We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We just spent 2 days at the Steamboat Inn with good friends. What a lovely place to stay. The rooms are lovely ,comfortable and inviting. The common space is so perfect for sitting over a glass of sherry (served every day at 4 along with home made cookies!). The breakfasts were amazing. Many choices and all delicious. The location, right in the center of the town and at the same time on the river, is perfect. We will go back!

Room Tip: We loved "Summer Girl" but all the rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    108
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
49
432
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was my 3rd time at the Steamboat Inn, but I hadn't been to Mystic in years. Previously I stayed here with my husband, this time I went traveled with my best friend for a girls getaway for a couple days. We had a wonderful time: our room (Victoria) was clean and spacious, with a comfortable bed and we got top notch service and recommendations for local restaurants (including making reservations for us) and activities from the manager Sandra, assistant manager Kristen and other staff member Amy. They were all pleasant, professional and responsive. I look forward to returning again, and this time I won't wait so long to get back to Mystic!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Location was perfect to walk to all the great restaurants in Mystic, plus it is right on the water. We took a beautiful roomon the first floor and if you are like me, I was uncomfortable with leaving our windows open at night due to a boardwalk between our room and the water. Even though its probably safe and they never have issues, I'll probably try and get a room on the second floor next time as I like to sleep with the windows open, especially on the water.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Raebug00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraC970, Manager at Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Steamboat Inn. We are thrilled your stay was pleasant, and we hope that you enjoyed taking in the sights of Downtown Mystic. We look forward to welcoming you back to Steamboat Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax County, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We would highly recommend this location and resort to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation. The Valiant room was a perfect romantic getaway and the hospitality was exceptional, including the free breakfast and Sherry and cookies in the evening. This was the highlight of our first anniversary trip to celebrate our love for each other!! Thanks much, Shannon and Sparky!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanacooksey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The place is located in the heart of downtown Mystic and has the best location for being right next to everything and being on the water. The room was really big, very clean and had a great view. The staff and management were super nice and helpful. Free cookies also helped. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in the Victoria room. It was very comfortable and spacious, sitting right on the Mystic River. The innkeeper was very kind and gracious, and we greatly enjoyed exploring this lovely, historic little town. Falling asleep with the sound of the river right outside was quite wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Absolutely a wonderful stay. Took my wife, daughter in law, son and granddaughter to Mystic for a one night two day experience. The high light was supposed to be the aquarium but the Steamboat Inn was also very enjoyable. Clean rooms, delicious breakfast, beautiful views and courteous staff made the experience most memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.1 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
691 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,024 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
816 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Property: Steamboat Inn
Address: 73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steamboat Inn, offers eleven elegant rooms overlooking the beautiful Mystic River. Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Mystic, Steamboat Inn is just steps from fabulous shopping and fine dining; just minutes away are The Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Foxwoods Resort, Mohegan Sun plus four wineries within 15 minutes of the Inn. Each of our rooms are uniquely decorated with antiques and individually climate controlled. The rooms have private baths with single or double whirlpool tubs. Six of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces. Enjoy breathtaking river views from ten of our rooms. Complimentary wireless internet is offered throughout the Inn. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning in our common room or stop by in the evening for our delicious cookies and sherry! Awarded "most unique setting" two years in a row by Llannier Bed and Breakfast - chosen by the guests of over 8,500 B&B's worldwide. Be among the guests who visit Steamboat year after year, what are you waiting for come explore Steamboat Inn today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing