We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Plume of Feathers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plume of Feathers
Ranked #1 of 1 Mitchell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Lovely room very individually decorated. Large room and good bathroom. A great dinner in the restaurant with fine food..A slight hiccup at breakfast as had to leave early and they forgot.. But overall a lovely change to big business hotels! Just off the main road, easy to find with lots of free parking...

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    36
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
67
97
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

First class pub, with excellent food and the cost of rooms are great value for money, if a little small if your travelling with a large dog! Would not hesitate to stay here again, as all the staff we met were first class.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinaboy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the Plume of Feathers last weekend when visiting Cornwall for a wedding. From the outset the staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms are tastefully done, fresh and inviting. Whilst we didn't eat in the restaurant, the ambiance and decor was very welcoming.

Thank you so much Paul and team. We'll see you again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Four of us had steaks and puds, and a couple of bottles of a good Merlot. Food much better than 'pub-grub'. Service was polite and gently efficient. Plenty of space between tables, in a warm and comfortable room. The general atmosphere make this a 'must return to' restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quilpusha2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iddesleigh, null, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I have just had a wonderful few days with some very special friends at the Plume of Feathers. The accommodation was very comfortable, clean, fresh and pleasant to spend time in. Food was also very very good. As a vegetarian, who does not eat any dairy, nothing was too much trouble. The chef provided fantastic food which was delicious. I usually have problems finding somewhere that is able to provide a decent meal. All of the staff were friendly and helpful.
As this trip was a special one, it was important that the venue was right, and this one could not have been better. Another visit will definitely be planned.
Deb"PansyPotter"Walsh

Room Tip: Hen house was a lovely place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Paul and his team couldn't do more to make you feel welcome and provide great service. The rooms, inn and restaurant are great. An ideal spot for visiting beaches, the Plume is a real hidden gem. Breakfasts are a particular highlight - everything you might fancy from the full Cornish to baker Tom's cinnamon bread and ultra freshly squeezed orange. The scallops and pork loin were 2 of my favourites - our teenagers favoured the Plume burger and the gnocchi. Great value too, definitely recommended for couples and grown up families who enjoy fab food in a lovely setting.

Room Tip: All lovely, with beautiful iron bedsteads. The family room is my favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I was a little apprehensive at first but when me and my partner arrived we were greeted by friendly staff and showed to our room which was an upgrade to our original booking. We stayed in the "Hen House" which had impeccable cleanliness , the room was very warm and cosy and the bed very comfortable , in the morning we went for our breakfast in the conservatory was given excellent choice and the food was great, we will be returning hopefully before the year is out and hopefully for a longer stay as we only had one night there due to work commitments , it is quite close to town also, im a very very fussy person when staying away from home but this place was great !!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellyvann1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mitchell
6.0 mi away
The Alverton
The Alverton
#1 of 4 in Truro
874 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
5.7 mi away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
5.3 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
13.4 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plume of Feathers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plume of Feathers

Property: Plume of Feathers
Address: Mitchell, Mitchell TR8 5AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Mitchell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mitchell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Plume of Feathers 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 16th Century coaching inn set in the leafy village of Mitchell, The Plume of Feathers is a destination restaurant with AA 4 star rooms. Located just off the A30 we are ideally placed for exploring Newquay, The Eden Project and Truro. Our menu takes inspiration from the great Cornish larder using fresh fish, locally reared meats and small organic suppliers.With its roaring log fires, beamed ceilings and friendly, cosy ambience on one side and a cool, contemporary conservatory space on the other, the Plume of Feathers is the ideal venue for many occasions. Why not take breakfast in the conservatory from 9am? Or pop in for lunch in the beer garden (if the weather allows!) Or how about dinner next to the warm log burner on a cold winter's day? Serving fabulous food all-day everyday of the year, we have a space to suit your every mood.Our seasonal menu and twice daily changing specials use the very best local and organic ingredients. Head chef, Rich Humphries, has long established himself in Cornwall for cooking classic British dishes with a modern influence. Rich and his passionate team love using the freshest fish, traceable/properly reared meats and fine fruit and vegetables - some of which come from Mitchells' own fruit farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Plume of Feathers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plume Of Feathers Hotel Newquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing