We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a wonderful place for a wedding, this is it.”
Review of Roger Sherman Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Canaan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roger Sherman Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 New Canaan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 January 2011

we got married at the roger sherman inn on december 30th. the staff was very attentive and as excited as we were. it was a small, private ceremony followed by lunch. it was more than perfect. the room provided for the ceremony had a fireplace and was nicely understated. the private lunch room was perfectly appointed and the food fantastic. would recommend new canaan as the spot for gay and lesbian weddings. u can get ur license in less than an hour, drive down the street to the roger sherman and have a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markroy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2009

My husband and I spent a delightful afternoon in the newly refurbished bar room at Roger Sherman Inn. The new owners, Joseph and Naz, have kept the beauty and charm of this landmark inn, while updating the bar area and menu. The new bar is simply divine.

The Inn is especially lovely at Christmas with the beautiful decorations. I enjoyed the nutcracker collection over the fireplace when you enter, as well as the garlands throughout.

The Roger Sherman Inn used to be the place you only went for weddings and anniversaries, or if your Grandma was in town. Beautiful, but a bit stuffy, very expensive, and strict dress code throughout. Joseph (former owner of Le Chateaux in South Salem) and Naz have created a comfortable bar room where you can come for a delicious yet more casual meal. If you get lucky, Naz might even be bartending. Prices are reasonable and the menu is varied and interesting. Don't miss the flatbread of the day, which was superb!

They have live music Thursday - Saturday, and I hear it's lots of fun - I know we'll be back to check it out!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comstockhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2009

My husband made reservations for lunch to celebrate my birthday. We live 1 1/2 hours away
but arrived at 2:15 for lunch which was the time of our reservation. When we arrived the receptionist told us that lunch had been cancelled for that day due to broken water pipes and someone from the inn was supposed to have called us. No one had called us, and there was no message on our machine when we arrived back home, another 1 1/2 hours later. What a waste of a day, and what a disappointment for my birthday. We never ate lunch there and we will probably never return.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
5  Thank EstelleMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

My husband and I went over to the Inn for dinner and had a lovely, relaxing meal with each other. The dining areas in the Inn are attractive and comfortable. The food is very good as is the service. The staff could not be nicer. It was a very enjoyable experience and we will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusieQ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

We had a pleasant one-night stay here. The Inn itself is nice looking and quaint. The restaurant is fine dining. Great service in the restaurant. Very unobtrusive service in general, which is what we desire.
Some small complaints would be that it the room we booked was a tad small, but not a big deal. Also, it was off the main staircase, so the ambient noise from the bar and restaurant filtered in until we figured out how to close the hallway door.
Beautiful location. Birds chirping woke us up.
The lines and towels were clean and good quality and the room was neat and tidy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmv227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

We stayed in the carriage house and thought the lighting could be easily improved by having a lamp on the second bedside table. Room was clean. Toilet seat slid - would be very easy to adjust. Bathroom should have an additional towel bar and shelf so that you could put your toilet kit someplace. Most of the snow had melted and we saw numerous cigarette butts on the ground, paper and a few cans, and an enoromous amount of cigartte butts to the right of the front steps of the main house. It wouldn't take very long for an employee to make a trip around the grounds once a day to pick thing up. Upon check out I saw that we had been billed $228 for our room, whereas I had been quoted $145. Glad that I look at hotel bills before I leave!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skeeterskeeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

LOVE LOVE LOVE this restaurant & classic bar ! We really enjoy relaxing in the beautifully remodeled bar chatting with a great owner and an excellent bartender on a cold winter evening.....

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobBCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Roger Sherman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roger Sherman Inn

Address: 195 Oenoke Rdg, Rt. 124, New Canaan, CT 06840-4196
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Canaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in New Canaan
Price Range: £86 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roger Sherman Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This historical landmark in New Canaan, CT has been established as an Inn since 1925; the Inn was named after Roger Sherman whose niece, Martha Sherman, lived in the house from 1783 until 1806. Roger Sherman, a lawyer and delegate from Connecticut to the Continental Congress, had the distinction of being the only person to sign all four of these historical American documents: The Association, &c (1774), Declaration of Independence (1776), Articles of Confederation (1777), & The Constitution of the United States. In 2008, award-winning restaurateurs Nes & Joseph Jaffre became the owners of this elegant establishment and have transformed both the inside and the outside of the Inn. Recent renovations in 2012/2013 have given this historical landmark a modern, romantic feel while preserving the antique nature of the building. Come join us whether it's for a weekend getaway, cocktails at the bar, dining on our wrap around patio, an anniversary dinner, or a private party from 8 people to 180 people; our venue is perfect for all occasions! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roger Sherman Hotel New Canaan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing