We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful! Love the boardwalk.”
Review of Walnut Beach

Walnut Beach
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Milford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful! Love the boardwalk.”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Great place for a stay vacation. Walk out to Charles Island. Main reason I moved to Milford. The water and the view is beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank roddy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    10
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“not a patch on UK beaches”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We visited in August and I don't know if the beach is usually as dirty as it was. We saw a lot of broken glass on the mile or so stretch that we walked. We were quite surprised as we were told this was a great beach to visit. The water quality was also poor, maybe we are just used to really good beaches as home here in the UK. I think if they cleaned the beach up it would be lovely and well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank xelhah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful local beach”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Large beach area, very clean, with a pavilion with picnic tables. Also has fishing piers and a boardwalk that goes along the shoreline from Walnut Beach to Silver Sands State park. Ample parking, fee for nonresidents. Great view of Charles Island. Beautiful spot to see sunrises and sunsets. Lots of open area for kite flying.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MilfordSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun things to see and do”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Besides being a nice sandy beach, there are often folks zipping around on wind skis to watch. This is also the location for an annual sand sculpture contest, which is quite a marvel. A new boardwalk also connects to the spectacular Silver Sands State Park just up the coast (although the boardwalk is closed for repairs in summer 2013 after SuperStorm Sandy; too bad also because you can park free at Silver Sands and then walk to Walnut; otherwise I believe there is a parking fee at Walnut during the summer). From Walnut you can also leave the park and walk on the pleasant street all the way to the Audubon Center (free) at the western tip of Milford on the Housatonic River.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheEasyVegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Walnut Beach”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Walnut Beach is a Milford Beach and requires stickers. They do have passes for out of towners. I am not sure what they cost. There is also street parking for no fee. There is a nice boardwalk that is near the water that will bring you to Silver Sands State Park. The area where Walnut Beach is growing as an arts community. I live nearby so my visits are frequent.A food truck is available in the summer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TreeCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walnut Beach also viewed

 

Been to Walnut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing