We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique hotel near the Mystic River and drawbridge”
Review of The Whaler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Whaler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The hotel is an old historic construction and the rooms quaint and quirky. We stayed in a small queen room on the 3rd floor in the main building and it was perfect for the two of us. The bathroom was a bit tight, reminiscent of the cute old family owned hotels in Europe. Might not have been good for a large person uncomfortable with stairs, didn't see an elevator. Someone expecting the predictability and space of a national chain modern hotel would not be satisfied. With that said we loved this hotel for our romantic anniversary getaway. The hotel staff was very gracious and hospitable, helping us with every need. Excellent complimentary breakfast.

Easy walking to the best Mystic sites and great restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRealFranko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

645 - 651 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2011

We had room #38. It was soooooo beautiful and cozy! Bathroom was spotless, Decor was vintage and oh so romantic. I believe this is a registered historical hotel, therefore it is understood why there are no elevators. If you are disabled, it is advisable to get a room on the ground floor of any of their properties. Another drawback (and somewhat of a disappointment) was the television, it was the old fashioned kind, with a built-in VCR. No plasma TV's. Hmmm..... Maybe the hotel thinks that their TV's was are antiques. Anyway, we took a few DVD's to watch in our room, but as I said, the TV only had a VCR.
In any event, I would highly recommend this hotel. All of their properties are adjacent to the original hotel and looked quite charming as well.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TWINZEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

The review disappeared so the short version is: the bathroom is primitive, the closet is a few exposed theft-proof hangars, no chain-lock, wet stairs to the second floor. I couldn't get the room dark, it sounded like kids were playinng tag on the thumping wood floors and car lock horns were overly audible. Worst - the attached restaurant could seat me for dinner only at 5:30 or 9. I bought a sandwich at the nearby health food store. The hotel is downtown and not by the highway ramp.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank thirdbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whalersinn, Front Office Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2011

Thank you for taking a moment to let us know about your experience at the Inn. I can only presume that you were located in an outside building during less than pleasant weather due to your mention of “wet stairs”. I apologize that your room was not to your expectations. The Inn prides itself on providing a clean and comfortable environment for our guests. Without knowing your room's location, I can only guess that you were in a family friendly building. This may have explained why the sounds of small children playing may have been heard. However, the front desk is available around the clock to respond to any complaints of unnecessary noise.
In regards to dining on-site; unfortunately the availability of dining times are not within the Inns control. We will do everything possible to make a reservation for you, but depending on the day of the week, restaurants can book up very quickly. Bravo is the only 4-Star restaurant in downtown, open to the public and one of the most popular! A “grocery store” sandwich is just one of the many options; over 20 other restaurants are all within walking distance. The Inn’s staff would have been more than happy to provide you with a suggestion list, sample menu book or even call around for availability for you.
I do hope that you would give the Inn another try in the future. We are constantly making upgrades to the Inn and it’s guestrooms to provide a more superior experience for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

My husband and I love spending our Summer vacation in Mystic. We have been staying at the Whalers for 10 years now. We have stayed in many different rooms at the Inn - each has its charm. The staff at the inn is always friendly and helpful and over the years have made us feel like we are at home and very much like family when we stay there. The Whalers is in the Heart of Mystic and within walking distance of stores and great food. Bravo Bravo located downstairs from the inn has wonderful food. We never get tired of watching the boats on the river or watching the famous Bascule Bridge open and close ! We have already made our reservations for our vacation and are looking forward to our trip !

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank audden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2011

Mystic and the Whalers Inn have been a wonderful part of our lives over the past 8 years.
We visit Mystic three to four times a year and The Whalers Inn is the only place we stay. We have so many wonderful memories of daytime walks down Main Street and evenings filled with great food and libations, lantern tours at Christmas and wine festivals in the summer. The rooms are warm, welcoming and meticulously kept. The staff at the Whalers Inn are consummate professionals and always very friendly, so much so that we feel like we are returning home every visit.

Over the years, we have recommended the Whalers Inn to many satisfied family and friends visiting Mystic. The downtown location can't be beat, don't miss out on this great inn!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jands22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Our experiences at this Inn have always been exceptional, a home away from home. We visit Mystic often and have chosen The Whaler's Inn over any other. The staff conducts themselves as being professional, friendly and always accommodating. The rooms are Impeccably clear and comfortable. Continental breakfast can not be compared to the typical. It offers many wonderful selections, which caters to all age groups. At every check-in the front desk always asks "If there is anything we can do for you,please ask." I have seen luggage being carried by "The Girls" at the front desk, to the guests rooms and special requests being fulfilled.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nellie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2011

First time at this delightfully quaint Inn in downtown Mystic. The staff was professional, efficient and friendly. The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. The continental breakfast was superb, with a wide selection of breakfast treats. Downtown Mystic provided a wide selection of dining choices, shopping and entertainment and the Mystic Seaport Museum is within walking distance of the Inn. We would highly recommend The Whaler's Inn to anyone visiting southeastern Ct.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sailor32345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
924 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,167 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
775 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler's Inn

Address: 20 E Main St, Mystic, CT 06355-2646
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#3 Business Hotel in Mystic
#4 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range: £93 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whaler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noted for having the best location in town, The Whaler's Inn is a charming historic hotel situated in the heart of Downtown Mystic. The Bascule Bridge, specialty shops, historic homes, fine restaurants, and lively pubs are just steps away! In addition, the world famous Mystic Seaport Museum of America and the Sea as well as the Mystic Aquarium are around the corner. Comprised of five buildings, the hotel offers newly renovated rooms in the Main Inn and the Noank House, along with luxury guest rooms in the Hoxie House which feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and views of the Mystic River - perfect for a romantic weekend away. The Inn also features family-friendly suites that offer bunkbeds for the kids and conference space for our business travelers. Centrally located 2-miles from I-95 and within walking distance of Amtrak, The Whaler's Inn is easily accessible from both Boston and New York City and is an ideal New England escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Whaler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler`s Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing