We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Inn at Middletown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Middletown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Haslett, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here the night after our wedding. Their romance package included valet parking and a rather amazing breakfast and 4-course dinner. The staff was friendly, the rooms were very clean and comfortable. We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Congratulations from all of us at the Inn at Middletown on your wedding day. I am so happy that we made your wedding weekend a memorable one. Hopefully you will be spending future anniversaries with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    93
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
117
48
7
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

In town for meetings at Wesleyan U. and this inn's location is ideally suited, and also on the "main" street for downtown, close to many quaint shops and restaurants.

Well appointed rooms, nice amenities, quiet surroundings, comfortable beds all make for an enjoyable and relaxing stay. And very helpful and resourceful staff, a major asset!

While here. be sure to visit the local chocolate shop and try "A Night in Tunsia" - wow!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelreviewer3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn at Middletown. We are all about service and quality and I am pleased that we met your needs. I also love the chocolates down the block. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Our first trip to Inn at Middletown. We visited for a 1 night stay and arrived on a Sunday.
Our check in Front Desk agent (Taryn) was so very gracious and explained everything about the accommodations.

Our room was on the 5th (top floor) and it was perfect for the two of us. A work station for my lap top with free internet service.

We enjoyed a swim in the (small) pool but it was a hot day outside so this was refreshing. Adjacent to the pool was a whirl pool tub. The hotel provides towels in the pool area and you excess it onthe lower level using your room key to enter.

No charge to park you car at any meter on Sundays in Middletown good 'till 10 am Monday morning.

Nice to walk in town to restaurants, ice cream shops, and espresso bars.

Dinner at Esca wine bar and it was excellent but a tad pricy.

Hotel offers valet service if you need it but if they park the car in the garage overnight there is a parking charge.

We loved everything and would certainly highly recommend the Inn at Middletown and look forward to a future return visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn at Middletown. From your comments it appears as if you took advantage of everything the Inn and downtown Middletown has to offer. I will make sure I share your comments to Taryn. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Standard double room was large, clean and comfortable. Mattresses too soft for me. Decent shower and good-sized bathroom, all the standard amenities in the room. The staff is quite welcoming, and the hotel is quite attractive. This is a very solid step up in quality from most chain hotels, and the bar area in their tavern is a friendly gathering area late at night. There is a lovely courtyard area in front of the hotel with small tables and chairs, a coffee machine in the room and complimentary coffee in the lobby. We had an excellent breakfast (Sunday brunch) in the morning in the restaurant area next to the tavern. All things considered, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay at the Inn. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With the warmer weather we had this past weekend I hope you had time to just sit outside and enjoy the beautiful day. We serve meals outside daily so the next time you stay with us please try one of our new menu items or a cool summer beverage. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seabrook, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Very nice upscale place at a reasonable price. Grounds were very nice as were the staff. Rooms big and very comfortable. The food and the bar above average. Nice place to stay while on business. They do nicke and dime you on parking and bottle water.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us at the Inn. We just rolled out new menus about two months ago and I am glad you enjoyed them. We are getting many positive comments on some of the new items we added. In the future when you are back in the area we do offer free off street parking about a half a block away from the hotel. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I reserved a large room block for our wedding here in April and have nothing but positive things to say about the accommodations, experience, and service we received from our initial contact when making the reservation through check-out. Marisa, Beth, and Katelin were so prompt in responding to any questions we had. We loved our Suite and our guests were very pleased with their rooms as well. The front desk and Tavern were always appropriately staffed, and everyone was friendly. We highly recommend the Inn without hesitation!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your stay at the Inn at Middletown. We are so happy that we were able to make such a special weekend even more memorable. Your comments about the staff especially the sales team is much appreciated as they are the best in the industry and I am very proud of them all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Inn at Middletown for a wedding in the area. We opted for the valet parking and were happy we did. They promised to have the car out front in 10 minutes but it was never longer than 5. The entire staff was friendly and accommodating. We had a problem with the TV in our room and someone was there to fix it within 10 minutes. He was courteous and apologized for our inconvenience. The room itself was clean and comfortable and the bathroom updated. We didn't have a meal in the restaurant but the snacks and appetizers they served with cocktails were excellent. We didn't have much time to explore the area but the hotel has many restaurants and shops within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightowl6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience about your stay at the Inn at Middletown. We really pride ourselves on the great service we provide all of our guests and i was happy to see that we exceeded your expectations. I am sorry about the trouble with your TV. It appeared that some of the TV's needed to be reprograming when we put them back in after the renovation and I apologize for the glitch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
4.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
431 reviews
24.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
707 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Passport Inn & Suites Middletown
6.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 4 in Cromwell
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middletown

Property: Inn at Middletown
Address: 70 Main St, Middletown, CT 06457-3407
Region: United States > Connecticut > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Middletown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened November 2003, the former National Guard Armory on historic Main Street in downtown Middletown has been transformed into a 100 room boutique hotel. The marble lobby is enhanced by a spiral staircase that goes up to the second level pre-function area. Guests can enjoy a variety of on-site amenities including the Tavern at the Armory restaurant and lounge, indoor heated pool, exercise room, and Jacuzzi. In-room dining, free high speed internet access in all rooms, and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middletown Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing