We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went to see "Once", what a great cast and performance!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shubert Theater

Shubert Theater
Ranked #9 of 53 things to do in New Haven
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This theater features Broadway shows.
Orange, Connecticut
Level Contributor
190 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Went to see "Once", what a great cast and performance!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

The venue is awesome, the show was great!
The cast played on stage be for the actual performance and the audience was permitted on stage while they sang and danced.
what a great time and what a great show.
I cant wait to go back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CT-Foodie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    38
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place to see a show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Visited the Shubert for the opening night of Once.

The theater is absolutely stunning on the inside. The seats are very comfortable which is pretty important for a 2.5 hour show.

The staff are friendly and helpful. They all seemed genuinely happy to help or offer assistance.

The show space was really nice as well. We were seated towards the front and it felt as if we were sucked into the production.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nehalem, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Must-See: Broadway Theatre at New Haven prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The ambience adds to any performance; very classy and elegant. Have seen countless musicals and other performances here; always great, never disapponted. Have been in the "cheap seats" and orchestra center: enjoyed it all. Found great gifts in the store: easy shopping when we lived in the area. Would recommend a trip from anywhere to visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beachgranny2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
164 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“excellent venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

while I love a trip to NYC- the productions I see at the Shubert in New Haven are actually just as good time after time. This year I saw Christmas Carole and it was well done, sets costumes and performance very good. Then we saw the Nutcracker- loved it ! I've seen several musical performances and a few talk show productions - each time the sound was excellent.

were lucky to have such a great venue in our back yards

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MECMilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect CT
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Blue Man Group Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

If you haven't seen Blue Man Group, it is a must see. Show was very audience interactive. When the lights came on I thought it was intermission, but was I surprised that almost 2 hours went by! Hint, hint! Don 't sit in the first 5 rows or so because you'll be draped on plastic!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shubert Theater also viewed

 

Been to Shubert Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing