We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Milford
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We asked for early check in. Lady at desk was not very receptive. Said it would be after 3pm. Wonder if she woke up on the wrong side of the bed. Came back later, man named Esau (spelling?) was VERY nice. Room was nice. very quiet. Bed very comfortable. Some of the wallpaper was coming loose in the bathroom. It doesnt seem like it would take much to repair, but for some reason, hotels usually dont. Fridge was small but kept items very cold. Microwave is below the counter top. Strange position but serves the purpose. We booked the room from Marriott.com and asked for early check in, extra towels and pillows. Didnt get early check in, had to ask for the extra towels and pillows. Guess they didnt get the requests? Pool needed cleaned, but had a large amount of kids and I guess it would have been hard to get this done during the time we were there. Breakfast was very nice. Waffles, eggs, sausage etc. They kept items stocked. Had a small bar near lobby. Great bartender with decent priced drinks and appetizers. Overall, was a nice stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laverty1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2008

We wanted to take a quick overnight getaway with our kids, 5 years and 8 years old, and we knew we wanted a good hotel with a pool. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, we picked this hotel, and it was perfect. The staff was very friendly, the lobby was very clean, and the room was also nice, and a good size.
The pool was also pretty nice, small but good enough. My kids really enjoyed it. It is only about 3 feet to 4 feet deep, and a bit cool for my taste, but there is also a nice hot jacuzzi next to it. Luckily there weren't many people using the pool, otherwise I could see it getting crowded easily.

The breakfast which is included in the price of the room, was a very simple buffet, but they have these cute circular egg disks, sausage disks, and with the english muffins and cheese slices, you could make a surprisingly delicious version of an egg mcmuffin. Plus the usual cereal, juices, and baked goods, that my kids love. The coffee was also decent.

Afterwards we visited the Beardsley Zoo, and Dinosaur Park. All in all a fun family friendly weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FoodPhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2008

The hotel is okay -- no big issues or concerns and the quality of the rooms is good.

But WATCH OUT if you pre-pay through a travel agent or online service because you may find a second charge on your next credit-card statement. Don't be fooled if the hand you a zero-balance-due statement at checkout; that does NOT mean they won't process a charge without your knowledge!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank adl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

This Springhill Suites is a fine hotel, although personally I would have preferred a Residence Inn. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are quite comfortable. The pool was small, but quite just right for small kids or a relaxing few minutes of floating for adults. The breakfast was a little disappointing. The quality wasn't bad and the layout was well maintained and stocked; however, I had hoped for better. Neither the variety nor the quality of the breakfast items was as good as at Residence Inns or other similar hotels. The hotel employees were all very pleasant and helpful. The cozy business center was helpful for checking my e-mail while on vacation.

As a previous review noted, the suites are not as cavernous as one might expect. To me, they seemed almost European in that the furniture was perfectly measured and placed such as to place the largest furniture that could reasonably be placed in the room.

My wife and I shared a king bed suite with our 3-year-old and 2-month-old daughters. The 3 year old slept happily on the sleep sofa; however, we found it extremely hard to navigate around the room when the sofa bed was open. The two-year old slept in a clean Graco portable crib provided by the hotel. Deciding where to place the crib in the room wasn't impossible, but it did require some careful thought.

The "kitchen" area is more of a wet bar than anything. Having said that, the bar area was handy, although we were disappointed to find that the refrigerator lacked a freezer.

So, in short, the Springhill Suites in Milford is a fine hotel, but it does not necessarily stand out from its competitors.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ho-tellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

TINY rooms. And I mean TINY. There is nothing "suite-like" about these rooms. Basically a hotel room sliced in half by a partial wall. Very narrow and uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank f27tw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2008

We stayed one night at the Spring Hill Suites in Milford with 3 teen girls and two moms.

If you are looking for a newer hotel that is well maintained – this could be a good option for you. The "suite" was attractive and clean - although a bit cozy. The designers have managed to utilize every bit of square footage to make room for the living area, sleeping area and small kitchen area. It’s not quite a two-room suite, but more spacious than a typical hotel room.

We were able to secure a package that included free breakfast for 5 that included the usual continental fare as well as waffles and sausage/egg muffins. We also got a Pizza dinner with a movie the night of arrival all for about $150.00 booked through Marriott. This seemed to be a good value based on comparisons to other hotels in the area.

Check in was prompt thanks to Mike, the front desk person. Although a bus load of new guests arrived at the same time as us, he was able to single handedly process us all efficiently and politely . (Personally, I would have been stressed out)

I have two MINOR complaints. There is only one elevator and the stairwells are located on the far side of the building – down the hall from our room and the lobby. During check out, we had to wait a bit to catch the elevator, and the stairs were an unattractive option due to the location of our room and lobby.

Secondly, the air condition was a bit loud - especially when it clicked “on and off”. This could be problematic for light sleepers.

No question, I'd stay at this property again and would consider other Spring Hills if this is typical of the brand.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Where2gonexttime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2008

I recently stayed at the SpringHill Suites in Milford for two weekend nights. I reserved the jacuzzi suite for my boyfriend and I as a little vacation/get-away time.

The room was immaculate. The entire hotel is extremely clean, which is something they should be proud of. The maids did their runs daily, however, DO NOT GO IF A WEDDING IS GOING ON. I called the front desk several times to know when the maids were coming. They gave me the excuse about a wedding going on, and how they would be there whenever. To make sure the maids would come, I spent seven straight hours at the pool. The pool and the whirlpool are nice, but when there are loud kids, it tends to echo and annoy you. However, the exercise room was right next door, so I went and used the treadmill for a good while until the kids were gone. The pool is clean and was at the perfect temperature. The whirlpool was very hot, but felt great. There was also a sitting area outside of the indoor pool room.

In the jacuzzi suite, there was a bedroom, living room area, kitchenette, jacuzzi, and a bathroom with external sink area. As you walk into the room, you enter the sitting area. It consists of a couch (pull-out bed) and a chair with a coffee table and side table with a lamp. The TV is on a chest of drawers, and the TV screen swivels so it can be seen in either the living room or bedroom. To the right when you walk in, there is a desk and a kitchenette. The kitchenette features a small microwave and a mini-fridge. Perfect size for two nights.

In the bedroom there is a small closet with a nice king size bed. Sheets are good, but bed can be a little stiff. There are sidetables with lamps on each side of the bed. There is a large window with black-out shades, and a built-in air conditioner/fan/heater. Right next to that is the jacuzzi. I LOVED THE JACUZZI! It seats three, but would be cramped. I suggest two. There is a timer for the jets, and a large fan above the jacuzzi. Faucet gives fast, hot or cold water.

The bathroom is very basic. It had a toilet and a bathtub/shower combo. The shower head is great, especially for a hotel. It features two (maybe three?) settings. The sink area has complimentary shampoo, conditioner, face wash, eye make-up remover, and a body soap bar. It also has a small hairdryer. Plenty of room for the make-up and beauty products.

However, there were not enough towels given for the jacuzzi suite. IF RESERVING JACUZZI SUITE, ASK FOR EXTRA TOWELS.

Other than that, the hotel was wonderful. We got food from an italian restaurant, Bella Napoli. Great pizza! You can taste the fresh spices. Also, great chocolate mousse cake for us girls.

A hint for lovebirds with the jacuzzi suite.... bring candles! It was so romantic in the jacuzzi with candles and champagne. Just be careful not to slip and fall into the jacuzzi and spill the champagne and ruin the candles... Keep towels handy.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missredsox25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milford hotels
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#5 of 13 in Milford
735 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Milford
Residence Inn Milford
#3 of 13 in Milford
203 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Milford
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milford
Red Roof Inn Milford
#7 of 13 in Milford
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Milford

Address: 50 Rowe Ave, Milford, CT 06461-3045
Region: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Price Range: £71 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Milford 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Milford Connecticut hotel offers an incredible travel experience, whether you're visiting for business or leisure. The hotel is located between Stratford and New Haven, CT with easy access to beaches, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites Milford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Milford Hotel Milford
Milford Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing