We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good to excellent”
Review of Winvian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Winvian
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morris
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good to excellent”
Reviewed 18 October 2007

We stayed at Winvian for 2 nites in the cabin named "Log". We have stayed at a number of inns that are comparable in price range and self described luxury. Winvian is among the best (Twin Farms, Post, The Point). Architecturally the cabins are truly wonderful: both whimsical and comfortable. We stayed in "Log" and enjoyed the cabin. The staff was very friendly and tried to do their best to address our wishes. Unfortunately in some instances they do demonstate a lack of professionalism. This was especially true in trhe dining room where the quality of the staff ranged from excellent to bumbling (although well meaning). The grounds are beautiful and perhaps with the passage of time (I believe it opened this past year) the rough edges will be smoothed.

  • Liked — Architecture setting
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kertrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    38
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
133
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

My husband and I recently visited Winvian and our experience was beyond our expectations. We have visited other resorts of this caliber and were looking for something new to try. We enjoyed every minute of our stay!

We loved our cottage! It had every amenity you could possibly want. The spa was incredible and beautifully decorated. One of our favorite experiences though was the cuisine, which we thought was on par with what you find in top New York City restaurants.

The staff was very accommodating and made us feel right at home. It is the perfect place to visit if you are looking for a very quiet and relaxing getaway.

We will definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fun&luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

My wife surprised me with a birthday week-end at this property. At first, the eccentric nature of the cabins takes a little getting used to because you mistakenly assume that the cabin design is the draw to this inn. However, once you stay for any period of time you begin to realize that the draw to this inn is its extremely high level of service, wonderful food and outstanding staff. Instead of eccentric attention getter, the cabins play second fiddle to the food and service and become eccentric-enchanting. Each cabin is themed, and except for the more extreme themes of treehouse, helicopter and maybe secret society, the other themes are more subtle and elegant. Each is romantic without bing gimmicky. We highly recommend this property - you can escape for a week in one week-end and return entirely relaxed.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2007

My wife and I traveled to Winvian in December for our twenty-fifth wedding anniversary in hopes of marking this occasion with a unique and transporting experience. Our greatest expectations were exceeded. From the moment we arrived, our bodies relaxed, our minds calmed and we felt the harsh world slipping away, replaced by a magical dream of comfort, beauty, and pleasure (our anniversary gift to each other was to turn off our Blackberries for the duration of our stay – highly recommended). After being shown the main building, emulating the 17th century house it is built around, and the exquisite spa, we were taken to our cottage called “Camping”, set at the edge of the many acres forming the grounds of Winvian. True to its name, Camping transported us high into the Adirondacks, with magnificent trees (subtly painted on the inside, real on the outside and beautifully sculpted as the windows), a bath set as a woodland pool, and a magnificent bed set in a hinted at open tent where, at lights out, the milky way bursts forth above, fading gently as sleep and sweet dreams remove the last vestiges of the busy life left outside the gates. All of this in one of the most luxurious and comfort filled cottages or hotel suites in which we have stayed.

While inclined to simply stay “camping” for the duration of our visit, we did explore the surroundings when the urge for dinner arose, and the food served at Winvian was anything but camp cooking. The chef, Chris eddy, spent years working with Alain Ducasse and Daniel Boulud and combines that classical training with his distinctly delicious American vision. The results are fantastic. Seated in one of the several dining rooms, having finished champagne cocktails in front of the roaring fire in one of the many sitting rooms, the chef fully described his creations for the evening, urging us to let him know of any special desires or flavors to make the choices unique to our tastes. The presentation, the service and the food itself were beyond great. Breakfast and lunch proved equally perfect, and so a trip to the spa’s workout room was in order.

The spa has to be one of the most relaxing spaces my wife or I have ever been in; all in keeping with the surroundings, the massage rooms (the cardio machines kept our attention for only so long) were nicely done, and the couples massage room, with the vaulted ceiling, warm fire and soothing music and hands, was perfect for body and soul.

Altogether, the Winvian experience was wonderful, from the staff who were extremely friendly, always helpful and available but never intrusive, to the cottage, to the food to the grounds. Having looked at a number of the other cottages, we realized that if we were not in the mood for “camping” we might instead enjoy a quiet weekend in the Library, getting lost in the second floor gallery of books, or perhaps a few days in Beaver Lodge, built like a dam in the river, complete with cascading water filling the bathtub from the opening in the 12 foot ceiling. For our next visit, however, we are going to take the need for a transporting experience literally and stay in Helicopter with a full size Coast Guard helicopter in the living room (it’s the bar). No matter how many dreams we have of perfect inns around the world, Winvian will be able to fulfill almost all of them – close to home in Litchfield, Ct. We are already looking forward to our 26th, 27th, 28th, etc. anniversaries and a return to the transporting experience of Winvian.

  • Liked — Everything, but probably tree shaped floor to ceiling window and the milkyway on the ceiling tied as the best thing about the cottage.
  • Disliked — nothing was bad; only that we had to leave.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JJDTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2007

We stayed in one of the Winvian cottages, Camping, for a weekend in early January 2007, as their first guests. The design of the cottage is stunning; you feel that you are living in the woods. It is comfortable and secluded. There are lots of gadgets in the room; it was not obvious how to operate some of them (ask for instruction manuals). Although camping is one of the smaller cottages, it was enough for us and our dog loved it.

The food was the highlight of our stay - the chef, Chris Eddy, and the food manager, Paolo Middei, took exquisite care of us. Before every dinner, we picked out wines at the cellar. All the meals were terrific.

  • Liked — stars
  • Disliked — things that are not working yet
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Black Lab Nickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morris
7.1 mi away
Grace Mayflower Inn and Spa
15.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
2.9 mi away
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Waterbury
Hampton Inn Waterbury
#1 of 8 in Waterbury
491 reviews
13.4 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
90 reviews
22.9 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winvian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winvian

Property: Winvian
Address: 155 Alain White Rd, Morris, CT 06763-1419
Region: United States > Connecticut > Morris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Morris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Winvian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Litchfield Hills lies a quiet getaway; Winvian. Set amidst 113-acres and bordering extensive woods and lakes, Winvian was created to recharge and indulge. No less than fifteen architects have designed 18 individualized cottages that combine the whimsical with the traditional, the modern with the historical. Each has enough surprises to lure and charm without detracting from the views, the surrounding nature and the comforts that allow guests to relax and rejuvenate. ~18 individual, custom designed cottages and one (1) master suite~Cottage sizes range from 950 to 1,250 square feet~5,000 full service Spa with 6 individual treatment rooms~Executive Boardroom will full IT and conferencing capability~Celebrations, weddings, parties, events, etc in our Gordon Brown house~AAA 5-Diamond rated restaurant ~AAA 5-Diamond rated hotel~Member of the prestigious Relais & Chateaux society~Conde Nast Top 30 US Small Resort~Surrounded by 4,000 acres of the White Memorial Preserve~Privately owned and fully confidential property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Winvian Hotel Morris
Winvian Resort Morris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing