We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very relaxing , upgraded room for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a very relaxing , upgraded room for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2010

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and appealing. The mattress was a king size simmons with a topper so it was very comfortable. It is very close to 95 as are most of the bigger hotels in Mystic. Across the street from the Holiday you have a Friendlys and the Howard Johnsons Hotel. Directly across from the hotel is a small shopping villiage. I found Mystic itself a little disappointing. Many of the activities such as the seaport and aquarium are over priced so try to get coupons for these activities on line before hand. I got one for 50 per cent off admission on Mondays for the seaport for example. The most you need to cover this area is one to two nites the most to cover the sights. It could have been a night vacation. We took a visit to the Stonington Vineyard, the Seaport, the Mystic Pizza, mohgan sun casino and the outlets on the way back to ny on a 2 night stay. The area was very relaxing and the jacuzzi in the room was worth the extra money. I wish the hotel had an out door pool. The only negative was going to the second floor for ice. They should have some ice located in the food area for the people on the first floor. The lobby was very inviting and relaxing for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    184
    66
    28
    13
See reviews for
209
141
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2010

We had plans to make it to Plymouth, MA by nightfall, but with two toddlers in tow who were getting restless, we stopped a few hours early and ended up in Mystic, CT. Knowing nothing about the city or what types of hotels we would encounter, we stumbled on the Holiday Inn Express. It was absolutely perfect for us. The room was large, with plenty of room to set up two small sleeping tents for our twins. The room had a couch, refrigerator and microwave. The hotel had a nice, warm little pool and hot tub. The hot breakfast was nothing fancy, but it was bigger than a continental breakfast (it had eggs, etc.) and allowed us to get on the road early without having to stop somewhere for breakfast.

Mystic, CT seems like a charming town. I wish we spent a little more time there.

The only con with the hotel: There was free internet in the lobby, although no free Wi-fi in the room. (If there was, we couldn't access it--and we didn't want it badly enough to ask the front desk anything about it.)

Overall, we had a wonderful experience. It was our first stay at a Holiday Inn Express, and we'll be looking into staying with Holiday Inn in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2010

Pleasantly surprised by this well-priced option in Mystic. Hotel sits up on a hill right near the aquarium and Old Mystick Shopping area. Beautiful views of the hills in the distance. Room was very comfortable and larger than most (we were in the second floor). Very comfortable beds, flat screen TV, fold out love seat where my 5 year old daughter slept. Refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker in the room. Great shower and very nice bathroom. The indoor pool is quite a bit smaller than it looks in the hotel photos, but it was nice and the hot tub was wonderful. NOTE: the area around the pool gets quite slippery when wet.. we saw one adult and four kids fall down when were were swimming. Complimentary breakfast was excellent. Small fridge with milk, yogurt and hard boiled eggs, warm cinnamon rolls, cheese omelets, sausage patties, warm biscuts and sausage gravy, fruit, juices and good coffee. No complaints!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbiKWorcester_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2010

We got to the holiday inn express and were pleased with the appearance of hotel. Checked in and was given an actual key. Not a card a key! They said they upgraded our room to a king bed. Room is in back building. You cannot see the back building until you actually go around back. It was an OLD motor lodge. We paid $110 for a decent room and we booked 2 rooms! The satirs were Icy and the landing had snow on it and not a single footprint. They didn't even shovel from days before. Opened the room door and it was just as you would expect for an old mom and pops motor lodge.....stained carpet and all. The wife said we are here for only a night so we will deal. Our friends in the next room felt it was a rip off also. We got ready to leave and mey them at thier door and my wife saw a bug on the ground....It was a dead cochroach. We took a picture and went to the desk and demanded our money back which they promptly did. Only problem is that it was valentines day and it took us 3 hours to find a room all the way in niantic. All hotels were booked. We had to share a room with our friends as that was the only room we found. Our whole night was shot basically. Thanks holiday inn express!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank camviperride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2010

We checked in for 2 nights with our 3 children. The hotel is in a great location in reference to Mystic Aquarium and the Seaport, etc. It is also in close proximity to Mystic Village and many restaurants. The hotel is attractive and appealing on the outside as well as on the inside for a budget hotel. Check-in staff was quick and efficient. Our room contained a microwave and refrigerator which is perfect when traveling with children. The pool was clean and warm...for the kids..a bit chilly for me but my husband thought it was fine too. The hot tub was HOT but the jets were not working the first night. They worked the second day we were there. We had some party popper guns which shot confetti and the kids had fun with those in the room. However, they made a bit of a mess....nothing the vacuum couldn't take care of but we felt badly about it. I informed the front desk...they chuckled and were not concerned. The next morning before we left the room my husband wrote a nice note to housekeeping and included a tip to make her extra vacuuming a bit more palatable! We also requested extra towels. Upon returning to our room at around 4:30 p.m. we were surprised to see that while the beds had been made and extra towels were left..the room had not been cleaned or vacuumed!! While not terribly upset over it we did think it a bit odd..the tip, of course was gone! I did mention it to the front desk who said they would tell the hotel manager but nothing was said to us and no one evwer came to clean the room. Back at the pool that night and the next morning, it became clear that the pool area had not been cleaned as there was still crumbs on the floor from where people had been snacking the previous night and the towels had not been replenished. While we were there we only saw one housekeeper and this was a 3 story hotel. I used the dryer only to dry swimsuits and there was no change machine...the guest laundry was located on the third floor so this meant a trip to the front desk on the first floor if one required change. In the lobby was a cooler containing milk, water and juice for the breakfast buffet...we asked the front desk at night for a container of milk for our six year old...we offered to pay for it..but we were told the cooler was locked and staff didn't have a key. There was also no ice machine on the first floor which was the floor we were staying on.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbieNTorrinsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

Up on a hill, overlooking Ole' Mystic Village Village, this is one of our favorite places to stay. The staff is wonderful! Indoor pool, inviting lobby complete with fireplace. And an added bonus; Jamm's within walking distance. Be sure to try their lobster rolls

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ElisabethO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston area
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2009

"Continental bkfst" exceeded expectations and even included cheese omelettes!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookiesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mystic
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.2 mi away
Hilton Mystic
Hilton Mystic
#5 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mystic Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mystic

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Address: 6 Coogan Boulevard, Mystic, CT 06355
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mystic
#5 Business Hotel in Mystic
#5 Family Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mystic 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel. Hotel features include complimentary continental breakfast and free local phone calls. Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start Breakfast Bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, and even hardboiled eggs. We have also created the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit Mystic, CT and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, IHG, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mystic Hotel Mystic
Mystic Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Mystic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing