We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“terrible end to our wonderful holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Milford
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Milford
cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrible end to our wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 16 August 2009

thankfully we only booked this hotel for one night.when we arrived we were greeted by approx 50 kids who were on camp the place was buzzing with them. we went to our room which was ok only for our children to tell us that if you pushed the door from the outside you could actually open the door. we rang reception straight away as it was late and we wanted to go for something to eat approx 1 1/2 later a man came to fix it with a very lame excuse that the door must have shrunk and the lock was out of line do they ever check for security . me and my children decided to go swimming before breakfast but BEWARE the very dirty pool and even dirtier spa there was a rim of green scum going around the edge of the pool and spa which had never been cleaned. the funny thing was it had a notice up staying it was maintained the week earlier perhaps it slipped there mind to get the srcubbing brush out!! Breakfast was very unorganised hardley anything left when we arrived probably scoffed by all the kids on camp. they had a waffle machine there but the mix had run out. i asked a young girl who was cleaning the tables with gloves did she have any more, she kindly opened the mixture maker got the dreads out of the bottom ,in the meantime this mixture was pouring over her dirty gloves, yes you guessed never used it very poor hygiene. would i stay here again CERTAINLY NOT.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touring40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NButcher, Michael Hamilton, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Milford, responded to this review, 2 September 2009
On behalf of the SpringHill Suites Milford, I would like to apologize for the breakdown in service experienced in reference to the posted review. We here at the SpringHill Suites take pride in providing outstanding service while also putting sanitation and, most importantly, guest security at the forefront.
During this guests stay, we had 3 softball teams staying on property for a regional tournament. Due to the smaller size of our hotel, I can see where some frustrations may have risen regarding noise control. I assure you that this is not a common occurrence and if given another chance, we believe we consistently provide a relaxing place to unwind during business and leisure trips.
In regards to the sanitation and security issues raised in the previous review, this is something we take very seriously. We appreciate your feedback to help us correct and prevent similar occurrences in the future. Both issues were investigated and resolved and have been recorded to avoid these unfortunate experiences from now on. I would like to thank the guest for providing us with constructive feedback and encourage future guests to also let us know how their stay was and any ways we can improve our service to provide each guest with the most enjoyable experience possible.
Regards,
Michael Hamilton, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    108
    62
    22
    13
See reviews for
112
65
15
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2009

This hotel says it was "rennovated" - well they missed the really filthy carpet in the very slow elevator (only a 3 story bldg)! It was unsanitary for sure! The staff is totally unable to keep up with the food and coffee at breakfast either weekend day we were there. Ran out of eggs, sausage and coffee both days, and no sense of urgency to fix it was seen. Being a regular Marriott user, I was disappointed in this hotel. Maybe it's because it hides behind a Red Roof Inn, I don't know! The rooms were also very compact (read small)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

We asked for early check in. Lady at desk was not very receptive. Said it would be after 3pm. Wonder if she woke up on the wrong side of the bed. Came back later, man named Esau (spelling?) was VERY nice. Room was nice. very quiet. Bed very comfortable. Some of the wallpaper was coming loose in the bathroom. It doesnt seem like it would take much to repair, but for some reason, hotels usually dont. Fridge was small but kept items very cold. Microwave is below the counter top. Strange position but serves the purpose. We booked the room from Marriott.com and asked for early check in, extra towels and pillows. Didnt get early check in, had to ask for the extra towels and pillows. Guess they didnt get the requests? Pool needed cleaned, but had a large amount of kids and I guess it would have been hard to get this done during the time we were there. Breakfast was very nice. Waffles, eggs, sausage etc. They kept items stocked. Had a small bar near lobby. Great bartender with decent priced drinks and appetizers. Overall, was a nice stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laverty1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2008

We wanted to take a quick overnight getaway with our kids, 5 years and 8 years old, and we knew we wanted a good hotel with a pool. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor, we picked this hotel, and it was perfect. The staff was very friendly, the lobby was very clean, and the room was also nice, and a good size.
The pool was also pretty nice, small but good enough. My kids really enjoyed it. It is only about 3 feet to 4 feet deep, and a bit cool for my taste, but there is also a nice hot jacuzzi next to it. Luckily there weren't many people using the pool, otherwise I could see it getting crowded easily.

The breakfast which is included in the price of the room, was a very simple buffet, but they have these cute circular egg disks, sausage disks, and with the english muffins and cheese slices, you could make a surprisingly delicious version of an egg mcmuffin. Plus the usual cereal, juices, and baked goods, that my kids love. The coffee was also decent.

Afterwards we visited the Beardsley Zoo, and Dinosaur Park. All in all a fun family friendly weekend.

  • Liked — Comfort and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Our room was on the ground floor, and the solid curtains don't close all the way, only the sheer gauzy curtains cover the window. At night if you have the lights on, people can see in the room from the parking lot.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FoodPhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lyon, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

The hotel is okay -- no big issues or concerns and the quality of the rooms is good.

But WATCH OUT if you pre-pay through a travel agent or online service because you may find a second charge on your next credit-card statement. Don't be fooled if the hand you a zero-balance-due statement at checkout; that does NOT mean they won't process a charge without your knowledge!

  • Liked — Clean room close to my destination; good breakfast buffet.
  • Disliked — Getting billed twice; check-in took a lllooonnnggg time.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank adl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

This Springhill Suites is a fine hotel, although personally I would have preferred a Residence Inn. The hotel is very clean and the rooms are quite comfortable. The pool was small, but quite just right for small kids or a relaxing few minutes of floating for adults. The breakfast was a little disappointing. The quality wasn't bad and the layout was well maintained and stocked; however, I had hoped for better. Neither the variety nor the quality of the breakfast items was as good as at Residence Inns or other similar hotels. The hotel employees were all very pleasant and helpful. The cozy business center was helpful for checking my e-mail while on vacation.

As a previous review noted, the suites are not as cavernous as one might expect. To me, they seemed almost European in that the furniture was perfectly measured and placed such as to place the largest furniture that could reasonably be placed in the room.

My wife and I shared a king bed suite with our 3-year-old and 2-month-old daughters. The 3 year old slept happily on the sleep sofa; however, we found it extremely hard to navigate around the room when the sofa bed was open. The two-year old slept in a clean Graco portable crib provided by the hotel. Deciding where to place the crib in the room wasn't impossible, but it did require some careful thought.

The "kitchen" area is more of a wet bar than anything. Having said that, the bar area was handy, although we were disappointed to find that the refrigerator lacked a freezer.

So, in short, the Springhill Suites in Milford is a fine hotel, but it does not necessarily stand out from its competitors.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ho-tellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

TINY rooms. And I mean TINY. There is nothing "suite-like" about these rooms. Basically a hotel room sliced in half by a partial wall. Very narrow and uncomfortable.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room Size and Layout
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f27tw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milford hotels
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Milford
Residence Inn Milford
#4 of 13 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#3 of 13 in Milford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Milford
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milford
Red Roof Inn Milford
#5 of 13 in Milford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Milford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Milford

Property: SpringHill Suites Milford
Address: 50 Rowe Ave, Milford, CT 06461-3045
Region: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Milford 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step through our doors, you'll feel the energy of our eclectic lobby and the warming fireplace glow, assuring you that you made the right choice in accommodations by staying with us at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott in Milford CT. Whether you choose a Double-Double Suite, a King Suite or a King Spa Suite, you'll find our well-appointed accommodations make it easy to enjoy your stay here. Join us for our complimentary breakfast buffet or choose from to-go items at the 24-hour food market. Internet throughout the hotel helps you stay connected, while the fascinating location offers you many reasons to explore. Whether here for business or pleasure, SpringHill Suites Milford has all you need to make the most of your stay. Our fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool provide a relaxing way to spend your free time between business and the many pleasures that surround our hotel. And after an eventful day, our stylish Bar & Lounge make for an inviting nightcap. SpringHill Suites Milford offers hassle-free complimentary onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Milford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Milford Hotel Milford
Milford Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing