We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super sweet staff!”
Review of The Whaler's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Whaler's Inn
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Everybody I interacted with at this hotel was super nice. For example, I had a bad connection when I made the reservation and the desk staffer had to take down my information several times, but she was very pleasant, patient and cheerful about it. Also, we were waffling about whether to stay an extra night (due to bad weather) and the same sweet, cheerful staff member was very helpful about rates and availability, with no pressure on us to decide -- was very understanding about our weather dilemma.

The hotel restaurant was also lovely and the staff there was extra friendly as well.

The front desk has discounted tickets to the Aquarium, and in every way they're willing to help you plan your stay. A friendly face makes such a difference. The rooms aren't super fancy, but they're clean, and they clean them promptly in the morning.

It's just a nice little place, and it's easy to walk to downtown and historic Mystic from the Inn. It's also convenient to a toy store, a health food store, and two very good restaurants across the street (and more restaurants are a short walk away, across the drawbridge on the main drag in Mystic).

Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
Thank almond7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

652 - 658 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2011

Have stayed here often and always have a wonderful time. Location and views are amazing. This has to be one of our favorite spots on our Bed and Breakfast tour.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Such a warm and inviting property. Very close to everything - right next to a cozy restaurant Bravo Bravo AND a fabulous jewelry store, Northern Light Gems!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitkatSouthJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We stayed at The Whaler's Inn while visiting the seaport and aquarium with our 10 year old. We travel a lot, and don't like cheap chain hotels. The things we liked about the Inn-it really was right in the downtown, a stone's throw from the exciting(for kids) drawbridge and all the cute little shops and restaurants. The room was in the annex, and faced the internal courtyard parking lot. We were on the bottom floor, and I worried about noise, but didn't hear any. The linens were fresh, tho a little worn, and the bathroom, while not luxurious by any means, was freshly painted and one of the cleanest hotel bathrooms I have ever used. The staff were friendly but not effusive or outgoing. The snack/breakfast room was very clean, with fresh coffee, tea, and popcorn in the afternoon, which was another big plus from my daughter's standpoint.
The downsides: room furnishings, bedspreads, and carpet were a little worn and beaten-up looking, and the bed mattress was awful. The carpet smelled very faintly of mildew. For the price, I expected a bit better. The breakfast itself was adequate, but just packaged food like at a chain continental breakfast. The coffee and orange juice were better quality than average.
I am paranoid about bedbugs, and there were no signs of any.
The restaurant, which I also reviewed separately was outstanding. Overall, I would stay again, but I would ask for a room on the second floor.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowyandSniggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

We loved our stay at the Whaler's Inn. We usually stay at the Steamboat Inn on the other side of the river but there was no availability. So after reading reviews we booked the Whalers Inn. We were lucky enough to get the Hoxie House and room #64 had a great view of the water. We felt relieved once we walked in and saw how beautiful and new everything was. Truly a romantic and beautiful room, right in the heart of everything. I think the rest of the inn is basic, so if you can, ask for the Hoxie House. The continental breakfast was more than continental. It was ample, with yogurt and cereal, muffins, bagels, cake, waffles, and hard boiled eggs. More than enough.
My only complaint was the bathroom, although nice to look at, it was very cold in there as there are no heaters nor any vents from the other room to heat it up. Also the tub/shower situation is ridiculous. the shower is awkardly placed in the jacuzzi tub which is about a 3 foot climb to get into. No steps, you just have to climb in. It was ok for my long legs, but someone else would have real trouble. Getting out when wet was even harder. The best way would be to sit on tub and swing legs around, but there are no handles to push up and an elderly person may have trouble. It is as if they put no thought into the logistics of the bathroom, just aesthetics.
Still, I would recommend a stay. You can not beat the location and it is really lovely, just be careful with tub!
And make sure you go to Bravo Bravo and Captain Packer's - amazing meals!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smlev02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

The location of the Whalers Inn is perhaps it's main draw. it's really close to the centre of town and many of the restaurants of Mystic. Its also very close to the river for some nice views and walks. The rooms aren't anything particularly special but perfectly nice. Possibly a bit expensive for what you get, but okay. The breakfast was nice and convenient and we made good use of the bikes one day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m_james_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed one night because reviews said it was close to all the shops. It was right within the shopping district. The shops hours are very eclectic. Less than a third stay open late past 6pm and none open before 10:30am and some after that. Plan on shopping only in early afternoon. We were not there when most shops were open so we missed out on that. It is driving distance to Aquarium and Seaport, not walking distance. Our room was clean but definitely was not new. We did enjoy the outside chairs to get out of the room; however, they just overlooked the parking lot.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familywtwoteens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whalersinn, Guest Relations Manager at The Whaler's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2010

Thank you for posting your comments about the Whaler's Inn and our Historic Downtown. I will pass along your message to the Downtown Mystic Business Association. Unfortunately not knowing what day of the week you were here, it is difficult to give a specific reason to the unpredictable hours.
Shops are individually owned and operated. They have extended hours on Friday and Saturdays and offer regular business hours during work week. Sunday typically has shortened hours.
In regards to the Mystic Seaport, many guests find it to be a pleasant 10 minute walk along the river, convenient boat ride from the water taxi or even a short bike ride using one of our complimentary bikes. Thank you again for your positive feedback about the Inn. We do hope that you can visit us again and maybe try one of our various other guestrooms that overlook the scenic Mystic River or lively Main Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
1.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
911 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
767 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
1.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whaler's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whaler's Inn

Address: 20 E Main St, Mystic, CT 06355-2646
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Mystic
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#4 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range: £95 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Whaler's Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Noted for having the best location in town, The Whaler's Inn is a charming historic hotel situated in the heart of Downtown Mystic. The Bascule Bridge, specialty shops, historic homes, fine restaurants, and lively pubs are just steps away! In addition, the world famous Mystic Seaport Museum of America and the Sea as well as the Mystic Aquarium are around the corner. Comprised of five buildings, the hotel offers newly renovated rooms in the Main Inn and the Noank House, along with luxury guest rooms in the Hoxie House which feature fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and views of the Mystic River - perfect for a romantic weekend away. The Inn also features family-friendly suites that offer bunkbeds for the kids and conference space for our business travelers. Centrally located 2-miles from I-95 and within walking distance of Amtrak, The Whaler's Inn is easily accessible from both Boston and New York City and is an ideal New England escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Whaler's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler`s Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing