We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short stop for 1 night”
Review of The Whaler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Whaler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Idar-Oberstein, Deutschland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“short stop for 1 night”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We had a lovley room, bit loud in the morning (street) but for 1 night it was perfect.
The bed was good and the bathroom very clean. Only thing I did not like was the
breakfast, but at least, there was one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oldie4356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    252
    66
    19
    10
See reviews for
119
418
23
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were visiting Mystic as tourists (we're former residents), and stayed at the Whalers Inn. The location is great for walking, and the Inn is clean and unique. Our room overlooked the Mystic River and had a nice gas fireplace. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Their included daily breakfast was amazing and fresh. A great selection of fresh pastries, bagels, fruits and cereals. Better than any chain hotel by far. The only small negative is that there are no elevators, so be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs. All in all, the best place to stay if you are visiting Mystic. The general manager- Richard- has been there for years and his passion for a guest's comfortable stay is evident.

Room Tip: Stay in the Hoxie House for a great view and a spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooseconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

If you are traveling with kid(s), like we do, the choices of places of stay are somewhat limited, as I found out trying to book at local B&Bs; most of them seem to cater to couples on "romantic getaways" and will not take kids. On our quick vacation we wanted to stay at a place that had more character than the usual hotel chains, so I was lucky to found the Whaler's Inn. We had a very pleasant one-evening stay there!

The double room was newly renovated, immaculate, and tastefully decorated in shades of blue and white; and the bathroom was spacious and with high-end touches: subway tiles, grand pedestal sink, and bath-sized walk-in shower. We didn't get much of a view, but the Inn was at a close walking distance to the bridge and Mystic Pizza, and a short drive to the Mystic Seaport and the Aquarium. Booking by phone we got better rates than were posted online, plus a promotional discount through a virtual scratch-ticket game on their web site. Free WiFi and discounted tickets to the Aquarium or the Seaport were a welcome bonus. On the minus side, the lobby and breakfast room could use updating. So: unmatched location, beautiful rooms, pleasant staff, and added perks, make for a great family-friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LaPiv0ine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Nice accommodation, pleasant and friendly staff, accom more 3 star but very comfortable. Breakfast included but would be enhanced by having real cutlery rather than paper plates and disposable cutlery. The restaurant attached is outstanding and a real highlight of our trip. Worth booking in advance.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank rebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Whaler's Inn for one night as we headed towards home from Maine. It was a beautiful historic hotel within walking distance to all of the local shops and restaurants. Our room was neat and clean, with a comfortable bed. We went to an Irish pub to celebrate St. Patrick's Day with a few pints. To my dismay, I awoke the next day without my coat. The staff at the front desk went above and beyond the call of duty to help me retrieve my coat (and the car keys and cell phone which were in the pocket.) They called around to local businesses and even walked the streets of town in search of my coat, which they eventually were able to locate. They did this with smiles and a good sense of humor, which really helped ease my anxiety. They were also knowledgeable about how we could have a replacement key made if we were not able to find the coat. As a bonus, while I sat in the lobby waiting for news of my coat, fresh warm chocolate chip cookies were served. Yum!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breezinthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for posting your message of gratitude! I will be sure to share this with the entire staff. I'm so glad we were able to find your jacket before you had left to get the replacement key! It was a pleasure meeting you both and stop by to see us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Whaler's Inn. We had booked the Cozy Queen room in the Main Building which was lovely decorated and spacious. Unfortunately we had a terrible night of sleep as the old heating system made a lot of noise during the night. Additionally, we woke up to a very disturbing smell in the morning. We immediately talked to the staff who was very helpful and offered us to change to another Cozy Queen room in the 1865 house. The room was much smaller but we did not have any problems with noise or smell anymore.
Unfortunately, when we arrived we learnt that the gym was not available due to refurbishment in the Inn. this was very disappointing and should have been pointed out when we made the reservation. However, the Inn offers free parking and internet which is great. There is no elevator, make sure to take a room on the first floor if you can't walk stairs or carry your luggage up the stairs.
Whaler's Inn is in a great location and within walking distance of restaurants and shops. The hotel offers a continental breakfast which included breakfast sandwiches, bagels, toast, eggs, waffles, muffins, cake, scones, coffee, tea and juice.
We also tried the Bravo Bravo Restaurant at the Whaler's Inn which was absolutely delicious and we recommend the tomato fettuccine with seafood.
Overall a nice trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maple_leaf_alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for posting your review of the inn. I apologize for the heating system causing you an unpleasant night sleep. I am pleased to hear the staff was able to move you to a more suitable room. We have been making many upgrades to the Inn over this past winter. I apologize that the fitness room was being utilized at the time of your stay. We hope that you can visit us in the future and try one of our newly renovated Stonington House rooms. It has an all new central heating /air conditioning system! Thank you again- Nicole.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is a great Inn! Very clean, updated, nice staff! Great continental breakfast, super location, right downtown. Plenty of parking. The bed was a bit uncomfortable…a little too firm and the bed frame squeaked every time you turned over. The linens were very nice but were washed in a strong-scented laundry detergent. (We're allergic to artificial scents.) The jacuzzi tub was a great highlight. I recommend this Inn!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drums324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whalersinn, Public Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed the inn’s complimentary continental breakfast, parking and perfect downtown location. I apologize if the laundry detergent was too strong. We do try to use low-fragrance or fragrance-fee as much as possible.
I will be sure to pass along the many compliments to the staff. -Thank you again, Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,055 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
698 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
836 reviews
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler's Inn

Property: The Whaler's Inn
Address: 20 E Main St, Mystic, CT 06355-2646
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mystic
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#4 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whaler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noted for having the best location in town, The Whaler's Inn is a charming historic hotel situated in the heart of Downtown Mystic. The Bascule Bridge, specialty shops, historic homes, fine restaurants, and lively pubs are just steps away! In addition, the world famous Mystic Seaport Museum of America and the Sea as well as the Mystic Aquarium are around the corner. Comprised of five buildings, the hotel offers newly renovated rooms in the Main Inn and the Noank House, along with luxury guest rooms in the Hoxie House which feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and views of the Mystic River - perfect for a romantic weekend away. The Inn also features family-friendly suites that offer bunkbeds for the kids and conference space for our business travelers. Centrally located 2-miles from I-95 and within walking distance of Amtrak, The Whaler's Inn is easily accessible from both Boston and New York City and is an ideal New England escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Whaler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler`s Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing