We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great weekend getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We decided at random to pick a destination 4 hours up the coast from Philly and found Mystic, CT such a great little town and after some research we picked the Steamboat Inn and we could not have been happier with our choice. We were in the Annie Wilcox room with a great view of the river, park and dock. Our room was very clean, smelled great, organized and well put together. The bed was softer than ours at home but regardless we slept very well. We were right across from the kitchen so 7am it was a little noisy but we were up anyway to get ready for breakfast. The breakfast was excellent every morning eggs, bacon, sausage and a variety of pancakes, kiesh, muffins, bagels, needless to say we loved the breakfast and the staff was friendly and happy to help with anything we needed. The cookies that were put out were delicious as well! The location was perfect to all the surrounding restaurants and shops everything was in walking distance which was a big plus for us. All in all we had a positive experience and nothing negative to say at all about the Steamboat Inn, we've been recommending it to family and friends!

Room Tip: 2nd Floor rooms have a better view of the river, if someone docks their boat it will block your view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    107
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
48
416
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jourdanton
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Steamboat is a fabulous inn with lots of character right on the river. Our room upstairs, Marie Gilbert, had a wall of windows overlooking the river and the bridge. It is walking distance to many shops, restaurants, and bars. The room included a canopy bed, frig, and fireplace. It also had a nice seating area with a leather loveseat. The Inn offers discounted tickets for the Seaport Museum and the Argia sailing cruise, even arranging for the tickets. Parking is included and they provide you with a convenient card to scan for exiting. Breakfast included fresh pastries as well as blueberry pancake rolls, sausages, and a choice of breads and fresh fruit salad. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms offer a better view. See the website for room details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAOTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

My GF and I just spent 3 days and 2 nights @ the Inn, our second visit in a year. We arrived Sat around 1 pm and our room was ready shortly thereafter. We parked our car, unloaded and moved right in. This year we chose room 1, the Ariadne and loved it. Upon entering the room, you feel the comfort and quality of the Inn. The bath room has a large vanity/sink and 2 person Jacuzzi...very romantic. 2 windows face the west so there is ample lighting throughout the day.

There is good sized closet and a small cutout area with a table and lamp just past the bath room.

The main room is large enough for a queen sized bed, small dresser, couch and coffee table with plenty of room left over to walk around the room freely.

Along the back wall you will find the fireplace that sits in the middle of the wall with a small counter top to the right. Here you will find wine glasses, a cork screw and small ice chest. To the left the TV sits on a counter with a book case behind it and a nice sized double cabinet underneath which holds a small refrigerator and storage cubby.

The queen sized bed is covered with beautiful, quality linens and enough pillows to satify anyone that likes lots of pillows :) All of which makes for a very comfortable, home like feeling and a great nights sleep.

The Inn is located right on the river and it is near everything. Once you park your car, you really don't have to move it until you head home. It's easy to walk everywhere and if you have a bike, bring it...it's the best way to get around.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBRAY2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the inn. My stepfather buys us a "couples" weekend away every year and we like the Steamboat so much the first time that he did it again this past Xmas! We cannot say enough about the experiences we have had both times. The location is stellar. You can walk to ALL downtown Mystic has to offer, restaurants, boat cruises etc... super short driving distance to the Aquarium and Seaport. The rooms are plush, comfy and luxurious, The bathrooms fabulous, updated and time and attention to details are not missed. Fluffy towels beautiful tile work, 2 person soaking tub etc...we stayed in room 1 Ariadne! For the money this is a definite yes for a romantic getaway without the hassle of Cape Cod traffic... Bed was only a queen but the quality mattress, linens and pillows allowed for a great nights sleep.The Mystic River view was amazing in the morning and the light blocking curtains and shades on the panoramic windows at night also allowed for a deep sleep!

Room Tip: Ariadne is on 2nd floor so no upstairs noise. Also, great Mystic river view from expansive windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is a must hotel not only a fantastic position right on the river but excellent accommodation with large beautiful rooms. A sitting area overlooks the yachts passing and waking to this sight in the mornings is a great start to the day, as is the breakfast.

The staff were friendly,helpful and professional and enriched the whole experience. Anyone staying here will certainly return it was the highlight of our New England tour.

Room Tip: We stayed victoria and will try for it again when we return for another visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape cod
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I just got back from a 3 day get away with my husband for our anniversary. We stayed at the Steamboat Inn right on the river. We had the Marie Gilbert room which was very comfortable but kind of small. (Next time I think I would try for Summer Girl.) I really loved it but first a few minor complaints. I didn't realize i couldn't use the fireplace after May 31 and my tea tasted like coffee, either from the container or the process. But otherwise it is located in an awesome place and was comfortable. The bathroom needed a little updating but the bed was very comfortable and had views of the water from the bed and the couch. The breakfast was totally sufficient for most. Nothing fancy but it was good. Mystic is a very bike friendly town and we took a ride down river rd. upon arrival. Bluff Point State Park was a great place to ride a bike and is right on the ocean with beaches and cool views. Downtown Mystic has some great Restaurants ( we ate at Azu Azu and Riverwalk), great coffee places (especially liked the down an alley with many tea and coffee choices Green Marble Coffeehouse). A great walk and bike riding town with so much to see!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flowersgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Hills, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I recently stayed at the Steamboat Inn. I was very nervous about choosing where to stay because there are so many Inns in Mystic but I was thrilled with my decision. The Inn is beautiful and the room was great. Very clean and comfortable, we loved having a little seating area in the room. Waking up with the view of the river was so relaxing and thankfully the weather was great that weekend so it was really nice, exactly the break that we needed. Breakfast was more than I expected, very fresh and a lot of options. All of the staff was extremely nice and helpful with recommendations of what to do in the area (we were able to get discounted tickets to some of the local attractions through the Inn) or just general information and directions. It felt very homey, we could come back to the Inn in the afternoon after a day of sight seeing and have cookies and hang out before deciding what to do that night. The location is perfect, right on the water and super easy to get around because you are able to park at the Inn and walk all around the town. I absolutely loved it and can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms on the second floor. The first floor is right near the docks on one side an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaraJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.1 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Property: Steamboat Inn
Address: 73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steamboat Inn, offers eleven elegant rooms overlooking the beautiful Mystic River. Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Mystic, Steamboat Inn is just steps from fabulous shopping and fine dining; just minutes away are The Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Foxwoods Resort, Mohegan Sun plus four wineries within 15 minutes of the Inn. Each of our rooms are uniquely decorated with antiques and individually climate controlled. The rooms have private baths with single or double whirlpool tubs. Six of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces. Enjoy breathtaking river views from ten of our rooms. Complimentary wireless internet is offered throughout the Inn. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning in our common room or stop by in the evening for our delicious cookies and sherry! Awarded "most unique setting" two years in a row by Llannier Bed and Breakfast - chosen by the guests of over 8,500 B&B's worldwide. Be among the guests who visit Steamboat year after year, what are you waiting for come explore Steamboat Inn today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing