We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family friendly dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango's Wood-Fired Pizza Co.

Mango's Wood-Fired Pizza Co.
Ranked #23 of 98 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Old World, Wood-Fired Pizzas, Salads, Sandwiches & a huge selection of the finest craft beers!
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great family friendly dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great dining experience in a local pizza place in the Old Mistick Village. Pizza was outstanding! We also loved the Foxon Park sodas!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephaniejjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    84
    37
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We are closing in 15 minutes!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

When here with my family after driving around Mystic. We couldn't find any place else to eat and we found this place on trip advisor. We couldn't find the restaurant it was buried within Mystic Village. When we finally found it we were told that they're closing in 15 minutes and we would have to take our food to go. Two adults, a three-year-old and a five-year-old eating pizza out of the minivan. That's customer service at its finest. The waitress and the owner were obnoxious.

Helpful?
1 Thank Metmaniac2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“best pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We loved their Salty Dog Pizza pie... it was very tasty... some of the best pizza I've ever had! Also ordered a salad which was huge... about the portion of three side salads and only $6 which seemed like a good price compared to what we get in northern VA. Atmosphere is very casual and they have outdoor seating as well, located in a quaint shopping village.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DonnaRA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Real Wood-Fired Pirate Pizza...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stop here every time we're in Mystic. Our kids fondly call it "Pirate Pizza" (because of the pirate-looking skull logo) so often that I forgot it was called Mango's. Heck... if pirates made pizza too, I'm sure it would have been over burning wood.

Located in Mystic Village, this spot is a must-stop for actual real wood-fired pizza. No gimmicks - you can see the oven and feel the blast of heat as soon as you walk in the door (and smell the wonderful scent upon entering). It's not NYC or Chicago style pizza - it is different, but it's very good. Their heros are also always fresh and well made. They also have a nice selection of beverages, including some locally made sodas.

We always get it to-go, but the restaurant is nicely decorated and cozy and we will try sit-down service next time. I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wwwkenorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coram, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great pizza. The buff chick pizza was great. Wood fired pizza is the best. Nice to be able to sit outside

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sjs0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mango's Wood-Fired Pizza Co. also viewed

 

Been to Mango's Wood-Fired Pizza Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing