We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is Awesome! Staff has been really great and...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Mystic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Write a Review

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    494
    282
    83
    62
See reviews for
604
400
51
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayside, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We haven't stayed here in awhile, but certainly glad we returned! Trisha, at the front desk, was an extremely friendly host. Trisha made sure we took advantage of all the surrounding amenities. And checked on us, periodically, to make sure we were comfortable! Mostly, unseen, was Jackie, of housekeeping, who kept our room very clean, and fresh! A very fine staff, which will cause me to return often!
Also, when I made the reservation, I was informed of some very money-saving packages! Well worth the visit, especially for some watching their budgets!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellys53729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Wow so glad we made your stay a good one. I will pass on to Trisha and Jackie your kind words.
we look forward to seeing you again.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Canaan, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is by far the most Disgusting Place on earth!!!Cobwebs and dust a 1/4 " think on the lamps over where you sleep .No big surprise to find the poisons spider that was making the webs in the room. NASTY. The fans in the pool area I don't think have ever been cleaned in the history of them opening.Stained ceilings from smoking, holes in the ceiling. The door jams to go out to the patio were coming off the ,This is the only thing that secures your room on the bottom floor. Most likely how the bugs were getting in the room. The pool had huge chunks missing, on the inside of the pool, where you climb the ladder. That is being held together with rust and DUCK TAPE! Mold in the light fixture, The covers were off in the pool area, with all that moisture it is a safety hazard .If the dirt and mildew don't kill you the basket to put your wet towels was jagged enough to slice your veins in your wrist. After staying here, That would have been a welcome. You save on breakfast if you show your hotel card, The price 's are so expensive it is Not worth eating.On the plus side the staff was very friendly, and seemed to be trying to do there best, with what they have to work with. Brought it to Corp Attn. and nothing was done, the owner is OH well . I should have cancelled when we saw a Cop at the front desk at check in , then more cops and EMT's later that night. They said a stress attack, It wouldn't surprise me if it wasn't a Over Dose. NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank taco20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I didn't expect much. It was literally was the situation we need a hotel room" right Now". We drove around to the other hotels and everything was booked!!! Walked into HoJo ( wasnt the most appealing in outside appearance, but wasnt bad either) and we were happily greeted by a very nice, friendly front desk staff. They had rooms , adjoining as well and we were desperate. We took them..
The Location is EXCELLENT!!!!!!!!..Its right off the highway,,, Right across the street from Aquarium& Village, Food is in walking distance. Also right up the road from the Seaport..and minutes from the town center.
The rooms were nice. Big and spacious. Huge jetted tubs. Very Clean..they had a fridge with a little freezer. Flat screen TV
Indoor pool was a hit with kids, Floor gets very slippery around pool, Be careful!!!! They need to place rubber mats for safety.
Hotel offer guest 10% discount at Diner.. walking distance
My ONLY Con is ...It was Pricey!! We paid 170 per night.. Look around for discounts.. other than that..Everyone was kind and my whole family was happy. Would I stay there again??,,yes but just not at that price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCTravelQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Mystic, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for the kind review, we are happy that you were pleasantly surprised and do look forward to your next visit.
Terry Connors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.4 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
0.4 mi away
Days Inn - Mystic
Days Inn - Mystic
#11 of 13 in Mystic
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Mystic

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Address: 253 Greenmanville Ave, Mystic, CT 06355-1962
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Mystic 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coming to Mystic, Connecticut? We have four words for you: go happy. Go hojo. Located only minutes away from the best attractions in Mystic (Exit 90 off I-95). Spacious rooms with all the amenities to make you feel at home during your travels: wireless high-speed internet, in-room safes, in-room coffee makers, hairdryers, refrigerators and microwaves. And let's not forget the indoor heated pool! Fitness Center. All you have to do is picked either one king size or two queen size beds. But why stay in your room when you're at Mystic Hojo? - Mystic is located only minutes away from some of the destinations best attractions: Olde Mistick Village (just across the street!), Mystic Seaport ( 1/2 mile) Mystic Aquarium ( 5 minute walk), Denison Pequotsepos Nature Center (10 minutes away) and more. In fact, many of our hotel packages include free tickets to some of these venues. And stay in touch with Hojo - Mystic year-round by liking us on Facebook or following us on Twitter! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing