We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great nostalgic restaurant”

New Guida's Restaurant Incorporated
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Meriden, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
386 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great nostalgic restaurant”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place has been around for many years but it shows. Their ice cream is very good as well as their service. Monday's are a big hit as they have 2 for 1 hot dogs.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnBCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guilford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Delightful Old Fashioned Little Restaurant”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We chanced upon this place while driving and were attracted to its look. Upon entering we loved the spotlessness and the red leatherette topped chrome stool at the counter. It had an extensive and tempting menu with surprisingly reasonable prices, And our sandwiches were absolutely
fresh and delicious. We felt as if we had stepped back into the '40's or '50s. A pretty, reasonable, friendly atmosphere with good food! We sat for a while and just enjoyed the place.What a delight. We will return soon (and often!)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connecticutosprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Village, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great spot - excellent hot dogs and shakes”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

First of all, the hot dogs are "world class". With chili and onions, they are superb. The shakes are fresh made, and the fries put the fast food crowd to shame.

Help is very friendly, and service is fast. If the weather is nice, sit at a picnic bench outside and enjoy the trees.

You might expect to see a parking lot full of '55 Chevies and Fords - it's that kind of "old world" 50's place. Not fancy, but very, very good. We eat there a lot.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fusion_Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best breakfast”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Found this place after taking a wrong turn, small dining area, friendly staff (Lisa was our waitress), the food was delicious and we could see the grill as it was being cooked. The only thing I didn't like was there was no public bathroom (unless it was outside)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TVHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, CT
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome chocolate shake”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I stopped at Guida's late this afternoon and ordered a chocolate shake. The young woman was very nice as well as the young gentleman behind the food counter. I asked her if it would be made with chocolate ice cream and she said it would. She made one of the best shakes I have had and I am not one to easily please when it comes to chocolate shakes. Very smooth and just the right amount of chocolate. Can't wait to go by there again. Yum.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rteastct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Guida's Restaurant Incorporated also viewed

 

Been to New Guida's Restaurant Incorporated? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing