We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mystic
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mermaid Inn of Mystic
Ranked #2 of 12 Mystic B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the Mermaid Room.
The bed was very comfortable and we had two very good night's sleep.
Its a little bit hard to find, so I would suggest that people pay more attention to the exact wherabouts of the hotel than we did.
Josephine has cookes and pie out each evening, together with sherry, and facilities to make tea or coffee. There is a fridge in the room which has soft drinks and water in it, and you get a goodie bag when you leave.
The breakfasts were very good with Josephine's home made Granola, for which I intend to email and ask the recipe.
Apart from everything else a HUGE attraction to the Mermaid Inn, is that you can park your car and forget it... Mystic Seaport... restaurants, etc... all in walking distance. If you have time, which we did one night.. its nice to sit on the lovely terrace with a drink.
If you are visiting Mystic you could not stay in a better place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Englishlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights on our recent trip. The blue room was spotlessly clean, had a fridge stocked with bottled water and canned drinks and an interesting mermaid mural in the bathroom! Josephine's breakfasts, cookies and apple pie were all delicious. Walking into Mystic each evening for 'happy hour' and dinner was a delight. On the morning of our departure Josephine provided us with water, cookies and fruit for our journey which was a lovely touch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmf8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent 2 days in this beautiful Mystic B&B that is close to everything. The innkeeper Josephine is everything I read and much more. We stayed in the 2nd floor “Blue Room” with an en suite bathroom and it was ideal. We loved the painted mermaid mural in the bathroom. There are so many room creature comforts from the bathrobes, chocolates, frig stocked with soda and bottled water, cognac, satellite tv, air conditioner, ceiling fan, and a very comfy bed. The breakfasts were over the top good. Add in coffee, tea, hot chocolate, sherry, and those addicting delicious cookies made by Josie. The attached gazebo, comfy chairs, porches and the well-kept gardens just make you want to stay longer. We enjoyed talking with Josie as well as her sister Sadie and brother-in-law. Thank you too for our travelling goody bag!! A must stay in Mystic!!

Room Tip: Go with the 2nd floor "Blue Room" and Mystic is perfect for walking around. Do take advant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Mermaid Inn was our first stop off during our New England vacation and it did not disappoint.
The B&B was very clean and comfortable. There were homemade cookies and other desserts out when we arrived. Our breakfast was very delicious and filling. Josephine even made us a goody bag with water, fruit and her amazing cookies to take for our journey. She is very knowledgeable of the area and can help you make decisions for dinner, etc. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank federal122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I recently visited the Mermaid Inn with my husband, young son, mother-in-law and sister-in-law and had a wonderful time. The Inn itself is very clean and well-maintained. The proprietor(s) are so very conscientious and considerate. It's location could not be beat with so much available at such a short walk away. I was concerned about going to a B&B with an active 18-month old, but they quickly put my mind at ease. I would definitely recommend the Inn to friends who are looking for a low-key and welcoming place to stay. My only small complaint was that our pillows were not the best, but that's a very personal and subjective assessment. If we were to go back, we would probably bring our own from home.

Room Tip: Both the blue room and the Mermaid room were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SandyBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This lovely, graceful historic house was spotlessly clean, and every home comfort had been thought of. Centrally located, t was easy to walk everywhere. When we told Josephine that we had to check out before breakfast, she got up very early and made us a packed breakfast for our journey....most unexpected and delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I are more hotel people. We like to stay at hotels when traveling. For our mini babymoon, we decided to stay at the Mermaid Inn under the glowing recommendations from the fellow trip advisors. It was a really nice stay. The bed and breakfast had a very home-like feel. Josephine was extremely friendly and what won me over was the dining room. There was a plate of pecan, chocolate chip, oatmeal cookies, a bowl of freshly popped and well seasoned popcorn, and a bowl of freshly cut sweet pineapple. After dinner, we came back to a peach/apple tart that was better than any of the desserts at the restaurant. It was the perfect place for a short weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the 2 rooms upstairs with the en suite. There is one room upstairs with the bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.2 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#1 of 13 in Mystic
766 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,188 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
795 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
958 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mermaid Inn of Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mermaid Inn of Mystic

Address: 2 Broadway Avenue, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Mystic
Price Range: £125 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1843 Victorian Italianate in Historic Downtown Mystic.Short walk to everything. Lovely porches, gazebo, and grounds to sit and relax. During warm months enjoy your three course breakfast outside on the gazebo. Fresh baked goods, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and sherry are always available in the dining room. Guests are welcome to the baby grand piano and large selection of movies. Cozy, well appointed rooms offer private baths, robes, chocolates, fridge with water and soft drinks, and flat screen TV with DVD player. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mermaid Hotel Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing