We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good site for a convention, but bar service is excruciatingly slow” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Mystic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Mystic
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Mystic
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good site for a convention, but bar service is excruciatingly slow”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

I attended a seminar here for three days. The negotiated room rates seemed very reasonable. ($89 night for doubles.) The property is clean and comfortable and has plenty of common space and meeting space to accommodate our group.

We had buffet service for several meals, and the food was surprisingly good compared to the usual banquet fare of hotels. A+

My only real complaint was service in the bar. We had a couple of meals not catered and on those occassions, attendees had to find their own food at area restaurants. It seemed faster to go offside to a restaurant than to try to order food in the hotel. (There is a restaurant and at night the bar offers food.)

I tried eating in the bar twice, ordering simply things (club sandwich, caesar salad) and both times the service was excruciatingly slow.

Not having worked in food service, I'm not sure what the problem is--if waiters are unattentive or understaffed or what, but I waited 10 minutes just to get the chance to place an order, and food orders took 45 minutes to arrive at the table. Both times I had to ask for my meal in a to-go box as the next conference session was beginning.

Also, be aware that the hot water in the rooms is possibly the hottest water I've ever encountered in a hotel. It has the potential to scald. Don't draw a bath without monitoring it as you go, and don't leave children unattended in the bathtub.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MicheleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    261
    145
    48
    42
See reviews for
266
243
21
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2009

Not worth what we paid! We decided to splurge a little bit for our little 2 day get-a-way after Christmas. This hotel seemed to fit the bill for bed and breakfast type amenities at a moderately priced chain hotel. We were met by a friendly front desk attendant and were happy to have been asked "what time would be like the Champaign delivered". We were pondering our bottled water delivery at around 7 or 8 (thanks to the other reviews for clarifying this as the "turndown service". The jacuzzi tube was nice, however small for 2 people to enjoy it comfortably. The room service breakfasts were excellent and our room service snack at 900 our first night was great. They even accommodated our request even though it was after the "chef was leaving".
We very dissatisfied to find out the hard way that there was a young child staying next door and were woken up at 6am the next morning to screaming and crying. We figured that maybe when you book the "romance package", they wouldn't book your room next to a crying baby. For those of you bothered by a heating system that turns on and off all night, instead of a steady fan, do not stay here! They did accommodate our request for a new room due to the neighbors, even though we had to leave the adjacent aquarium to come switch our belongings. Overall- nice stay but I would try the nearby Hyatt next time.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lookingforarealdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honduras
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2009

Stayed here with my wife for our anniversary. We got the EXPLORER PKG COUPLES with the Mystic Aquarium tickets for two. Something that was nice since it actually saved us a couple of bucks. The location was perfect since the aquarium is located right across the street. Had some issues using the wireless internet, it took forever to connect to my iPhone. At 1AM the TV completely stopped working. The bed was one of the nicest ones we ever slept in. Overall it was ok.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktracho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

Just got back from our annual Xmas trip to Mystic. This year we stayed at the Hilton in Mystic. Got the automatic upgrade to a suite. We would stay here again but felt that the extra money for a the suite was not worth it, we were a little dissappointed with what they consider a suite at this location. Positive things about staying here are:
close to pretty much everything - restuarants; shops and local attractions. Nice indoor pool, restaurant and bar on site; clean and comfortable rooms and fast checkin/checkout.
Wonderful fireplaces in both the lobby sitting area and the bar to sit and relax after a day of walking and taking in the sights in the area.

Negatives - suite didnt have a microwave! which we expected for the price we paid for a King suite (stayed in room 354). Prices at the bar were a little steep. Breakfast is not included in the price as in other hotel chains. Turndown service consisted of two bottles of water?????

Kudo's to the bartender Dave for being such an entertaining and polite host! Also for those of you who own pets, this seemed to be a pet friendly hotel, we encountered two separate parties that had their dogs stay with them.

We would stay here again, but will possibly try another hotel in the area to compare.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zalovestrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi195, Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, 29 December 2009
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

With Kindest Regards,
Brian McGrath GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

In another city, this is a $300 a night hotel. In Mystic, it's $80, which I found astounding. I don't have one negative thing to say. It's the closest hotel to the excellent aquarium -- a 5 min walk (or less). The staff was great. The room service folks and the housekeeping staff were genuinely friendly, not fake, forced friendly. The rooms were large and impeccable. Kids loved the indoor pool. We'd definitely book here again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi195, Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, 28 December 2009
Thank you so much for your comments about your stay with us at the Hilton Mystic. We do appreciate all the feedback and please tell your friends and Family about our hotel!

Thank you again, Brian McGrath GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2009

I stayed at this hotel during 4 work week for a total of 16 nights. Rooms are clean. Bed is great. Staff is very responsive. They also have a nice bar with fireplace and wireless. Great place to eat and do some work. Food was surprisingly good with some of the best clam chowder I have ever had and a nice plate of fish and chips. Looking forward to trying breakfast next week. What can I say, I highly recommend the hotel and it is a very professionally run property.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi195, Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, 28 December 2009
Thank you so much! We take all comments seriously and share them with our staff, Please come to visit us again...

Warm regards, Brian McGrath GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cos Cob, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

I love this hotel. It is in the center of everything.

The rooms are clean and the staff is so nice. I go to Mystic a few times a year. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi195, Manager at Hilton Mystic, responded to this review, 28 December 2009
And we love you too.. Thank you so much for your comments.. Tell your friends and family to visit us soon....
We appreciate all the feedback!

Thank you again!
Brian McGrath GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mystic hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Whaler's Inn
The Whaler's Inn
#2 of 13 in Mystic
4.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Mystic
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Mystic

Property: Hilton Mystic
Address: 20 Coogan Blvd, Mystic, CT 06355-1900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > Mystic
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mystic
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Mystic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Mystic, Connecticut, just one block from Interstate-95, Conveniently located for both corporate and leisure visitors alike. You'll appreciate the convenient location of our Mystic, CT hotel as a coastal stopping point between New York City and Boston, MA, filled with historic charm of maritime New England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Mystic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mystic Hotel Mystic
Hilton Hotel Mystic
Mystic Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing