We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place - Clean and very friendly”
Review of Inn at Middletown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Middletown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place - Clean and very friendly”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at the Middletown Inn over Thanksgiving with our family of 8. We got two rooms and a suite and had a great experience.

Check in was good. There was a little issue with the connecting rooms but the front desk fixed it quickly. They were on their game with cribs, a fridge for milk, and very friendly. My 15 month daughter was in love with the front desk person. Lots of smiles

They have a very cool staircase and decent pool which provides lots of entertainment for the kids.

Room service and wait staff were excellent and accommodating.

Rooms were clean and the maid service folks were very nice

Only a few issues. The early morning fruit plate for my daughter was very pricey and when we took it out of the fancy dish, there was very little actual fruit in there. Also, we asked for a late check out to work around a nap and got some friction from the front desk. They were full for a wedding the next day so I understand their position, but when a kid needs to nap, I think some flexibility would be nice.

Overall, great stay. Clean rooms and great staff..... We will be back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. I appreciate the feedback regarding the menu and we will certainly address the portion sizes. I was very happy to hear that the staff made a positive impact on your stay as that is our number one priority. We look forward to your next stay with us when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    93
    21
    5
    4
See reviews for
118
48
7
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We just recently were wed in Middletown, CT and used the Inn as our wedding hotel. We had approx. 20 other rooms booked and did book the bridal suite for two nights. As soon as we arrived, the employees jumped to assist with all of our bags/luggage and parking details. We held the after party at the inn, and the food was great and service was excellent. We also held a morning after breakfast, and again, the Inn and their employees came through in a big way! Everything was perfect and we really appreciated their friendliness and attentive manner in which they work. Even though we live in Middletown, we love to get away to the Inn - nice dinner downtown, and a great and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarap33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at the Inn at Middletown. It makes me proud when I read such nice comments about the staff and the service they provided you while you were with us. It is what we are all about here and we look forwards to having you stay with us again when you just need to get away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire ct
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

We choose the Inn for our wedding headquarters as the father of the bride I was in contact with Kaitlin to plan rooms, an after wedding party & a post wedding breakfast & she did an awesome job. The food was excellent & well presented & in sufficient quantities.
We also had over 20 rooms booked for friends & family & every one of them enjoyed their stay at the Inn. No complaints to me about anything. The staff were all extremely courteous & helpful.
An overall excellent facility & I would highly recommend it to anyone

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank scareplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wedding weekend with us at the Inn at Middletown. It appears that katelin and the staff took very good care of you and your group while you were with us. Letting us take care of all your needs over the weekend is what we do extremely well and I am so happy we made it a memorable weekend for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were thinking about using this hotel for our wedding in the area so decided to test it out. The people who work there are so unaccommodating and unfriendly that it makes you never want to go back. We will not be using this hotel after the way we were treated. I would NOT recommend this simply for that reason. It was terrible.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flipflopfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
I am very concerned about your overall experience at my property. The overall comments regarding your stay does not really depict what we stand for at the Inn. I would love to discuss this more with you in detail and would hope that you could call the general managers office to give me more specifics such as when you stayed which of my service staff was rude and or unprofessional. We pride ourselves on the superior product and service we give every guest and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectation. Concidering this is the first and only time you have used trip advisor I feel there may be more to this that I would hope you would share with me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I was attending a wedding in Middletown and looked for a good hotel in the area. From recommendations on TA I booked the Middletown Inn for two nights. When I made the reservation I booked a king bed room in what I expected to be a very historic Inn with an antique style furnishings. When we arrived, we were informed that the "free parking" was a block and a half from the hotel behind a shopping center movie theater. When we finally checked in we were sent to a room in the lower level (basement). The room had 2 beds. We went to the front desk and asked for our room to be changed which was down the hall. For the rates charged, I did not expect to be in a basement room near the pool. The room was clean but not quaint at all. Typical furnishings for a Holiday Inn type hotel. Could not figure why there were black marks all over the ceiling next to the bed.The hotel was hosting 8 wedding parties that weekend and getting through the lobby was a challenge.

Room Tip: Request room not in basement (lower level)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rklrkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. I am sorry that you expected more of a bed and breakfast venue as our guest room pictures are on trip advisor in order to show guests what a typical room looks like. This time of the year our weekends are busy as many couples are getting married and they choose the Inn for it's location and our overall quality. I will share your comments with my team as we are always looking for ways to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I sadly admit that I am not much of an adventurer when it comes to selecting a hotel. I tend to go to Marriotts or Hiltons knowing that I will be greeted by a professional level of service and will open the door to a clean room. So, I was a tad nervous coming to this property. Well, that was silly of me--this hotel was just great! It was clean, nicely appointed, and quiet. We weren't too sure about parking but we managed to use metered street parking right in front. I think metering stops around 6-7pm and doesn't resume until 10am. Perfect for us. The hotel does offer alternatives (I think for a modest cost but not located on the immediate property). Our reason for being in the area was to attend a performance at Goodspeed Opera House in East Haddam. We experienced an easy 20 minute drive each way. If in the area again, I will return and I will try the Tavern--it looks quite good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photocellist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking a leap of faith decided to stay at the Inn at Middletown. We really pride ourselves on our high quality of product and service and I am glad that we met your expectations. Our setting and location allows our guests to check in, unwind and relax and make it a home away from home. Hope to see you next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Excellent service and convenient location. The room was clean and quiet. The staff was very helpful when I had a scare about losing my phone. The parking is free and very convenient. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnatMiddletown, General Manager at Inn at Middletown, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Inn at Middletown. I am so happy that not only we met your service and quality expectations but we also found your phone. Losing a phone these days can be a real tramatic experience so that had to be the icing on the cake which made your stay a perfect one. Hope to see you again the next time you are in Middletown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
4.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
433 reviews
24.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
708 reviews
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Passport Inn & Suites Middletown
6.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
6.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Middletown

Property: Inn at Middletown
Address: 70 Main St, Middletown, CT 06457-3407
Region: United States > Connecticut > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at Middletown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened November 2003, the former National Guard Armory on historic Main Street in downtown Middletown has been transformed into a 100 room boutique hotel. The marble lobby is enhanced by a spiral staircase that goes up to the second level pre-function area. Guests can enjoy a variety of on-site amenities including the Tavern at the Armory restaurant and lounge, indoor heated pool, exercise room, and Jacuzzi. In-room dining, free high speed internet access in all rooms, and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Middletown Hotel Middletown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing