We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Winvian
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
BW Premier Collection The Litchfield Inn(Litchfield)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$894
US$851
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Inn(Torrington)
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
US$87
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
US$137
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
134
39
23
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
134
39
23
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagessteam showerthe main housecharter oakcouples massageheated floorsfarm to tabletree housecheese platetaste and presentationstar propertyminute couplestasting menulitchfield hillsrabbitanniversary stayjet tub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We visited the winvian for the first time on a short road trip and can't wait to return. Friendly and informative reception when past the secure gates is followed by courteous explanation and tour of each unique property. Had secret society which is great with modern facilities yet unique charm and cool upstairs vaulted bedroom and massive skylight window. Dinner was exceptional and good value. All staff extremely pleasant understated and professional. Seed to table concept produced memorable quail appetizer and excellent gnocchi and lobster seconds. Cheese course excellent. Inclusive breakfast a real pleasant surprise due to the 100% home produced ingredients. Grounds of the resort pleasant and teeming with wildlife. Will return soonest.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We just spent a wonderful night at the Winvian staying in the Library cottage. The entire resort is nestled in the middle of Connecticutt near Litchfield and is very private. Our cottage was very cozy with a lovely fireplace which we used most of our waking hours. There was a Nespresso machine for coffee as well as a refrigerator stocked with sodas and water. There was also a few bottles of named brand liquor and snacks. We definitely plan to return during summer and fall to enjoy the many outdoor activities. I also had a very relaxing Swedish massage at their full service spa. Our stay included a delicious breakfast that included fresh fruit and orange juice, eggs cooked to order, oatmeal, yogurt with their homemade granola and honey from their bee hives. We highly recommend you visit this lovely retreat.

Room Tip: There are individual themed cottages (i.e. artist, golf, marine, library, tree house) that are pictured on their website. All cottages are nestled in the trees with lots of privacy.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NashuaRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We spent one night in the Library Cottage in February. The hotel is a collection of themed cottages located around a large wooded property. The range of themes is impressive and fun.Our cottage was lovely with a beautiful bathroom and living room with fireplace and comfortable bedroom. We had nice treatments at the spa which is beautiful. I guess where is lost points with us was in the details. Our rate included meals and our mini bar was stocked with beverages including some half bottles of wine, what was missing was the opener and a selection of snacks. For what we paid a small basket of snacks would have been a nice touch, particularly because the main lobby was a bit of hike away. Other details were missed like matches to start the fire in the fireplace. It's small details like this that can really disappoint when you are paying almost $2,000 a night... It's annoying to have to call for matches and a corkscrew when they have provided the wine and the wood so it's not like they didn't know they would be needed! We didn't really enjoy dinner. We are very comfortable with fine dining, but we found the selection and the quality of the food just OK..almost too precious and pretentious without an option for something less "fine". We were hungry after a long day and left still hungry after a four course meal and we aren't big eaters. I guess it would actually give it 3.5 stars if that was an option. the room was lovely and fun and would be even nicer in nicer weather but for what they charge they should be closer to the five star standard that would be fair to expect

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jkbmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Being the wonderful wife I am, I surprised husband with a nite at the amazing Helicopter Cottage. Although this was man heaven (there is an actual Sikorsky Coast Guard helicopter INSIDE the cottage that you can lounge & "pilot" in, there was every comfortable amenity (jacuzzi, steam shower, luxe bed, wood burning stove, etc) for a gal. Every staff member/server we encountered was friendly & attentive to our every need, dinner in the quiet, romantic fireplace room was likely the best I've ever had, as was breakfast (truffled scrambled eggs, anyone?). Pricey for sure but worth each & every cent!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gardenweasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

At first blush I was pretty impressed with our "cottage". Accommodations are composed of several theme cottages. Our's was the artists cottage. Architecturally, the property is very interesting because each cottage is designed by a different architect. Unfortunately, that is where the excellence ends. My wife and I found the food to be pretentious but mediocre...especially breakfast.
The thing that really bothered me was the extra charge for delivering our dinner to the cottage because the dining room was closed for a wedding.
For the huge bucks they charge, I thought it was pretty tacky to add a surcharge. There are other top of the line places for less, giving their guests more. Mayflower Inn and Twin Farms are two suggestions. We've stayed at both places and Twin Farms still get the gold star for excellence.
I'm not saying that we didn't enjoy our stay. We did. It was just that for the incredibly expensive weekend I know we could have done a lot better.

Room Tip: Ask about the cottage themes and choose one that you can relate to. For example, if you go with kids, the treehouse or helicopter cottages would be perfect.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews