We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for visiting Mystic Seaport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for visiting Mystic Seaport”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Price was great for King Room- $87 total. Pool could be bigger and was crowded for a Wed night. The worse thing was the pool seemed too full of chemicals to me, but I am super-sensitive to odors and chemicals. The room was good size, tv channels were good for my 8 year old companion too. Overall, great price for area and bed was comfy! I plan on staying here again for sure.

Room Tip: near pool on second floor was great spot for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justme171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello and thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We are pleased it was a good one. Our indoor pool is the most popular amenity we offer and it does indeed get crowded at times.
As a result the chemicals will disperse with high usage. we do keep a very close eye on this and assure you it is at the safest level.
we do look forward to seeing you again.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    556
    322
    98
    66
See reviews for
699
433
56
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel was very clean and we actually got a non smoking room! The pool was pretty warm and I loved it. Also, the wi-fi actually worked there! So don't listen to bad reviews because this hotel is awesome!!

Room Tip: Pick the hotel that has mostly 4 or 5 stars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you it is so nuce to know that you had an awesome time, we look forward to seeing you again.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice rooms. They had a very reasonable walk in rate. Room was clean and comfortable. Nice indoor pool. Walking distance to four restaurants. Front desk staff were all very nice. Had a patio in our room with walk out access right to our car. Only complaint is the AC is pretty loud, other than that everything was great.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theglassrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. we are very happy that you had a good stay, I do apologize about the A/C unit and will make sure they all are checked.
look forward to seeing you again.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I wanted to get away for the weekend. Mystic was our choice of destination.
I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years. It is ideally located to some of the attractions in Mystic.
The Mystic Diner is a great place to dine it adjoins the hotel. If you show the cashier your room key you get a discount.
A good visit.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor have balconies. Even though they face the parking lot I did not find i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are happy that it was a good one and hope to see you again soon,
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

started our vacation at st hojo's in mystic for a week long beach excursion --we then ventured to two other hotels == we should have stayed at hojos -cleanest, newest, and most convenient to I95 and lowest price Randy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your great review, we work hard to show our guests clean comfortable rooms.look forward to seeing you again
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I had a great time staying at the Howard Johnson's for my weekend trip to Mystic. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet at night. The lobby looked like it just had gotten all new furniture and the fish tank looked great and was a nice touch. Since the weather over the weekend was so nice, the free bikes that the hotel had available were perfect to ride to the Seaport and into town. The pool was nice and warm at the end of the day to relax in and fitness room was great for a quick morning workout. The front desk was very helpful with making restaurant recommendations and were always very friendly. Will definitely be staying here again the next time that I come to Mystic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your great stay at the Howard Johnson Mystic. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. It is wonderful to know that you were comfortable in your room and had the time to enjoy the pool and use the fitness center. we do have the bikes for use every summer from the first week of May to October. they provide you a way to get around town and avoid the traffic.
we look forward to seeing you again.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Warm welcoming when we got there without reservation. The room was clean and calm. Huge and comfy bed. Excellent for the value. If you have a car, its useful to go the center in 5 min. Id go there again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojomillenium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. We are very happy you had a good stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,086 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
863 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 13 in Mystic
559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Days Inn - Mystic
Days Inn - Mystic
#11 of 13 in Mystic
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Mystic

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Address: 253 Greenmanville Ave, Mystic, CT 06355-1962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Mystic 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming to Mystic, Connecticut? We have four words for you: go happy. Go hojo. Located only minutes away from the best attractions in Mystic (Exit 90 off I-95). Spacious rooms with all the amenities to make you feel at home during your travels: wireless high-speed internet, in-room safes, in-room coffee makers, hairdryers, refrigerators and microwaves. And let's not forget the indoor heated pool! Fitness Center. All you have to do is picked either one king size or two queen size beds. But why stay in your room when you're at Mystic Hojo? - Mystic is located only minutes away from some of the destinations best attractions: Olde Mistick Village (just across the street!), Mystic Seaport ( 1/2 mile) Mystic Aquarium ( 5 minute walk), Denison Pequotsepos Nature Center (10 minutes away) and more. In fact, many of our hotel packages include free tickets to some of these venues. And stay in touch with Hojo - Mystic year-round by liking us on Facebook or following us on Twitter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing