We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel honestly wasn't that bad. It was definitely in need of a serious update but that is not something to give a one star for. My fiancé and I booked a non-smoking room and that's what we received. They have these tiny little balcony's that if you really needed to smoke you could. There had previously been a small refrigerator/freezer built into the room ( looks like a cabinet till you open it) when it was first built that has since stopped working but they at least put in a mini fridge to accommodate guests. There was a weird wax burn/mark on the carpet that we tried avoiding at all costs but even that wasn't that big of a deal. In the bathroom I'm guessing when housekeeping was putting towels in, they must've left a single hair behind on one of the towels but that freaked me out a bit but luckily we had brought beach towels that we didn't use earlier. The only other thing was that a few pillow cases had ink stains on them ( they were clean), it seemed stupid because how easy is something like that to replace. Other than that the hot water worked excellent, the bed was comfortable, a little soft ( for those with bad backs), the a/c worked all night and it was cool, and the TV worked good. Over-all the hotel wasn't bad, my family is coming in next week and we'd stayed in this hotel to test it out for them and I'd let them stay in it.

Room Tip: We had baby wipes and a few grocery bags with us just incase, never needed the baby wipes but the gr...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Checked in for one night on 20 Jul.....the hallways reeked of smoke even tho it said non-smoking section, go figure. Musty very hot in hallways, no air circulating, and the very strong odor of urine in the elevator. Had to cover your nose while riding to your floor...Also placard in the elevator showed that last inspection of elevator had expired on 13 Jul and it was now the 20th., loose flooring under rug in elevator. Stairwells were very dirty, floors filthy like they have not seen a mop in ages. Storage room on 4th floor was very dirty, garbage strewn about. Furniture old, broken, no screen on sliding glass door. white curtains looked yellow from smoking, mattress too soft, burn holes in rug, bedspread, stains on chair,,,yuk. Never stay there..reminded me of a welfare hotel.

Room Tip: Tip......never stay here..disgusting!!!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
1  Thank barbara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was A great place to stay.Right off highways, centrally located to mall,parks& dining. Beds were very comfortable. I would recommend this place.There is an all night diner in front of hotel for late night travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robinlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We booked this hotel because we were on a tight budget while visiting family. Location is nice, safe area. Rooms are big. I called and spoke with the front desk and shared concerns because of reviews. She was very nice and recommended to see room before checking in. Bed was comfortable. Towels white and fresh. Bathroom was clean. TV was large flat screen. Furniture was not in best shape, curtains need replaced. Building is older. Don't expect the Hilton because it is not and the price reflects what you pay for. All staff were VERY accommodating. I would stay again. .. Btw, look at the people who left bad reviews - it seems strange that they only review one place usually .. Thanks for a budget friendly nice stay HoJo Milford!

Room Tip: Ask for room away from construction area
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laverty1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Comfy bed, AC worked well, and bathroom was clean and stocked. Giant gravel pit out back is interesting and did not affect stay. Did not use pool but it looked good. Great check-in and lots of close by shops/restaurants. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I was given a non smoking room that reeked of smoke. The hallway was hot and dirty and the woman at the desk was very blah and seemed like she wanted to be anywhere else then there. The blankets were from the 70's. The ac and tv were the only good things about this place

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BIGTOM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I do not even need to stay at this hotel in order to warn travelers not to stay here. Having lived in the area, I can tell you this hotel has always had a shady reputation. I would never consider this a safe hotel to stay at.
Just about every review mentions how horrible the inside of the hotel is. If that is not enough to make you stay somewhere else, maybe some comments about the conditions outside of the hotel.
This hotel is located a stones throw just off of i-95. It's on a heavily traveled road at a major intersection. The diner it's next too is one of busiest and weekend nights between 2-3 am it's packed. The hotel is located next to one of the scummiest Friendly's restaurants. But, the worst noise maker of all is the fact that there is a gravel company literally sharing the same property of the hotel. As i write this I'm sitting across from the hotel in a Firestone car repair center and all I have seen since 7am are bulldozers and dump trucks moving gravel. Who mines gravel behind a hotel!?!?
My advice to any traveler driving along the i95 corridor is to keep driving. There are plenty of other exits with hotels. Take rt 8 up to Trumbull or Shelton and you'll be in a much much better place with clean hotels and nice restaurants too.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank CTSoxFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milford hotels
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Milford
Red Roof Inn Milford
#6 of 13 in Milford
312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milford
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Motel 6 Milford
Motel 6 Milford
#8 of 13 in Milford
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Milford
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Milford
Hampton Inn Milford
#4 of 13 in Milford
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven

Address: 1052 Boston Post Rd # I-95, Milford, CT 06460-3543
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Milford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Milford
Price Range: £49 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven 1.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Milford/New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Milford Hotel Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing