We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Whaler's Inn
Nearby Hotels
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Mystic Groton(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$160
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Mystic)
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$136
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$62
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$181
US$171
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Mystic(Mystic)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveller rating
427
264
69
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
264
69
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoxie housecontinental breakfastgreat locationlocal bakerybravo bravomain buildingwithin walking distancenew englandshops and restaurantsno elevatorthird floorcorner roommystic rivermiddle of townoyster housewalked everywherechocolate chip cookies
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
502 - 507 of 792 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The location is nice. You can walk to some good restaurants and it's nice to walk or sit along the Mystic River. The staff was extremely friendly. They also offer discounted tickets to Mystic Seaport so I saved $4 each.

As for the hotel itself: The bed was very uncomfortable and neither of us slept well either night. The pillows are lousy, the mattress sags in the middle, etc. In fact, the entire hotel sags. Walking down the hallways and in the room felt a bit like a funhouse because the floors and walls slope and lean at odd angles. Also when heading upstairs there's a musty smell and the carpeting needs to be replaced on the stairs and hallways. It looked really dirty. The room seemed clean enough, though it could probably also stand to have the carpet cleaned or replaced. The extra lock on the door in Room 25 was broken so I couldn't use it.

The breakfast in the hotel is limited for a gluten-intolerant guest (lots of breads and other baked goods) and ends at 10am. We missed breakfast the first morning because we slept in. Walking around looking for a place to get breakfast was disapointing. There's a dumpy bakery across the street and a less dumpy bagel shop around the corner.

I think I'd stay at one of the large chain hotels nearer to the aquarium next time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. The Main Inn (where your room was located) is a historic New England Inn built in the early 1900’s. We have made the decision to embrace the historic nature of this building (sloping hallways, creaky lobby floors and all!) Many of the guests return year after year due to our unlikeness to the “chain hotels” you mention. We are happy that you did find your room to be clean. Our housekeeping staff is held to a very high standard and we are consistently being applauded for our cleanliness. I can assure you that over this winter season we have made plans for making needed upgrades. In regards to the breakfast, we apologize that we cannot offer foods to accommodate all dietary needs. We do offer a variety of whole and cut fruits, yogurt, hardboiled eggs, cheese and V-8 juice for those that cannot have breads or baked goods.
The Inn is comprised of five different buildings. The Hoxie House is the newest of our buildings, built in 2002. This building houses 8 Luxury guest rooms with whirlpool tub, fireplace and water view. I would encourage you to reserve a room in this building if you would like to try the Inn again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Visited Mystic Seaport and stayed at The Whalers Inn due to its proximity to downtown. Room was adequate, free parking and WIFI, nice continental breakfast. Happy Hour at the adjoining restaurant Bravo Bravo with outdoor street side seating was a nice way to spend some time enjoying drinks and an appetizer after touring Mystic Seaport.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sub-Sailor-634B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We hope that you will select the Inn again the next time you’re in Downtown Mystic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

"My husband, 2 yr old son and I stayed here during a recent holiday to New England. We just fell in love with Mystic and The Whaler's inn is a true asset to this lovely seaside village. The rooms are tastefully furnished & decorated and provide for every comfort. Beds were super comfy. This inn really exceeded our expectations! It is FAR better than many 4* hotels we stayed in. Great central location - just a stones throw from the shops, restaurants, river, drawbridge etc. Hope we get the opportunity to stay here again one day!"

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clint E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you very much for the great review! I am so happy that we exceeded your family’s expectations! There is nothing more rewarding than hearing from our guests how much they enjoy our Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed at the Whaler Inn and found the staff to be excellent, the room beautiful, clean and perfect. Since it was October the draw bridge was quiet, but we had a perfect view of it and the river. We loved it and the price was very reasonable. We will go back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtsnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your experience! We’re so glad you had such a pleasant experience and look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Absolutely loved the location, great fun walking over drawbridge to shops, Mystic Pizza, and ice cream. It was also a pleasant walk to the lovely Mystic Seaport Museum ( make sure you take the harbor cruise). The hotel staff was welcoming,helpful and efficient and the complimentary breakfast ,while not exciting offered enough choices. We stayed in the main house, the feel was perfect New England seaside. Our room, #36 was not at all tired (as noted by other reviewers), it had a lovely country vibe, solid furnishings, spacoius and even a peak of the harbor. BUT, oh my the bed, the mattress was mushy and sunk in the middle, my husband and I woke each morning with new aches and pains.Thankfully, the freindly staff ,the area and all it has to offer, quickly eased our discomfort .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babs7512016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time share your lovely comments. Having a guest share their experience at the inn is a great compliment. It is so nice to hear that you were so pleased with our staff. We strive to offer a superior level of service and yet be “down to earth” and easy to connect with. As you said, the Inn does have that cozy seaside New England feel to it. I do however apologize for the uncomfortable night’s sleep you had. Of course we want every bit of your experience to be superb. We will be sure to check the mattress and take necessary steps to assure all guests have a quality sleep. Please know that in the future if any part of your stay in uncomfortable, the staff is here to help. Thank you again and we do hope to welcome you back to the Inn sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews