We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Whaler's Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$80
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Mystic Groton(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$160
US$144
Residence Inn
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$171
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Mystic)
US$110
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (790)
Filter reviews
790 results
Traveller rating
425
264
69
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
264
69
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoxie housecontinental breakfastgreat locationlocal bakerybravo bravomain buildingwithin walking distancenew englandshops and restaurantsno elevatorthird floorcorner roommystic rivermiddle of townoyster housewalked everywherechocolate chip cookies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 790 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We love the location and it's right next door to Bravo Bravo, which is a great restaurant... the staff are super-friendly and the rooms are comfortable (not luxurious, but comfortable).

The only real problem we have with the Whaler's is the inexcusably poor breakfast... it's worse than what you get at a Hampton Inn.... really bad.... for the price we'd like to see them upping the ante and doing a freshly cooked breakfast for their guests...

Would definitely recommend and will continue to visit every year, but you should expect to eat out for breakfast ;-)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whalersinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2012

The Whaler's Inn appreciates all the reviews it receives on Tripadvisor. However, this review appeared to be a bit familiar. This same writer placed a very similar statement last year in to which I responded.
When I read this most recent review, I felt the need to contact the guests directly. I informed them that I did respond last year and explained that it is unfortunate but we cannot legally serve a hot/full breakfast. It goes beyond the regulations the Town of Stonington and State of CT have placed on our particular establishment. We do continue to enhance our continental breakfast with fresh fruit, yogurts and many more healthy options as they become available to us.
The writer appreciated the personal response and very graciously said "thank you for reaching out " to them. They apologized but they had not seen the response from last year. They also stated that they had simply "passed by the breakfast room” in the morning and must have missed some of the items I had discussed with them.
We look forward to welcoming them back to the Inn next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We reserved two king rooms about 2 months prior to our 08/04/12 to 08/10/12 trip.

General:
a) Whaler’s Inn consists of four or five buildings around a central parking lot. The location is excellent, within walking distance of pretty much everything (see photos).
b) Breakfast is decent, consisting of fruit, muffins/pastry, bread items, cereal, etc. (see photos).
c) Usually in the evening, cookies are put out for the guest.

Staff:
No complaints, very friendly attentive employees. Although the manager/owner had to tell the check-out clerk they accepted AARP discount for my parent’s room.

Room:
Comfortable, more than adequate. Beware – there isn’t a mini refrigerator nor a microwave in the rooms at the Noank House; but we really didn’t miss not having these. Also, the bathroom (shower only) exhaust fan is pretty loud when the bathroom light is on (see photos).

Area Restaurants (1 to 5 scale)
Abbott’s Lobster in the Rough (3.5)
Ancient Mariner (3.0)
Cove Fish Market (4.5)
Green Marble Coffee House, Peacock Alley (coffee 4.5, espresso 1.0)
Margarita’s Mexican (3.0)
Mystic Drawbridge Ice Cream (coffee 3.0, espresso 3.0, ice cream 4.5, sandwiches 4.5)
Mystic Ice Cream and Sweet Shop (sweets 4.5, espresso 5.0, ice cream 4.5)
Mystic Pizza (3.0) [yeah, it’s famous and so-what]

Attractions:
Mystic Seaport (4.0) [we drove, but easy 20 min walk from motel]

A special nod to the Posh Body and Bath. The counter person (owner-??) was very helpful in recommending things in the area. She was very warm and friendly. Shop is just around the corner from the motel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeralde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This was our last stop on a long trip, and having been disappointed in our previous hotel in Maine, I was really looking forward to a lovely New England inn. Unfortunately, we stayed in the Stonington House, and it was pretty much a motel room, with no light. The beds were not that comfortable, and the air conditioner was incredibly loud. Looking at one of the pictures posted, I realize that there is a part of the inn which is beautiful, but unfortunately, they will not allow families with children in it.

The staff was lovely, and helpful when I could not manage to log in on their wireless. Breakfast was a good continental breakfast, with a delicious coffee cake, bagels, eggs to put on them, some Canadian bacon, and cereal, yogurt, etc. Coffee and tea are always available, which was very nice. The location downtown is fabulous, allowing you to walk to restaurants, shopping, etc.

I would have loved to have loved this inn, but the motel branch just was not what I was expecting.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, you will be unable to stay in what looks like a beautiful inn. I am not sure about the section someone else stayed in, but The Stonington House was pretty much a nice motel, and the room (on the bottom floor) was very dark.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This was our 4th stay at the Whaler's Inn and we will keep coming back. The staff is always welcoming and the rooms are always comfortable. The location cannot be beat for walking or driving to and from via Route 1.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so pack smart or ask for 1st or 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

A charming inn right in the middle of everything. The rooms were well appointed. King size bed was comfortable with a couch in the sitting area for lounging. We wished there was a refrigerator to make the room perfect for our needs. Directly across the street is the mystic river park where we danced to live music then headed to S&P Oyster Restaurant for dinner. All shops are in walking distance and the vibe is fun, quaint, and a bit funky all at the same time. We will definitely return.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews