We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roger Sherman Inn
Nearby Hotels
EVEN Hotel Norwalk(Norwalk)(Great Value!)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Garden Inn Norwalk(Norwalk)(Great Value!)
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Plaza Stamford(Stamford)(Great Value!)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Stamford(Stamford)(Great Value!)
US$135
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
13
17
16
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
17
16
8
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I recently stayed at the Roger Sherman Inn, along with several members of my family, which means I had an opportunity to see multiple rooms. If you want true New England charm, go for the main house, which was built in the 1700's. DO take your earplugs and sleeping pills, though, as live entertainment goes all night and the sound carries upstairs. The carriage house/garage also has noise issues...I heard the inner mechanicals of the building humming on and off as well as the sound of other guests coming and going. Mattresses are firm. I find that to be a plus, but my sister called her bed an "Alcatraz cot". I found all the rooms to be attractively decorated and impeccably clean, which are big pluses. And the Inn sits on a scenic parcel of land conveniently located within walking distance of the town. The complimentary breakfast is quite nice.The staff, is very pleasant. The bar and restaurant are very welcoming. However, if you want a wake-up call, then bring a travel clock or a programmable cell phone because there are NO clocks in the rooms and the front desk is vacant from 9pm until 8am. Don't plan on reading in bed...there are not many lamps in the rooms and the ones that are present do not boast much wattage. Some rooms do not have full-length mirrors. If you have trouble with the access code to the building after hours, I'm not really sure what you do.... Would I stay there again? I guess so, since options are limited in New Canaan and it IS clean, charming, and conveniently located. Can I give them a glowing review? Not really, with the long-ish list of details that were not well-thought-out. So if you are looking for cleanliness, convenience, and charm---your needs will be met. If you are looking to be pampered and have a really special experience---might not happen.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kditin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed in the carriage house behind the main Inn with a number of guests in town for a wedding. The room was very small with a big bed. The heater/air conditioner was not working - a note said not to change the temperature setting, which made the room really cold if running - the natural temperature was too warm for good sleep. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean but lighting was limited. The wall switch did not operate the lights in the room. There was a small flat screen TV but we did not use it. The breakfast was good.
We had to leave before 8AM but could not enter the Inn to checkout so we left the key in the room. The door was locked with a different security code than our building and workers inside would not open the door. We had prepaid so this is a small thing but it was peculiar.
We did not use the dining room or other amenities of the Inn. The property was well maintained. It has the elegant New England appearance and style expected of such a place. We expect the experience in the main Inn would have been much better, and more expensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRFarrellSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Convenient location, nice continental breakfast, but that's where the benefits end. Prices are higher than listed on their internet site (how difficult is it to update them?) They won't honor the internet prices. Rooms smell musty, the wall paper is peeling and bathroom is barely passable. On weekend nights they rent the restaurant out to parties, playing loud music late into the night - you can't even hear the TV in your own room. If you arrive in the evening, expect to park your car across the street and hike with your luggage - they don't reserve parking spaces for hotel customers and the 15+ parking space at the building are filled with restaurant customers. Good news - when all the other hotels in a 15 mile radius are booked, this place is likely to still have a room...

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheGoodandBad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The inn is in a lovely, upscale area, but the decorating of the 'deluxe room' leaves a lot to be desired. Although the room was large and clean, it was definitely lacking in amenities. The decor of the room was spartan and didn't even include a dresser or armoire for storing clothes. The shades on the windows were ancient and the draperies were almost non-existent. The bathroom lacked a vanity with only a small cracked sink available. Bring your own soap for the shower as they only provide a small facial soap and a tiny bottle of bodywash. Housekeeping looked for a bar of soap, but couldn't seem to find one. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable and the porch was lovely. Overall, our stay was slightly disappointing and this in not as nice as other inns we've stayed in over the years. On top of it all, the garbage company showed up at 6:30am to empty the dumpster which is right under the bedroom windows.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbetNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We spent a weekend at the Roger Sherman while visiting family in the area, and were delighted by this charming historic property. The Inn sits on a lovely street in bucolic New Canaan, a ten minute walk to the village shopping district with boutiques, restaurants, gourmet shops, etc. Other reviewers are correct that rooms have been updated tastefully with amenities that, while not luxurious, make this a comfortable and pleasant place to spend a few nights. Good food, helpful service, and a relaxing bar and terrace round out the friendly club-like atmosphere. If you like New England country inns this is a good one, and located within an easy one-hour train ride from Manhattan .

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank cnbatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews