We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Omni New Haven at Yale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Omni New Haven for our son's wedding. The hotel staff were exceptional, friendly, professional and attentive. The only issue we had was our stateroom was very warm and it could not get resolved which led to poor nights sleep. Overall our experience was a very positive one and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,544)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,139 - 1,145 of 1,544 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Although the hotel was pleasantly decorated, and the staff was very nice and helpful, the rooms were very small and poorly laid out. My True disappointment was with the OBNOXIOUS fees and "Taxes". I incurred $100 parking tab over a weekends time. I have never seen such outrageous fees for parking. I could see $5 - $10 a day fees, but they charge $20 per day/car plus an additional 15% tax on top. In addition, if you don't give the parking ticket to the person at the front desk, the parking fee jumps to $54 per day!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to read about your recent experience at our hotel and for sharing your feedback regarding parking while staying at the hotel. We monitor our rates very closely to ensure that they remain very competitive with the same category of hotels in the area. As the garage does not belong to the hotel and is operated by ProPark, hotel guests receive a discounted rate of $20.00 instead of the full overnight rate for non guests of $32.00. Our hotel keys are programmed to operate the garage gates when staying at the hotel. In addition,24 hour assistance line at the egress gates is also available to assist guests exiting the garage with any questions. We apologize if we did not better handle your exit from the garage and appreciate your feedback as it is a great way for us to evaluate where we may need to make changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very disappointed at the hotel's decision to charge for internet access and parking. This is an upscale hotel charging higher rates and they can't even include items that are provided free at Motel 6. I found the hotel itself and it's staff to be excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Great hotel, stay in rooms under the 15th floor. The food brought to my room was great and the hotel was very clean. Our event was great and we had everything we needed. I would recommend this hotel but again stay away from the 16-18th floors in the Fall, they rooms are very hot, I think the air conditioning box was just for looks, it did not work

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Front desk staff was unprofessional in advising me not to assume his question at check-in after telling him I misheard his question. Location is across from Yale, but it was also in a highly homeless/drug-user populated area. Their top floor hotel didn't have a view though it had boasted great views. The rooms are clean. I asked for a king size but got 2 twin size beds. That wasn't a big deal for me. They provided complementary 2 bottles of water in the room. Their parking garage is spacious and not crowded. I had to wear their complementary ear plugs to sleep. The bakery inside the hotel closes very early unfortunately. Express-check out was convenient and my bill was accurate. Their business center services were hefty - about $7 to use the internet for 10 mins and $3 to print a page. Overall this hotel is fair.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 11 November 2013

our conf #40012752460 . Room was promised for 2PM . We arrived around 2:20 . our room wasn't ready . We were told to go upstairs for a drink and someone would call by 3PM and our room would definitely be ready . No one called and when we went back to front desk at 3:20 room still wasn't available . We were then offered another room (712) and that a complimentary bottle of wine would be there for our inconvenience . No wine was delivered . Upon entering the bathroom I saw and photographed "three big gobs of long black hair on the shower wall . Called front desk and they said someone would be right up to clean . A half hour later no one had yet arrived . We were there for a wedding and needed to get cleaned up to leave . I stopped at the front desk again to report that no one came to clean the shower and were assured it would be taken care of . I also told them that no wine was delivered . Never received wine . Definitely not what we expected from the Omni ..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We appreciate your comments regarding your arrival experience to the hotel and would like to apologize for not reaching your expectations. Please note that we deploy all of our efforts to accommodate our guests that arrive early to the hotel. In this case however, we had several wedding room blocks hosted by the hotel and a multitude of our guests arrived early and requested to register early. This may help to explain why it may have taken longer to prepare the rooms for arrival. As for the other service issues experienced, those are not typical to our hotel. We hope we will have the opportunity to serve you again and demonstrate our excellence in customer service. Please do not hesitate to contact any member of our management team for your return stay in order to make sure your stay is everything you have come to expect from us at Omni.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Substandard hotel. Needs a facelift, overhaul on the heating and cooling system, sewage smell in the room, smoke alarm went off with shower steam. Overall bad experience. Only good thing was the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

We appreciate your feedback regarding the physical quality of the hotel. We are pleased to inform you that in 2012 we underwent a soft renovation to update our product. The Lobby and Public areas have received a full face lift and the rooms are equipped with new bedding and flat screen Televisions among other items. We are delighted to hear that you had pleasant interactions with our staff and hope you will reconsider giving us a second opportunity to gain your confidence in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
0.1 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
599 reviews
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.4 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
106 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Address: 155 Temple St, New Haven, CT 06510-2622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: £125 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale combines classic New England style with richly appointed guestrooms and suites in the heart of downtown New Haven, two blocks from Yale University, the New Haven Green and the Shubert Theatre. Newly renovated in 2012, Omni guestrooms are handsomely decorated in traditional style. Beds have soft duvets and feather pillows; bathrooms include robes and makeup mirrors. There is a full-service on-site spa and the hotel fitness center features state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight training equipment. The top-floor restaurant, John Davenport's, showcases regional specialties complimented by views over the Green, historic Yale Campus and the Long Island Sound. Relax with a beverage in Bar19 next to the restaurant or take a grab and go Starbucks from our cafe Morsels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni New Haven Hotel
New Haven Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing