We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First, but certainly not last visit.”
Review of House of 1833

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
House of 1833
Ranked #4 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I spent the MLK weekend at House of 1833 and had a memorable visit. As most reviewers have noted, the hosts were exceptionally hospitable and friendly. They were attentive to every detail that could enhance our stay. They provided a warm welcome not only to the B&B but to the Mystic area--very knowledgable; they went out of their way to find places for us to visit that matched our interests. The House itself is like a living museum, filled with art, antiques and memorabilia. Some reviewers found this "cluttered" but we found it charming.We stayed in the Cupola room, which was the most unique and interesting room we have ever seen. We have visited numerous B&Bs and this was a truly special experience. We look forward to a return visit!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have been going to The House of 1833 annually since September of 2009. It's very special to us, as we stayed there the day I proposed and continue to go at least once a year. It never disappoints. Evan and Robert treat us like family. They are welcoming, easy to talk to, helpful and so kind. You walk in and feel right at home. We tried a new room this trip, The Oak. It was great! This one did not have an en suite bathroom but we had a private lavish bathroom with lock and key across the hall. It was not a problem. This visit was a little different for me as now I have a dietary restriction. They were able to not only accommodate that but made me feel like I wasn't missing out on anything. Their breakfasts are truly amazing and Pancake Sunday is a treat! We cannot wait to return! Hopefully summer so we can enjoy their HUGE pool and roam their lush and beautiful gardens.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank joriv1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have been coming to the House of 1833 for 14 years. We first went under the previous ownership. That first stay was when I proposed to my wife and we have been returning at least once a year since.

We were worried before returning when Evan and Robert took over. After just a few minutes in the house we realized there was no reason to worry. They are excellent hosts. Both are warm and inviting and know all about Mystic and the surrounding areas. They have added their own nice touches to the house, like sherry and cookies in the parlor, new decor, dvd players, etc. They also add a lot of personal touches to your stay. For example, as mentioned in other reviews, if it is a special occasion they will usually accommodate the room accordingly.

This particular stay was especially magical for us. We were there with our children and the House of 1833 seems to bring out their very best behavior. Our love for the B&B and Mystic were strongly renewed thanks in a large part to Evan and Robert.

We already can't wait to return for New Year's 2014-15. We are now considering a trip in the summer as well. We can't say enough about this wonderful getaway.

Room Tip: Every room is different, ranging from size to layout to decor to extras. For example, all rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millerm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My fiancee and I stayed here for one night and had such a great experience. Evan is top notch when it comes to customer service. He actually said he's counting the days until our next return, too funny. The room was cozy, warm, and very spacious. We were very pleasantly surprised at the breakfast they served the next morning. We are food critics and couldn't believe how great the food was. Everything served was homemade, some ingredients from their own garden, and masterfully prepared. I highly recommend a visit, even if you just want to get away for a night.

Room Tip: We stayed in the IVY room which seems to be a basic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We arrived to the House of 1833 and were quickly met by Evan who provided a quick tour / orientation of this Greek Revival B&B and the rich history of Mystic contained within. There's an inviting living room with comfortable sofas and the morning papers. Afternoons you'll find a silver platter and a decanter of sherry for your indulgence. We were there celebrating a milestone birthday and found our room complete with decorations and a small cake. What a nice touch. We stayed in the Veranda Room complete with a fireplace and large jacuzzi. Perfect for a cold damp New England winter getaway. The added romance package provided dinner at a local restaurant, Captain Daniel Packer Inn (A+++) and upon return fresh flowers and fireplace ready. We stayed the weekend and breakfast both mornings was FANTASTIC !!! All scratch made fresh, delicious offerings from Buttery pound cake, Apple Turnovers, and the Oatmeal & Apple Pancakes were the best. I'm guessing the only way it could have been better would be a summer weekend with breakfast outside and a relaxing day by the pool.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We made this a stop on a larger trip so that we could see Mystic Seaport, for which it is ideally located. It was also our anniversary (which unknown to me, my husband had informed Evan and Robert, the owners about) so a bit of a romantic break.

We were treated to a specially anniversary decorated room (the Cupola room), which was very touching. The room itself was heaven - a most comfortable bed - and Robert and Even superb hosts. We were also pleasantly surprised by the swimming pool, which was wonderful after a hot day sight seeing.

My husband is still talking about the breakfast. A unique and wonderful place with charm and friendly hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I spend the first night of my birthday weekend at the House of 1833 in the Cupola Room. It was perfect! From the birthday balloons and cake upon arrival to the amazing breakfast, everything was perfect. We are already looking forward to coming back, would love to see the house all decorated for the holidays! Thank you Evan, it was great.

Room Tip: Cupola room was amazing. We enjoyed wine up in the cupola, what a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
1.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,127 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
735 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
3.1 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
744 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of 1833? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of 1833

Address: 72 N Stonington Rd, Mystic, CT 06355-3604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range: £116 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — House of 1833 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House of 1833 is A Greek Revival Mansion & National Landmark on 3 acres of gardens and fountains featuring a seasonal full-size swimming pool & including a full New England country-gourmet candlelight breakfast; all guest suites feature full private bath, working wood-burning fireplaces, air conditioning, cable, am/fm CD players, 19th c. antique furnishings...four of the suites with over-sized jacuzzi hot tubs and HD flat panel TV, two with private garden porches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your House of 1833 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of 1833 Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing