We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant way to end our visit”

Latitude 41 Restaurant and Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
Latitude 41 Restaurant and Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 100 Restaurants in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$34
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located in a newly renovated 19th century landmark on the shores of the Mystic River, our welcoming ambiance captures a fresh essence of the maritime experience. Natural hues surround a unique combination of historical and contemporary elements including extraordinary photographs from the Rosenfeld Collection. Choose to dine in one of our main dining rooms, gather with family or friends for casual fare in our classic tavern, warm yourself near one of our fireplaces or enjoy cool river breezes as you dine al fresco; we offer something for every taste. Serving new American cuisine, using the highest quality ingredients; we practice a no boundaries approach to flavors and techniques. We support our local farmers and pride ourselves with a philosophy based on consistency, creativity, innovation and inspiration. Latitude 41 is truly a destination dining experience.
Yorktown Heights, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant way to end our visit”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The meal my husband and I had here was a nice ending to our first ever visit to Mystic Seaport. After enjoying the ships, museums and shops, we were ready for a meal, and this restaurant was conveniently located on the grounds of the seaport. We sat at an outdoor table with a lovely view of the water. The food was pricey, but ample and delicious. Our choices included breaded asparagus, steak for my husband, and salad and a" latitude" burger for me. The pale ale and the blueberry sea dog beers were refreshing. My burger was dropped by the server and had to be replaced, which caused a delay, so the waitress graciously offered us a round of drinks on the house. Service was a bit slow - probably because they were also accommodating a wedding party at the restaurant, and also that the outdoor tables were quite far from the kitchen. All in all, we enjoyed our meal experience and would probably go back again when we return to the seaport for a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie O, General Manager at Latitude 41 Restaurant and Tavern, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
So nice of you to write! Thank you and come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    160
    60
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very Bad Attitude @ Latitude”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My friends and I had a 7:00 PM reservation, and we arrived slightly early. We were asked by the indoor hostess if we wished to sit indoors or outside, to which we replied "outside." So, we were sent outside to be seated by the outside host. Once we arrived at the host station, we were told that we had to wait 10 minutes or so until we were seated. We asked about our reservation, and were told that reservations only reserved an indoor table. Despite being a bit disappointed that A) our reservations were not recognized for outdoor seating and B) we were not told by the indoor hostess that our reservation would not be honored for outdoor seating, we decided to stand and wait by the host stand for our table.

Fifteen minutes later, we asked the new hostess at the stand when we might be seated, having waited longer than the stated wait time. We were surprisingly told that we still had at least 30 minutes more to wait, since there were three other parties ahead of us waiting for tables. We complained that we had been grossly misinformed of the wait time by the previous host manning the stand and explained that we had been sent outside without a warning about either the lack of an honored reservation or the long wait for a table.

A manager happened by the stand during our conversation and took over for the hostess, so we re-told our complaints to the manager. The manager offered no apology or explanation for the several instances of misinformation and reservation disregard, and instead stated rather rudely that it would be at least a 30 minute wait for an outside table. When we told her that we had never had such rude and bungled service at a restaurant before, she told us, in a very condescending voice, that we were free to try another establishment. We told her that was exactly what we would be doing, where we could write scathing reviews of her service on social media in a friendly restaurant atmosphere, and we could not leave fast enough!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank W. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie O, General Manager at Latitude 41 Restaurant and Tavern, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Sir,
I am sincerely, and I mean sincerely, sorry for the confusion surrounding your reservations.
Unlike most restaurants in Mystic we do take and honor reservations but for indoor dining only.
We did have your table ready in our main dining room, however and regretfully our greeter misspoke upon your arrival and instead of asking you if you had a reservation and then seating you, the slip of the tongue resulted in confusion, miscommunication, and to my understanding some heated and disheartening comments from your party, escalating to the regretful comments from our professional yet human manager.
Please know our team devotes a thousand percent to doing everything possible to provide the best service to our valued patrons, and unlike some establishments our team sincerely cares, and when an error is made we all take it personally.
Thus again we are all sorry this happened and we will try harder to ensure it never happens again.
On that note you did make good on your threat, of utilizing social media to provide a poor and scathing review, and as we hate losing your patronage I hope you were able to find a friendly restaurant atmosphere.
Sincerely
David
Mr. David Griswold
Vice President Finance and Operations
The Coastal Gourmet Group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant View - Great Meal”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My Mom and I were on a vacation down the East Coast and stopped in Mystic. What a great find on this restaurant. We asked to be seated outside, which was a beautiful view of the water. Our waitress was wonderful and the food was very good. Mom had a potato soup which was excellent and a good portion for a bowl of soup. The bread was very good. I had a delicious burger, grilled to perfection. It was a very pleasant meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch at Mystic Seaport”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Nice place, we had saturday family lunch. Ate outside. Service was good, meal was good too. Mystic Seaport Pale Ale was cold and excellent !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vlad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, ME
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit!!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I just had an amazing day at Mystic Seaport and finished it with a DELICIOUS dinner at Latitude 41, located at the end of Mystic Seaport. We sat outside, under an umbrella, overlooking the beautiful Mystic River. The service was very friendly and our food came quite quickly. Although the food was somewhat pricey, it was well worth it! I had the lobster ravioli ($27) and not only was it a beautiful dish, it was scrumptious! If you're looking for a romantic dinner for two and not worried about spending a little extra, this is the place for you... the views alone are worth it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Barefoot_Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Latitude 41 Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Latitude 41 Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing