We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for steak and burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Steak Loft

Steak Loft
Ranked #23 of 98 Restaurants in Mystic
Price range: US$1 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mystic's best steakhouse and top seafood restaurant are one and the same.Voted Connecticut Magazine's Reader's Choice Award for Best Steak everyyear since 1983! And our fresh seafood selections and create-your-own salad bar are just as delicious. Come visit us in the Olde Mistick Village for great food, great drinks and live entertainment in our Lounge!
Portsmouth, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good for steak and burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

we have sat in the bar as well as the dining area both met our expectations. they have music some nights too which is nice

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    257
    177
    80
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
297 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Had dinner here on the last night of our trip and some wanted something besides seafood so we tried this. Average steakhouse but in my opinion was Ruth Chris's prices with a Longhorn, Texas Roadhouse quality. Would not recommend. Overpriced

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E Bridgewater, Ma.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Everyone loved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stopped there on a drive from New Jersey to Massachusetts. We had a group of 7 and we were seated right away. Everyone enjoyed the salad bar. All items were fresh and the veggies were crisp. The overall area was very clean and continuously restocked. I myself had a burger with mushrooms and onions and it was really good. Thought about a steak and they looked really good going to other tables but with the drive I didn't want that much. Burger was a great size and you could taste a good quality burger. It was cooked rare and was perfectly juicy. Really enjoyed it. Test room was small but clean

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank disney4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the salad bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We've eaten at the Steak Loft several times over the last few years. My husband loves their steaks. I usually order seafood--good but not outstanding. The salad bar is wonderful--lots of choices and fresh. The decor has not changed and could use a spruce up. The servers were friendly and helpful. We will probably eat there again when we travel north next year.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank booklady615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced, underwhelmed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Dinner on a Tuesday night. Empty parking lot should have been the clue. Dinner for two, twenty minute wait after sitting down to order. Thirty minute wait after that for the meal to be plopped in front of us. Less than two minutes later, waitress asked how it was (answer: too hot to eat yet). Never saw the waitress again until the meal was over; when she asked how it was we both said "bland, disppointing, didn't like it" - - and she said "But you ate it - - if you hadn't, I could have taken something off the price."
The couple seated behind us had a similar experience, but when their food arrived it got dropped on the table and left, and they had to go get someone to tell them that this was not the food they ordered (it belonged to the people three tables away). Both tables then had to wait for the food to be re-cooked. I used to eat here once a month (I lived here about 15 years ago), and was extremely disappointed in how shabby the place has become, and how far the quality of the food and service has dropped. One bright spot: the salad bar is still very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe_R321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Steak Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing