We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect dining experience!”
Review of Caseus

Caseus
Ranked #14 of 560 Restaurants in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Trumbull, CT
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect dining experience!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Went here on a warm fall evening and sat outside. We had to wait a bit for our table, but that was expected. The wait staff could not have been more helpful, attentive, friendly, knowledgeable, and just plain pleasant! The food was fantastic. We had a cheese board, the mac n cheese, the cheeseburger and the scallops special all wonderful! Then we had two desserts creme brûlée and a chocolate pot w/ candy in the whipped cream! Great selection of tasty wines and beer! My new favorite spot!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    59
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best cheese selection in the area”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

A terrific little gem of a place. The cheese selection is literally beyond any store in the region, with a friendly helpful, knowledgeable staff to help make your selection. Selections - because you will find yourself trying all sorts of the new varietals! There is also a wonderful small cafe with salads and tasting platters. Yummy scrummy; I only wish it were three blocks closer to my house!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bulldogNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“caseus is excellent indeed”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

While many people brag a lot about how good many of the new haven eateries, i had my share of disappointments. Caseus was not one of them! Nice food, well served, in a nice atmosphere. It is a bit pricey, yes, but I haven't yet had a better meal in New Haven.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Caseus does not disappoint”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I have been dying to get to Caseus...finally got there, and it did not disappoint. Everyone that works there is very friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable.
We had the cheese board, which was delicious and the lobster roll that was unreal! Truly the best lobster roll I ever had...served with shrimp on a fresh brioche roll...awesome!
The house red wine was excellent, and the wine and beer choices are awesome.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank me m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new haven, ct
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“CHEEEEEESE!”
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Caseus is the epitome of delicious, fresh, innovative food. Not only are they known for their grilled cheese sandwiches (unbelievably delicious), they use fresh and local foods for unique presentations. Need a wine with dinner -- a vast variety of interesting wines to pair with your food. Don't miss this opportunity!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ctbeachbum131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caseus also viewed

New Haven, CT
 

Been to Caseus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing