We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A super treat !”
Review of House of 1833

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
House of 1833
Ranked #4 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We made this a stop on a larger trip so that we could see Mystic Seaport, for which it is ideally located. It was also our anniversary (which unknown to me, my husband had informed Evan and Robert, the owners about) so a bit of a romantic break.

We were treated to a specially anniversary decorated room (the Cupola room), which was very touching. The room itself was heaven - a most comfortable bed - and Robert and Even superb hosts. We were also pleasantly surprised by the swimming pool, which was wonderful after a hot day sight seeing.

My husband is still talking about the breakfast. A unique and wonderful place with charm and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I spend the first night of my birthday weekend at the House of 1833 in the Cupola Room. It was perfect! From the birthday balloons and cake upon arrival to the amazing breakfast, everything was perfect. We are already looking forward to coming back, would love to see the house all decorated for the holidays! Thank you Evan, it was great.

Room Tip: Cupola room was amazing. We enjoyed wine up in the cupola, what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Every moment of our visit was perfect! Evan and Robert did a wonderful job helping us celebrate our anniversary! The Cupola room was beautiful, the food was wonderful, and the atmosphere was very relaxing! We will be back!

Bridget & Bryan

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget_and_Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Better late than never. My girlfriend (now fiancé) and I stayed at House of 1833 in 2012. Robert & Evan are fantastic hosts. We stayed in the Veranda which was a lovely room with a Jacuzzi, a balcony overlooking the pool area and large private bath. Very clean. The collection of art, antiques and collectables are incredible. A bit overwhelming at first but, beautiful to those that appreciate such a collection. The breakfasts are AMAZING. Each morning a gracious hello from Robert and then a recital of the menu which makes your mouth water. We hope to return..

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewScubaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My husband and I decided to try a trip to Mystic, CT for our 5th anniversary and were recommended the House of 1833 for our stay. What a great place! The owner and staff were so welcoming and friendly, the food was delicious and we loved the room (Peach Room). They even left us a little cake and sign to celebrate our anniversary which was such a nice surprise! We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: The Peach room has it's own private porch, it was a great place for having our morning coffee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We escaped to the Mystic area for an extended weekend in early October. So glad we chose House of 1833. The rooms were beautiful and comfortable (stayed in 2 different rooms during our 3 night stay, both wonderful). Robert & Evan were magnificent, friendly hosts. We only had one day fully planned so we were looking for ideas and both of them had great suggestions for us; from sights to see to restaurants where we could catch live jazz! The common areas of the B&B are teeming with antiques of all kinds so just sitting in the dining room waiting for breakfast is interesting and entertaining. The rooms were well appointed as well with a little cream sherry waiting for us every day -- nightcap anyone? If we have the opportunity to return to the area we will most certainly stay at House of 1833 again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitchell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I needed a one night escape nearby and the House of 1833 luckily had a room available. Evan greeted us warmly when we arrived and immediately gave us a tour of the property. As I'm currently pregnant, he quickly switched out the sherry in our room to sparkling cider--so kind! The breakfast was incredible as others have noted (sour cream coffee cake was delicious)--I only wish we could have stayed more nights. Next time!

Room Tip: The Veranda room is wonderful--the king size bed is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdarr45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mystic
2.9 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
758 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,180 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
3.1 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
788 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of 1833? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of 1833

Address: 72 N Stonington Rd, Mystic, CT 06355-3604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range: £97 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — House of 1833 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of 1833 is A Greek Revival Mansion & National Landmark on 3 acres of gardens and fountains featuring a seasonal full-size swimming pool & including a full New England country-gourmet candlelight breakfast; all guest suites feature full private bath, working wood-burning fireplaces, air conditioning, cable, am/fm CD players, 19th c. antique furnishings...four of the suites with over-sized jacuzzi hot tubs and HD flat panel TV, two with private garden porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your House of 1833 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of 1833 Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing