We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lobster & bacon grilled cheese = nirvana” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bleu Squid

Bleu Squid
Ranked #1 of 7 Bakeries in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“lobster & bacon grilled cheese = nirvana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

An unassuming little spot, with fantastic grilled cheese variations. The lobster grilled cheese, with an add-on of applewood bacon, was perfect. Apparently, I had been the first to try this add-on! Very few tables out back, but easy takeaway packaging helps to avoid disappointment. This is cupcake nirvana! Salted caramel fans will be reeling with pleasure; red velvet is stunning in its cream cheese frosting. A cheesecake brownie looked equally tempting. It's a very casual place, with very helpful and friendly staff! They also sell quality cheeses, for fromage fans...:)

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidOnTheRoadAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    65
    17
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great quick bite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

There are only a few sandwiches to choose from, but they do it right. We tried the lobster grilled cheese and a bacon-blue cheese-tomato-caramelized onion sandwich. Loved them both - I'm a big fan of blue cheese so that was my personal favorite. Counter service was pleasant... Limited seating but somehow I always get a table. If you're in the area and in the mood for a great, unique grilled cheese, give this place a try. BTW - they also carry cupcakes if you want to follow that sandwich with something sweet.

Helpful?
Thank MyklNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing lobster grilled cheese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Great place inside Mystic Village. We had the lobster grilled cheese and it was just delicious. Perfect amount of lobster, cheese, butter bread. Their cheeses are also amazing. Had the rosemary manchego and port infused cheddar. YUM.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaG6unit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome cupcakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We were recommended by the locals that this was the best bakery around, and boy were they right. We bought a two dozen variety of their cupcakes for a family luncheon, and they were gobbled up in about ten minutes!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jbventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

I had the lobster grilled cheese that was very YUMMY! Picked up Muffins for the family We all really enjoyed ! Can't wait to go back.

Helpful?
Thank Shalom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bleu Squid also viewed

 

Been to Bleu Squid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing