We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buissness Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Upscale, well presented, friendly, helpful staff. Room was a bit small but Omni's are know for renovating and restoring old buildings, cozy and charming is one of there trade marks and this location did not disappoint. The wait for the elevator especially to the parking garage below was a bit long so plan for a little extra time is you have a schedule to meet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,540)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,540 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

This Omni Hotel met and exceeded all my expectations, as Omni Hotels always do. The room was luxurious with fine linens and bathrobes, and I loved the added touch of the staff leaving cookies for my children in the room upon check-in.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed here overnight for some business in New Haven, using a pre-paid flat room fee that included overnight valet parking for $20. I would recommend bundling the parking, because it costs $25 if you do it when you arrive. Every staff member I interacted with from the valet, to the doorman, to the concierge was professional and eager to meet my needs. The room was modernized, spacious, and clean, including: a large flatscreen TV with HD service, a large bathtub/shower with excellent water pressure and temperature control, and an accurate AC. The only problem with the room was that the mini-refrigerator either didn't work or wasn't plugged into an outlet. We didn't need to refrigerate anything, so this wasn't a big deal for our stay but it is something to keep in mind. If you pre-register for the free Omni Select membership program, the room comes with free WiFi, and I was getting speeds up to 3MB download, although uploading was slower. The gym on the 3rd floor has several treadmills, ellipticals, and free weights. Beware, however, if you're a tall guy like me your head will hit the ceiling a few times while on the elliptical. They provide free iced lemon water and fruit in the gym as well. The other nice thing about this hotel is its location, right in the thick of Yale's campus - we were able to walk to all of our destinations. We kept our car in the garage during the day up til 4pm, and it was included in the previous night's valet package. There was some street noise early in the morning, but no more than I've experienced in other hotels in urban areas. I would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a2nwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed here for work (Yale), and have stayed before, but did not enjoy it as much this time. The room was fine - it is a little tired, but quite comfy - and the location of the place is excellent. Wifi is reasonably good. The main issue was the noise. I was on a fairly low floor (level 5), having always stayed on a quite high floor, and near the service lift I think. At any rate, there was a constant banging of doors from quite early in the morning (7am). The service was friendly and courteous, but a little patchy: A newspaper requested was only left for me for about half the week. Overall it's a good place though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hera_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback and please accept our apologies for the noise and the inconsistencies in your stay. If you return, please do not hesitate to let us know that you prefer a high floor and we will follow up with our newspaper service to make sure that this is being properly executed. Your business is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Get set for a dingy room with with tired old carpets and walls. Add to that the bland decor and character of this brand, and what you get is a seriously mediocre experience. For a few dollars more per night, you could stay somewhere so much better. The only bright spot was the staff, who were uber-friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Susanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

It was truly disappointing for us to read about your stay. We strive to offer the most luxurious rooms in New Haven and regret that this was not reflected in your experience. If you consider staying with us again in the future, please do not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel doesnt offer much in terms of atmosphere but my room had a fantastic view over the yale green. The staff were helpful. Wifi weak in rooms.
Clean if bland, and comfortable. Alos well located within minutes of the university and a nice Pizza place called Zink.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the Yale green. And also do go up to the top floor restaurant even if you dont e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erika O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great hotel located blocks from Yale University. Very reasonable for a high quality hotel in an urban area. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Had to make a change in my reservation and it was handled in minutes over the phone. Room was large with flat screen TV and free internet. Would stay there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Haven
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven at Yale
0.1 mi away
New Haven Hotel
New Haven Hotel
#3 of 12 in New Haven
599 reviews
1.2 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
0.4 mi away
Duncan Hotel
Duncan Hotel
#6 of 12 in New Haven
106 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites New Haven - South - West Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale

Address: 155 Temple St, New Haven, CT 06510-2622
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Connecticut > New Haven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in New Haven
Price Range: £129 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale combines classic New England style with richly appointed guestrooms and suites in the heart of downtown New Haven, two blocks from Yale University, the New Haven Green and the Shubert Theatre. Newly renovated in 2012, Omni guestrooms are handsomely decorated in traditional style. Beds have soft duvets and feather pillows; bathrooms include robes and makeup mirrors. There is a full-service on-site spa and the hotel fitness center features state-of-the-art cardiovascular and weight training equipment. The top-floor restaurant, John Davenport's, showcases regional specialties complimented by views over the Green, historic Yale Campus and the Long Island Sound. Relax with a beverage in Bar19 next to the restaurant or take a grab and go Starbucks from our cafe Morsels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni New Haven Hotel
New Haven Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing