We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Mother's Day Dinner”
Review of S & P Oyster Co

S & P Oyster Co
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chef Cobena’s unique style blends perfectly with the traditions of New England fare. He intertwines exotic spices and peppers with the area’s premier selection of seafood, poultry and beef. Relish in our premium selection of oysters spanning the eastern seaboard and the finest cuts of Yellowfin tuna, swordfish and native dayboat cod. Enjoy the juiciest, most flavorful steaks from Arkansas City, Kansas, by a facility designed by Dr. Temple Grandin, world renowned expert on animal welfare. Gluten-free? Enjoy a plethora of options on our special, gluten-free menu; check out our vegan options, too!
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Mother's Day Dinner”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Once again Trip Advisor does not disappoint. We were in the area for Mothers Day and had no reservations and stopped at the S&P Oyster Co. Margarita was great while we waited. Service was very good. We had the seafood potato skins-Yummy. I had the Seafood Ambrosia-Delicious. My son had the swordfish, and my husband had the Cod dinner. We had no room for dessert. We sat inside, but the outside looks out over the river, Mystic is great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ackelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,300
    581
    201
    87
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Incredible food, beautiful atmosphere, excellent service”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I can't say enough nice things about this restaurant. The seafood was fresh, prepared deliciously, presented beautifully, and the service was exceptional. Sitting by the river was an added bonus. We will certainly return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adrianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Much improved !!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

S&P has been a favorite place for us to stop as a family for years now, as it has a great location and typically above average food ... But tonight on our first visit for the 2014 summer season we were pleasantly surprised by three very good dishes. Each of us were very happy with our meals, but I have to admit the blackened scallops topped the charts. So, it seems as if they have a new chef or new zest for cooking. We were all enthused at the thought of returning! It was well worth the 45 minute wait. But I'd recommend the downstairs or outside seating. The upstairs' acoustics makes it too loud for dinner conversation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chartmannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
1 review
“Great service. Ask for team Jeremy and Mike.”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Everything was done very nicely. Service is what truly sets them apart. Jeremy and Mike took great care of the entire family.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We had dinner at S&P Oyster Co, Mystic, CT tonight. The food was fantastic! I had three jumbo shrimp to start and then I had the steamed 1 1/2 lb lobster. It was probably the best lobster I've had in years. Perfectly cooked! It came right out of the shell. No fighting. My hubby had one of each of the oysters being offered, 6, and the bouillabaisse. It was absolutely delicious. Probably one of the best.
For dessert we split the bread pudding. Absolutely delicious.
Definitely will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to S & P Oyster Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing