We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We planned an overnight stay at this hotel before our onward journey to NYC. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere but once inside, it is efficient and comfortable. The room was spacious for our family of 4 and we left in the morning feeling refreshed.

The décor is better than Hampton Inn / Homewood especially in the lobby which has a higher ceiling. It is also a clever concept to use seating around the lobby for the breakfast guests in the morning.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank doobeebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

338 - 344 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I went to the hotel last night around 11 pm. We were two couples and we rented a room with two double beds. Within 20 minutes we were told we were too loud for the hotel but we had no music and we're only speaking in regular tones. 15 minutes later the Milford police can to throw us out and the police agreed they did not hear any above average tones as they approached the door and seemed to be empathetic with us. We were not given any refund or rebate and I was basically robbed of $160 by the Hyatt of Milford. Do your best to avoid the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronmickie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattplace190, General Manager at Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

We apologize for this guests terrible experience at our hotel, which was the direct result of their own doing.

Upon check in, we clearly explained to this guest that Hyatt Place Milford was a 100% Non-Smoking Facility and we do not permit any smoking in our guest rooms or public area within the hotel. A little time after midnight, we received a fire alarm trouble signal from this guests room. Unfortunately, this guest and their friends were openly smoking in their room, which was a violation our hotel's non-smoking policy and local fire department code, as they were openly smoking in the hallway of the hotel.

Smoking within our hotel is not permitted and a hazard for fire. Further, it could set off the hotel fire sprinkler system.

Our overnight manager told the guests to please stop smoking in their assigned room.. The guests were extremely discourteous and confrontational towards our overnight manager. In addition, we received multiple complaints from other guests staying in our hotel about this guest, and how noisy they were. As a result, we were forced to call the Milford Police to handle this matter, as this guest refused to consider the safety and security of our other guests staying in our hotel. At no point in time were they willing to cooperate with our overnight manager.

We firmly support our Overnight Manager's decision to remove this individual from our hotel, as they were inconsiderate of the well being of our other hotel guests staying in our hotel after midnight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Pretty much the same standard as other Hyatt Places we have stayed in. Even though the hotel seemed pretty full, our room was quiet, comfortable and clean. Decent breakfast. Parking spaces are limited near the entrance, they probably have additional parking at the rear. We reached pretty late around 10PM and the lady who checked us in was not very welcoming. Maybe she was too tired with all the people checking in through the day.

The hotel is pretty close to I-95, but is located in an industrial type area, so the rooms do not have much of a view. All activity - malls, etc is on the other side of the highway, but it is all just a small drive away.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors may be a better bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnsarMNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I would not recommend this place. The room has a chemical smell that made me sick throughout the night. You cannot open the window because they are bolted shut. The chemical is sprayed into the AC so that if you turn the AC on it makes it worse. There were some kind of stains on the sheet and there was a big hole in the blanket. I stayed in room 509. If it was not late at night when I checked in, I would have left and found another hotel, probably a Courtyard or Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Neeraj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyattplace190, General Manager at Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Sir,

I sincerely apologize for the above mentioned issues you described.

My team and I hold a higher standard for our hotel, and try to make each of of our guests stay as pleasant as possible.

Please note that as per city code, we are required to keep our windows dead bolted as mandated by the City of Milford Fire Department. I understand that your room was on the 5th Floor.

With respect to other two matters, I would appreciate it if you could please call me at 203-877-9800 to better understand please.

Thank you.

Prashant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Really an excellent place--among the best hotels of this type I've stayed at. Only one complaint: the hairdryer in the room is essentially useless. The front desk appeared aware of this fact and yet they don't seem to be moving to replace the hairdryers.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Traveler3719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Left Tennessee, traveling to the Maritimes (Canada) through thunder and lightning storms and needed a place to sleep before tackling the next day's drive. We had a coupon book from a Visitor's center and came across their coupon for $95 + tax for a king room with breakfast included. No trouble with the hotel accepting the coupon-we chose a room on the first floor. When we walked in the room, we said, "Wow!". It was a room that looked like it was for a business person on work-related business or a conference (there were 2 meeting rooms on the first floor as well). There room was very large and had defined spaces- a mini-fridge, bar sink, desk and chair in one area; a sectional sofa and footrest and a large TV in another- a divider between the sofa and the very comfortable bed. The shower had lots of water pressure. The breakfast was great (we went at 7:30- hours were from 6-9) and had choices from fruit, yogurt,eggs on half muffins, bagels, oatmeal, juices, coffee. the workout room looked great but we did not have time to partake. Parking was a little bit of an issue (we could not park on the same side of the building as our room), but we did arrive at 11 pm. We would go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank eileencrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here for 6 hours before a college visit. Got in at 3am friendly front desk person, nice room, clean comfortable quiet room. Breakfast was ok. Went down at 830am, and everything was cold. Would stay here again, like the style and layout of hotel. Nice brand

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MN-FIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
3.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Milford
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#5 of 13 in Milford
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Milford
Residence Inn Milford
#3 of 13 in Milford
203 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven

Address: 190 Old Gate Ln, Milford, CT 06460-3651
Region: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Milford
Price Range: £71 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Place Milford, CT is a BRAND NEW All Suite Hotel only 7 minutes away from downtown New Haven and Yale University. Hyatt Place Milford features All Suite Rooms that feature a 42 Inch Plasma TV, Hyatt Grand Bed, 300 Thread Count Sheeting, Wet Bar, Cozy Corner Couch, and work desk with Cordless Telephone. Hotel serves a Complimentary Hot Skillet Breakfast Buffet DAILY!! Hyatt Place Milford has a 24 Hour Starbucks and a Premium Bar onsite. Our Hyatt Gallery Cafe serves food from 6:30am thru 11pm everyday. Hotel amenities include a 24 Hour Fitness Room, Indoor Heated Spa, and a business center. Free WIFI Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Milford Hotel Milford
Hyatt Milford
Milford Hyatt Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing