We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Cupcakes!”
Review of Lis Bake Shop

Lis Bake Shop
Ranked #3 of 7 Bakeries in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Good for: Child-friendly
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Cupcakes!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We picked out a cupcake for each member of our family. We had carrot, chocolate, and vanilla. They all were delicious, beautiful, and large. The owner was very pleasant and offered us samples.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    29
    4
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bigfork, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really, really good”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stopped in this little bake shop so my husband could grab a cup of coffee. When we realized we didn't have cash, we added some baked goods to our order so we weren't using a card for $1 charge. Glad we did! The best oatmeal chip cookie I've ever had, seriously! And I got a sour cream coconut cupcake that was out of this world. If I lived nearby, I'd gain 50 pounds from stopping here all the time!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed in Groton and got up looking for a good bakery. Had trouble locating one closer so we drove over to Mystic. The drive was pleasant and the baked goods even more so. We got enough food for breakfast that day as well as the next. It was all wonderful. The staff and patrons were very friendly. You can't go wrong ordering any item on the menu. A must visit if you are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xplorer_rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cupcakes!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have heard many rave reviews of their cupcakes. When I finally got to try them, I can see why. They have a delicious texture- not too light, not too dense- and the frosting really sings with flavor, not just with sweetness. I tried tangerine, sour cream coconut, and black-bottom chocolate.
Yum!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We chose this over the usual Dunkin Donuts option”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This place had lots of options for pastry/breads for breakfast. There were also lots of desert options (which I could have returned for that) as well. We got a scone, slice of pound cake and apple juice for about $9.00.

In the winter, there is not a lot of space to stay inside and enjoy your purchase. Luckily we could enjoy the pastries outside at the available table and chairs.

Note to the owners: The outside area could use some cleaning up.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bib28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lis Bake Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing