We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and welcoming and entertainment”
Review of Mystic Boathouse

Mystic Boathouse
Ranked #30 of 99 Restaurants in Mystic
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozy and welcoming and entertainment”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The night I was there in the bar was live music and it was great . Food and atmosphere matched and the service was good. I have eaten here twice now and as a traveler they have welcomed me and made me feel comfortable . Not a bad item to speak .I will be going back again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    134
    69
    25
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
123 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Pub Grub”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I was catching an early movie so I stopped in solo for a bite to eat. I sat at the bar and ordered a glass of wine and an order of calamari. It was delivered in the blink of an eye! It was good, not the best I've had mostly due to the marinara sauce which was heavy on the Italian seasonings and a bit over powering. I should have opted for the Thai chile sauce instead. The bartender was attentive and efficient.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erinontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, CT
Level Contributor
326 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Casual seafood and pub fare in a pleasant atmosphere. The prices are very attractive and the clams casino a must to try. This place is popular with the locals. Visitors who find it are the lucky ones.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticBoathouse, Owner at Mystic Boathouse, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thanks so much, Peter! We very much appreciate your business, and your taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Evening drinks...”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We actually found a bar that is open after 10 pm on a Saturday night. Living in NJ and frequenting NY; I am unaccustomed to bars closing by 9 pm which is the culture of the Mystic, CT area. We were searching for a place to have a few drinks and saw a couple of cars in the parking lot. We stopped in and asked if they were open and the bartender advised that they were as long as there were customers. For the next 3 hours we sat at the bar with several friendly travelers that were staying in the Holiday Inn Express next door. The bartender and manager were very amenable to staying open for us. The drinks were poured well. Unfortunately the kitchen closed at 10 so we were unable to try the food. The ambiance is nice enough. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mccanavan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticBoathouse, Owner at Mystic Boathouse, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us! We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

First time visit to the Boathouse, and we were all happy with our dining experience. I treated my two daughters and 2 grand-daughters to a " girls only " sleepover in Mystic...and they treated me to a delicious meal at this restaurant. We all ordered some type of burger (which was very big!) except my youngest grand-daughter who ordered a Buffalo chicken wrap (also large & filling).
The wait staff was very attentive and the food arrived very quickly. The only negative comment would be about the calamari....it was really quite chewy and we didn't finish it. But I would return to the Boathouse and recommend it to others.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nanaklw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticBoathouse, Owner at Mystic Boathouse, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Glad you enjoyed your first visit to The Boathouse! Thanks for the nice review, and we look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mystic Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing