We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Steamboat Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steamboat Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steamboat Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a very memorable stay at the Steamboat Inn over the 4th of July weekend. We stayed in the Marie Gilbert room, on the second floor, with six windows overlooking the river and bridge. The room was well designed with many thoughtful touches, especially the bathroom. Breakfast is included in the rate and was very good. Service was also good, and everyone was very friendly. I would recommend the inn to anyone staying in the Mystic area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    106
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
46
414
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We have stayed at the Steamboat Inn several times and have never been disappointed. The Inn is located right on the wharf next to the drawbridge. Each room has its own personality and style. Our favorites are the Kathleen and the Carolyn. Each one has a sitting area, a kitchenette and a luxurious bathroom. The complimentary breakfast is wonderful: bacon, eggs, fruit, pastries, cereal and more. The afternoon sherry and cookies are a real treat. The staff is beyond helpful and courteous. You can do as much or as little as you want: visit the shops, the Seaport or the Aquarium or just sit on the wharf and enjoy a book and the view.

Room Tip: There are several pictures of each room on the website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We enjoyed out stay a lot with great service and a cozy atmosphere. A bit prizy but worth it all for lazy nice summer days by the waterfront, shopping and excursions. The bridge made a bit noise but som of us loved watching it open and close. We want to go again!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LivKalland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Steamboat is a unique place and it has to do with its location. Being right in town and literally 20 yards from main street and the bridge, as well as overlooking the docks, what more can one ask? Probably nothing as long as one is aware that when cars cross the bridge, noise is made. Because it is close to the main strip, it can get quite loud on weekend nights from late night partiers lingering. Otherwise, the rest of the establishment is traditional and has very good service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank persnicketie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Loved staying at the Steamboat Inn! My boyfriend and I were there over Memorial Day Weekend, 2014 and stayed in the Anne Wilcox Room, #4. We were a little concerned when we arrived as it is across the hall from the Common Room but it was never a problem. We never heard a peep until about 9am in there which was fine by us.The room had a great view of the boats coming and going through the drawbridge which was always fun to watch. The staff was welcoming and accommodating especially giving us the "inside tip" of the best restaurants around and times to go. Breakfast was a delicious layout each morning but the fruit filled crepe was definitely my favorite! The location is obviously the best in town but that is just the start of the greatness of staying there. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fireant629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Room #9 "Early Dawn" needs a dehumidifier. Room smells wet & stale. Also, the carpet was stained & needs to be replaced. For that price, it should be pristine. Location is what u pay for and of course that is lovely

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank paddycake1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandraC970, Manager at Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
All our rooms are individually climate controlled along with large windows that open to the River breeze. We are constantly updating furniture, rugs ect. in all our rooms and our Housekeeping Department is meticulous in all areas. I do wish this guest had voiced these concerns during their stay, I would of most certainly addressed them immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattapoisett, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We just spent 2 days at the Steamboat Inn with good friends. What a lovely place to stay. The rooms are lovely ,comfortable and inviting. The common space is so perfect for sitting over a glass of sherry (served every day at 4 along with home made cookies!). The breakfasts were amazing. Many choices and all delicious. The location, right in the center of the town and at the same time on the river, is perfect. We will go back!

Room Tip: We loved "Summer Girl" but all the rooms were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.0 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steamboat Inn

Property: Steamboat Inn
Address: 73 Steamboat Wharf, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steamboat Inn, offers eleven elegant rooms overlooking the beautiful Mystic River. Located in the heart of Historic Downtown Mystic, Steamboat Inn is just steps from fabulous shopping and fine dining; just minutes away are The Mystic Seaport, Mystic Aquarium, Foxwoods Resort, Mohegan Sun plus four wineries within 15 minutes of the Inn. Each of our rooms are uniquely decorated with antiques and individually climate controlled. The rooms have private baths with single or double whirlpool tubs. Six of our rooms have wood burning fireplaces. Enjoy breathtaking river views from ten of our rooms. Complimentary wireless internet is offered throughout the Inn. Enjoy a full breakfast each morning in our common room or stop by in the evening for our delicious cookies and sherry! Awarded "most unique setting" two years in a row by Llannier Bed and Breakfast - chosen by the guests of over 8,500 B&B's worldwide. Be among the guests who visit Steamboat year after year, what are you waiting for come explore Steamboat Inn today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Steamboat Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing