We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best food”
Review of Oyster Club

Oyster Club
Reserve with OpenTable
Oyster Club is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 99 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Oyster Club is a casual fine dining restaurant and raw bar specializing in the richness of the New England coast and countryside. The menu, which is written daily, showcases food that travels the shortest distance from 'farm & sea to table,' with seasonality and location determining the day's delicacies. Benefiting from the region's many local farmers and fisherman, Oyster Club features bounty from the sea, pasture raised beef, local produce and artisanal cheeses. We believe Oyster Club is an extension of your home and that all will feel welcome at our table - please join us!
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best food”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I had a great time in the Mystic Oyster club. Food was great, was perfectly cooked. Servers very attentive and friendly. I like the idea - they can cook out of menu , highly professional. I am picky about what i am eating and in this restaurant they ready to listen their customers request. Price is reasonable. I visited Union league cafe (French cousin) in New Haven they charge per 1 oysters about $3.95 . Here greater varieties and price something around $2. Would like to say thank you for preparing the greatest food in Connecticut for chef James and Vitalik!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatyana286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    155
    58
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Avoid the Treehouse until they sort out the service”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Oyster Club has been one of our favorite places in Mystic since it opened, with good food and great service, so we looked forward last year to the opening of their outdoor bar, the Treehouse. What a mess. Tables were served in apparently random order (people seated later served first), and we twice saw people go up to the waiter and ask for a menu or service. We waited 20 minutes for simple draft beers, and could see that everyone around us was enduring very long waits for drinks as well. When a table that arrived well after us received their oysters before us and we complained, we were told "Oh, that's just he way we do it--The kitchen just puts all the tabs together and doesn't keep them in order". First time we ever heard of a restaurant doing that! The waiter seemed to spend all of his time at the computer screen, while random servers bringing food up from the kitchen didn't know where to go. Hope they can sort this all out--it's a lovely place on a summer evening, and we want to enjoy it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BaileyC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Phenomenal”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went here for our anniversary. The place was small very cozy. The service was great and our waiter was very knowledgeable about all the items on the menu. The food and drinks were absolutely phenomenal!! We had a wonderful experience here and will be going back for sure.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chooch1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Valley, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love oysters”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This restaurant has a happy hour from 4-6 where the local (Noank) oysters are only $1 each. They are wonderful and the wine (pino grigio) and beer (draft Pilsner) were also first rate. Since it was early we indulged in 2 starters, mussels in a delicious cream sauce and scallops paired with strawberries. They were both absolutely delicious. The scallop dish was particularly surprising in that the combination was unusual and very tasty. There is a tiny patio which is a great place to sit in the late afternoon. The waitstaff share the clients and are very attentive. We hope to return to try other dishes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FMH-43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Choice Mystic Eatery”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Superb farm and sea to table restaurant exceeded expectations. Pleasant ambiance in a small, busy space with attentive service and nice selection of wines. The chowder was flavorful and authentic and not bulked up with flour. Oysters were fresh, clean and delicious - served perfectly chilled. Skate was seared crisp on the outside and moist on the inside. All of our dishes were beautifully presented and creatively engineered. Best food and service we found in Mystic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moonshadower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oyster Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing