We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved every minute of our stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Single-story former coach house. Each room overlooks the patio and large garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Single-story former coach house. Each room overlooks the patio and large garden.
Brand new kitchen for 2016 in kitchen/diner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Single-story former coach house. Each room overlooks the patio and large garden.
Brand new kitchen for 2016 in kitchen/diner.
A second table is in the kitchen/diner.
Comfortable living/dining room, from kitchen, with door onto garden.
Comfortable living/dining room with log burner, arch to kitchen.
Bedroom 1; double
Bedroom 1; double
Bedroom 1; double
Bedroom 2; twin, with access onto garden.
Bedroom 2; twin, with access onto garden.
Bedroom 2; twin, with access onto garden.
Family bathroom positioned between bedrooms 2 and 3, with bath and shower over.
Bedroom 3; ensuite double, with access onto garden.
Bedroom 3; ensuite double, with access onto garden.
Bedroom 3; ensuite double, with access onto garden.
Ensuite bathroom off Bedroom 1, with shower
View from patio across garden and lake in distance. High quality rattan furniture inc parasol.
Large patio with high-quality furniture (inc parasol) and bbq.
The Old Coach House is accessed via six steps down into a patio coutrtyard (ramp available)
The Old Coach House is accessed by some small steps down into a courtyard.
Aerial view of the three properties at Hendra Barns
Aerial view of the lakes and lakeside arbour at Hendra Barns
A warm welcome awaits
Hendra Barns' resident wildlife on the lake
Hendra Barns is home to friendly peacocks; this is Henry!
Our welcome basket is stocked with Cornish goodies
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mitchell, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Big-P3te
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Loved every minute of our stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The Old Coach House is lovely, it's set in a very rural location but still has a decent internet connection for those who like to stay connected. We took our dogs (sorry for any noise Ken) and they made use of the enclosed garden at every opportunity. The property is wheelchair accessible via a ramp and this made it ideal for my father. Of the five of us on this holiday three of have a disability, but the property caused no issues for us except for disabled access from the house into the rear garden, other than that it was perfect.
The location is quiet and has beautiful views across a lake and a small valley. Henry the peacock is awesome and so friendly, so much so that he kept coming to the stairs leading down to the property so we could feed him a few times a day.
Ken the owner is a genuine proper decent guy and we would like to return for another stay.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Stairs to front of property
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan J
Germany
1 review
“Wonderful holidays”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a fantastic week in this beautiful homely cottage.
As welcome suprise a very nice basket of local treats waited for us.
The house, our private garden and the big garden with a small lake were stunning.

We can't wait to come back.

Special thanks to Ken, who was very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidgarl...
leatherhead
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great accomadation everything you need”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This cottage is in a lovely area, a really safe and secure place for your dogs, you would not know that dogs had been here as there are no doggy smells. a good internet connection, well equipped kitchen, dish washer, washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge / freezer, iron and board, breakfast table, spacious living room with a six seater dining table. Bedrooms very well appointed one on suit two share a bathroom one has twin beds the other a large double, WE HAD A GREAT STAY

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to A30 for trips out
Liked least: we had no issues
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulaandm...
2 reviews
“Cannot rate highly enough!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Thank you so much to Ken for your hospitality and wonderful accommodation!

Easily the most homely place we've stayed in this country, and the welcome from Ken and unexpected welcome basket of local treats really was the extra mile.

The Old Coach House was like a home from home and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we wished we'd booked a fortnight rather than the week- would highly recommend and plan to return...

Thank you Ken,

Paula, Matthew, kids & Grandparents!

Date of stay: July 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papes123
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Beautiful location and accommodation. Ideal for dogs with a private garden and lovely lake to walk around. Good central location for seeing around Cornwall and it's beautiful beaches and bays. Will definitely be coming back.

Date of stay: October 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“FABULOUS HOLIDAY ACCOMMODATION,IN PEACEFUL SETTING”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

A lovely coach house, set down a private country lane, ideal for families with children and pets, secure garden.
Owner lives nearby in case you need anything, very helpful and friendly.
Lovely modern rooms, beds are extra comfy.. clean and well kept
Cannot fault our holiday

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and accommodation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing