We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DIRTIEST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge Mystic - Groton
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Auckland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“DIRTIEST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

This was the only hotel in our entire 5 1/2 week road trip that I had cause to complain about. Our room was filthy. We are not finicky travellers and I might have excused the pile of crushed up breakfast cereal and debris from previous guests as an oversight until I wrote my name in the dust on the bed head, removed a hair from the grimy coffee tray and wiped down something spilled on the chair. When I complained next morning the guy offered to have it cleaned. No point - we were leaving. The guy then asked when I noticed the mess which is fair enough if you want a problem fixed. Truth is, I noticed it the previous night but at $172 p/n (incl tax) I don't expect to have to call reception to have my room cleaned or to pack up and move to a new room: . Reading other reviews my experience seems not to be too isolated either. The guy did apologise but .....having a clean room would be a fairly basic requirement to running a hotel I think.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelQueenAkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    47
    43
    23
    42
See reviews for
58
71
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

we booked for two nights and couldnt stand the smell in the room, dirty blanket on bed, bathroom was dirty, ac barely worked, we left and booked at another hotel. dont waste your money on this dump

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank counselor131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mystic hotels

Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed here on a overnight stay, while visiting the Casinos and shopping in Mystic, we generally stay at the Comfort Inn down then road, but unfortunatly we booked to late and they were sold out. I found the staff to be very unhelpful, almost to the point of rudeness. The room was clean, although we could have definatly used more pillows which they did not have any more available. It seems like the room was freshly painted, but the bathroom could have used some updating. For a cheap overnight stay I would recomend this hotel, but for more than one night I would spend more and go else where.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

I ended up at this motel as a last minute place to stay. It was cheaper than the place next door ($89) and it was totally fine. The rooms were clean and quiet. There was wireless and the check-in guy was nice. It's definitely dated but suck it up and spend more time in the beautiful town of Mystic.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hardwick, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

This is within walking distance of a Friendly's, a diner, a steakhouse, Dunkin Donuts, a quick stop gas station, Domino's, and McDonald's. The Aquarium is not far away. It's not a luxury hotel but it was clean and roomy. Bring extra pillows.

It can get loud on a Saturday night because it's more of a motel than hotel and people park right outside the window.

One bizarre thing was they billed our credit card before we even went!

Room Tip: book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tamfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

We've stayed at other Econo Lodge locations before, mostly because they are pet-friendly and fairly well-run. THIS IS NOT THE CASE HERE- AVOID THIS MOTEL IF POSSIBLE. Paid $89 for a Sat night stay in April (off-season) for which we reserved a king room, we were given two doubles and told they were sold out so we could take it or leave it. The room was dirty and falling apart, we had no heat and it was very cold at night. The fridge made so much noise we had to unplug it. Mattresses are old and have squeaky springs. I did not want to touch the carpet with my feet, so I kept my shoes on the whole time.

Room Tip: Check in early to get a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkolack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

We recently stayed overnight on our annual shopping trip to the outlets and Mystic village. What a disappointment. The room was not clean the bathroom was dirty and a great deal of mold on tile behind door. The bed was only so so comfortable but coupled with the marshmello pillows which offered no support or comfort (and I asked for extra pillows) made for a long night. I will never settle for price alone as it was the least expensive, however the Days Inn where we usually stay only less than a mile up the street is a much better stay for the money. the $10 difference in price gets you a better room with a great continental breakfast that far surpasses the joke offered at the Econo logdge unless you consider 4 mini muffins 2 bagles and a couple boxes of cereal a breakfast offering. Never again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTSm1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.5 mi away
Days Inn - Mystic
Days Inn - Mystic
#11 of 13 in Mystic
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 13 in Mystic
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Mystic - Groton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Mystic - Groton

Property: Econo Lodge Mystic - Groton
Address: 251 Greenmanville Ave, Mystic, CT 06355-1962 (Formerly Econo Lodge - Mystic)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Mystic - Groton 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget accomodation with 56 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Mystic - Groton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge - Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing