared meats and small organic suppliers.With its roaring log fires, beamed ceilings and friendly, cosy ambience on one side and a cool, contemporary conservatory space on the other, the Plume of Feathers is the ideal venue for many occasions. Why not take breakfast in the conservatory from 9am? Or pop in for lunch in the beer garden (if the weather allows!) Or how about dinner next to the warm log burner on a cold winter's day? Serving fabulous food all-day everyday of the year, we have a space to suit your every mood.Our seasonal menu and twice daily changing specials use the very best local and organic ingredients. Head chef, Rich Humphries, has long established himself in Cornwall for cooking classic British dishes with a modern influence. Rich and his passionate team love using the freshest fish, traceable/properly reared meats and fine fruit and vegetables - some of which come from Mitchells' own fruit farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Plume of Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plume Of Feathers Hotel Newquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing