We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I picked a winner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Whaler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Whaler's Inn
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Queensbury, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I picked a winner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

My two adult daughters and I wanted to get away on a "girls weekend" without driving more than 3-4 hours from home. None of us had ever visited Mystic before, so the decision was left to me to book a place. After researching, I found the Whaler's Inn and made a two night reservation. Well, all three of us could not have been happier with the accommodations. The room was well appointed, clean and the staff went out of their way to be helpful and cheerful. I was impressed as to how well our room was cleaned and restocked with enough towels, shampoo, soaps for all three of us. We had a delightful breakfast on the house each morning and had a totally wonderful dinner at Bravo, Bravo, a restaurant in the main building (they are not part of the Whaler's Inn, but evidently rent space there). All, in all, I have nothing negative to say about the Whaler's Inn, only accolades. We will return!

Room Tip: We traveled in peek season, so the rates were in keeping with peek season rates in any tourist town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnierider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    236
    64
    19
    10
See reviews for
105
384
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

Great location. Right on the main street of Mystic. Parked the car and we were able to walk everywhere. The room was great and the staff could not have been friendlier and more helpful. If we return to Mystic we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffyandasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trumbull, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

You were made to feel at home. The staff was like family. Coffee was brewing at all hours of the night. The room was spotless and extremely comfortable. You were in walking distajce to everything. The breakfast was disappointing frozen danish, bagels and frozen blueberries for your cereal.
There is an outstanding restaurant on site that is packed at night. We ate there 2 nights and were blown away by the cuisine.

Room Tip: Clean well decorated- bathrooms clean and updated.- Free coffee and internet- Breakfast needs help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Riccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Pro: great location
Cons: stayed in the Morgan Suite for 1 night- final cost $297. The suite is dirty. For example the tub surround fiberglass insert joints were moldy. The window AC unit is circa 1986 and outputs a horrible musty smell. Not to mention very loud when it kicks on, so don't expect to sleep through the night. The bedspread and pillow shams look like it had not been washed in years, and you can only imagine what germs are growing and how those germs got there. I'd like to add that by no means a germphobe.
While the location is great it is not worth the money. You're better off going back to 95 staying in a hotel there. The room is equivalent to a 1980's Motel 6, which cost is roughly a third of The Whalers Inn. I will not stay here again, and would recommend it to an enemy, much less a friend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvl4advntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC Metro
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

The Whaler's Inn is located in the heart of Mystic. It is in walking distance to the shops and even the Seaport if you don't mind the 10 minute or so stroll. It has a great location near some really good restaurants and ice cream shops. My husband and I stayed with our daughter in the Noank House part of the hotel, considered the "family" part. While the accomodations sufficed for our short stay, there were a few things that could have been improved. First was that the wall AC unit in our room was extremely noisy, to the point where it was hard to sleep. Then the location on the main street seemed nice at first, but the 2nd night when it wasn't raining we realized just how loud it could be with cars and horns and the sound of the drawbridge going up every 40 minutes. The bathroom was on the small side with a stall shower and the toilet located in a "stall" like structure with walls on the 3 sides. This certainly wouldn't be comfortable accomodations for anyone bigger than "average" size. The bed was rather hard and the pillows rather flat and worn. The breakfast was exactly as described - truly continental breakfast. There was an assortment of muffins and bagels, cereal and yogurt, coffee juice, and tea. But that was pretty much it.

We were happy to stay here for the location, as we didn't spend much time in the room, and other options of staying in chain hotels are a 10 minute drive away (meaning you cannot walk to downtown Mystic from them). The room itself was a bit worn and not as comfortable as I would have hoped for the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJsmomNYCMetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleton On Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We have stayed at the Whalers Inn a few times and you can't beat the location. We stayed in the Hoxie House Room 73. This was our first time in this building. Though a great room and great views the bed was the worst bed to have when you have a partner that is up a trillion times a night. The sqeaking of this bed was HORRIBLE. This is truly my only complaint. I love this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBOUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I stayed at this this hotel for a weekend with my husband, as we were attending a friend's wedding. Since we took the train in, the Whaler's Inn was the perfect location - right in the charming town of Mystic. Convenient to walk to all the shops and restaurants. The decor is more country than modern, the bed was very hard, but the size of the room was decent. The shower was very small. Complimentary breakfast is served near the lobby. Although lacking in some amenities offered by larger chain hotels, the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhatMickyEats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler's Inn

Property: The Whaler's Inn
Address: 20 E Main St, Mystic, CT 06355-2646
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mystic
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#4 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whaler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noted for having the best location in town, The Whaler's Inn is a charming historic hotel situated in the heart of Downtown Mystic. The Bascule Bridge, specialty shops, historic homes, fine restaurants, and lively pubs are just steps away! In addition, the world famous Mystic Seaport Museum of America and the Sea as well as the Mystic Aquarium are around the corner. Comprised of five buildings, the hotel offers newly renovated rooms in the Main Inn and the Noank House, along with luxury guest rooms in the Hoxie House which feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and views of the Mystic River - perfect for a romantic weekend away. The Inn also features family-friendly suites that offer bunkbeds for the kids and conference space for our business travelers. Centrally located 2-miles from I-95 and within walking distance of Amtrak, The Whaler's Inn is easily accessible from both Boston and New York City and is an ideal New England escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Whaler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler`s Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing